We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean value on the Mississippi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good clean value on the Mississippi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very clean but small. The tub shower combination is the smallest I have been in for awhile. But the tile is fresh and new as is the shower curtain. The parking is tight. The hotel is right on the Mississippi across the state line. The town is quaint with faded memories all around of a bygone era. A nice place to stay and we will also be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
24
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a nice, basic, older, independent motel. It is clean and comfortable even if the rooms are a little small. The rate was great. We stayed there for a wedding in a near-by town and had everything we needed (wi-fi, cable, microwave, fridge etc). The views of the Mississippi River added to the experience. While not directly related to the motel, the area is quintessential SMALL town America with not a huge amount of activity especially in the evening. The owner is gracious and helpful in directing to area attractions. When in the area and in need of an overnight stay we will stay here again.

Room Tip: You might to call prior to your arrival to make sure the a/c or heat is on! Ask for a room with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and our friend and I were on a weekend bike trip and stayed here unexpectedly and are very glad we did! The rooms were simple and retro but that was part of the charm! Very clean and well kept - quiet and a great view of the river and bridge. The owner was great - he took us too and from our restaurant so we could have a few drinks and then took us on a quick tour of downtown - he did all this without us asking! No concierge or shuttle in the city would have done that or made us feel more welcome! We absolutely recommend the hotel and plan on going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wonderful and very helpful owners. Helped everyone that stayed there for my daughter's wedding. We had 10 rooms all in good shape and clean. Great rates and would stay again. I would recomend it to friends again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our room was spacious and very clean with modern upgrades you don't often see in an independent motel - like a larger mini-fridge, microwave, nice flat screen TV, and strong wifi. Bed was very comfy, bathroom was redone, and of course that view of the river - wow! Famous room 43 only has one bed so if you need two, try 42, or any of the upper level rooms in the back building. There are chairs out on the balcony for you to relax and enjoy the view, and we did just that. No breakfast in the morning, but the price is still good enough to make it a good value.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Valderi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My colleague and I stayed here for 4 nights for work and when we first arrived we were not impressed with what we saw. HOWEVER once we began check in, the place and the owners charm won us over. The rooms were clean and had everything you usually expect in a motel room, I had the much talked about room 43 and the view of the bridge was great!

The owner really makes the stay, he has been in Louisiana for over 25yrs and was super helpful, from actually doing our laundry at no cost because the local laundry had recently been flooded to providing some great walking/running routes nearby!

In a town that doesnt have much around, this is a shinning light.

Only other con is the trains that constantly drive past tooting their horns, although i dont think it matters were you would stay they are that loud.

Room Tip: 43 is top corner and has a good view of the bridge and Missisipi river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gtrainexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Based on the rave reviews, I am staying at this little motel. I've been burned before when the reviews are so positive. Not this time! The owner / manager is super responsive and the rooms are really very clean. I was in 39 (below 43 referenced by others), and it has 2 windows in the river without having to climb stairs! I'll be back next week too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisiana
24.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN On The River
BEST WESTERN On The River
#1 of 10 in Hannibal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
15.6 mi away
Knights Inn - Pittsfield
Knights Inn - Pittsfield
#1 of 1 in Pittsfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
10.9 mi away
Super 8 Bowling Green
Super 8 Bowling Green
#1 of 1 in Bowling Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Property: River's Edge Motel
Address: 201 Mansion St, Louisiana, MO 63353-1116
Location: United States > Missouri > Louisiana
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River's Edge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Louisiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing