We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boogaloo

Boogaloo
Reserve with OpenTable
Boogaloo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Maplewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Latin, Spanish, Pub, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sutton
Description: Located in downtown Maplewood we are a fun, casual restaurant and bar featuring Cuban/Creole/Caribbean cuisine served both as Tapas and Large Plates. We have a fun, eclectic aesthetic with alligator skin wall paper, murals, beautiful mirrors and chandeliers and our signature swings at the bar. We serve a full selection of drinks with our specialty Mojitos and Caipirinhas as well as wine, bottled beer and 10 beers on tap.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

You will drive pass this place if someone didn't tell you where to find it, but if you are the one of the lucky ones who find it, good food waiting for you. The swing chairs at the bar was interesting, but the perfectly prepared steak with worcestershire au poivre sauce is the reason why I'll visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“love the swinging chairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Boogaloo is a fun place for a night out, I love that the swinging chairs remind me of being in Mexico at Playa Del Carmen. They have good bands and food as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovethekeys2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dinner was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Previously I had eaten at this restaurant only at lunch. Just because the weather was wonderful and they have the ability to open the front of the restaurant to the outdoors, I decided to try dinner one evening recently.

Two small plates were exquisitely prepared and suitably spicey for a Creole restaurant. I especially enjoyed the macque choux (corn creamed and spiced up with jalapenos) and andouille sausage.

Having lived in Cajun country, there's nice authenticity without being too rigid about it. I think the prices are very fair for the quality provided, and the ambiance in up and coming downtown Maplewood is fun. The swings at the bar are always a curiosity and capture plenty of attention.

So the bottom line is now I would recommend Boogaloo without reservation for dinner; for lunch, other places might be more creative.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gocards2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“*Drool*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

While visiting St. Louis, my fiance and I came here. I had the cuban paella and my fiance had the creole jambalaya. They were so good that we came back the next day for more!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olivia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spicy, creative dishes at affordable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

First time at Bugaloo for a business luncheon and the creativity and execution of the dishes was a pleasant surprise. Raves to the New Orleans Shrimp which was served not on a skewer but over a sweet potato muffin with spicy cajun/cuban sauce. Delicious!
Compliments also to the Shrimp Po' Boy.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rjm21650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boogaloo also viewed

Maplewood, Saint Louis
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 

Been to Boogaloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing