We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great side dishes and atmosphere, acceptable entrees”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Boogaloo

Boogaloo
Reserve with OpenTable
Boogaloo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Maplewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Latin, Spanish, Pub, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sutton
Description: Located in downtown Maplewood we are a fun, casual restaurant and bar featuring Cuban/Creole/Caribbean cuisine served both as Tapas and Large Plates. We have a fun, eclectic aesthetic with alligator skin wall paper, murals, beautiful mirrors and chandeliers and our signature swings at the bar. We serve a full selection of drinks with our specialty Mojitos and Caipirinhas as well as wine, bottled beer and 10 beers on tap.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great side dishes and atmosphere, acceptable entrees”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The gumbo was fantastic, but I've had better pulled pork. My friends and I had a variety of dishes, and only two really liked their meals.

Helpful?
Thank Arielle-LMSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
364 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“3rd time here, still good”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although we should probably branch out more when visiting St. Louis, this place has proven to maintain its quality food. Truly tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisamarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
171 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Choice in Maplewood”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have dined at Boogaloo several times over the years and have always been more than satisfied, especially in comparison to other restaurants in Maplewood. Great selection from tapas to salads to sandwiches and main entrees-and fair pricing. The service has always been good. They also have a nice outdoor back porch for dining, which many people do not know about. It's good food, even great food at times! And, I love, love, love their bread pudding. It is some of the best I have ever had. Try Boogaloo's. You'll not be disappointed.

P.S. On the bar swings-they used to really freely swing and were not attached to the bar. I guess things got a little swingy crazy, but it sure was fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetogo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Swings! Yes, SWINGS!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is a fun little hot spot for those with a spicy palette. I love their cajun and creole foods! They have the best jambalaya in the area. I also love the very original swings against the bar. Much more fun to sway and drink than to sit on bar stools!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The have swings!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife was in love with the swings at the bar when we went, I was able to convince her that sitting in the swings would be uncomfortable and not nearly as intimate. This is a lovely creole style restaurant. Very hip atmosphere. The Jambalaya was wonderful. It did get a bit crowded as the night went on.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boogaloo also viewed

Maplewood, Saint Louis
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 

Been to Boogaloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing