We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Pictures are misleading... not what it appears”
Review of Mansfield Woods

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mansfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansfield Woods
Reviewed May 10, 2012

From Fishing in the pond, to walking trails to the Orchard, are not true. This place is very run down. The Pond has dryed out... the trails are full of Poison Ivy and not walkable, I saw no orchard when I stayed for 4 Days/3 nights. Pull out bed is broken and has been for 3 months. Manager found dead bugs during our walk through. Parking is tight. You cannot park next to half of the cabins without getting a scolding from the Manager or the Neighbors. You need to drive through an old rut filled RV park to get to this place. Dogs roamed the poison Ivy filled landscape, so don't pet them. I strongly do not advise for the year 2012.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank tgmusicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwllc, Owner at Mansfield Woods, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Lisa,
You've complained that our parking is "tight".
For the 6 years that we've been in operation here we've received many complaints. We've heard about the weather, the Republicans, the Democrats, and the Iranians. But this is the first time we've been chastized for our parking. Should we be concerned?
You say that our "trails" are "unwalkable".
What trails are you talking about? We don't have any.
You claim we're lying, and that there's "no" orchard.
The orchard is 350 feet from your cabin door. We have attached photos.
You describe our woods and fields as "run down".
Our guests call it nature as it should be.
You describe our grounds as "the poison ivy filled landscape".
Yes!! You can certainly find poison ivy in our woods.
You complain that "the manager found dead bugs".
Better dead than alive!
You feel "scolded" by us and your neighboring guests.
In fact, the scolding was initiated by you.

We won't dwell any further on your complaints. We're aware that you have taken substantial effort to seek out at least two other travel sites to post negative reviews about us. That strikes us as vindictive, but we accept that we will always be subject to negative criticism from those we encounter from time to time that accidently found their way here, and don't belong here. If you should find yourself in this locality again we suggest that you book your accomodation with our good friends at the Weaver Inn, a nice bed & breakfast in town. On the other hand, if you decide on another adventure with nature, you'd be welcome here, but for goodness sake get yourself a pair of jeans and some sturdy sneakers! Also, adopting a gentle and tolerant attitude toward your neighboring guests would be appreciated, and would serve you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

We just got home from a 3 night stay at Mansfield Woods it was everything we were looking for, a relaxing get a way. If you are looking for the convenience of a hotel then stay in a hotel but if you are looking to experience the relaxing calm of nature and have no desire to sleep on the ground in a bag then stay at the Mansfield Woods you get all the convenience of modern living (hot water, electricity and comfortable bed) and the experience of getting back to nature.

Also there is a lot to be said for the owners who made us feel at home and very welcome.

thank you so much and we will be back................

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tricia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at Mansfield Woods while visiting the home of Laura Ingalls Wilder. Kate and Barb really went the extra mile. They gave us a tour of the cave that Rose explored in the Rocky Ridge series of books; they supplied us fishing poles for the kids; and they gave us information about things to do in the area. They even helped us map our way back home, saving us some time and mileage. The cabin was immaculate, and coffee, tea, popcorn and charcoal were provided. We ate most meals in the cabin. There isn't much to do in Mansfield besides visit the Wilder home, but we visited Springfield (about an hour away), and it was great. Branson is also nearby. We would have loved to have seen the Bakersville Seed Co., but it's closed on Saturdays and we happened to be visiting on a Saturday. But as far as accommodations go - we loved Mansfield Woods!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank etaravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I stayed for one night with my Afghan Hound on the way to K C MO. I was very pleased staying here ! Wonderful owners ! I was able to relax, rest and sleep ! My Afghan Hound enjoyed watching the deer pass by. Great setting in the woods !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kskid21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

So lucky to find this place to rest up during a long trip. I understand there's lots to do in the vicinity, but I was simply blessed to wait out the Fourth of July travel nightmare in a place where it was sweet and comfortable to kick back and enjoy the peaceful woods. Kate and Barb provide everything you need and it's just a short trip to restaurants and stores that have anything else you need. Great health food store twenty minutes away, too. Sweet!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatrinikaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This is my 5th trip to Mansfield Woods and I enjoy the quiet ability to relax every time I come back. The staff always takes excellent care of us and makes us feel like family. And if you make it for the weekend before the 4th of July the city puts on an amazing fireworks display.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Beautiful, quaint, serene cabins. The pictures do not do this place justice! We arrived as strangers...but left as family :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SpiritualThing56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mansfield Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Woods

Address: 2991 Highway a, Mansfield, MO 65704-8103
Location: United States > Missouri > Mansfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mansfield
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing