We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW This place is awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wilderness Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lesterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Arnold, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW This place is awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

What an excellent place to stay. Recently visited for a 3 day weekend and this was definelty a # 10!!
The hospitality, food and great atmosphere.

There is so many activities to do here and the cabin I stayed in was right on the Black River and the view is absolutetly amazing along with everything else there.

The Food was awesome as well and the dining experience was fantastic. Everyone treated us as if we were their extended family although we have never met.

Will definetley recommend to anyone and everyone.

This was a couples weekend out and I couldn't have found a better place to go!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    20
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
31
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife's on word description was "Charming". Not too many resorts accept dogs as guests, and we wanted to experiment with the Wilderness Lodge. We were awarded with excellent accommodations with a cathedral ceiling cabin, king bed, couch, reading chair,desk, books, fireplace and a screened in porch overlooking the Black River. We were fortunate to have excellent fall weather, which only added to the beauty of the grounds. Each of our meals were excellent,with a wonderful presentation each time; plus Lester, the co-owner and bar keep, added genuine charm to our weekend. A day trip with our convertible top down to Johnson's Shut Ins was close by and well worth the time investment. The staff was always eager to assist us. Our cabin was clean, and most comfortable.
Only tips to newbies....bring a flashlight and good walking shoes, as it quite a climb up to Cabin 16.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sultanodsamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My Mother's family was originally from the Ironton area and I never knew that this treasure existed so close to our home in Farmington. I recently visited with several family members for a relaxing weekend and wasn't disappointed. The drive was beautiful and when we saw our cabin(Jack's Cabin), we were thrilled that it was so charming. The cabin was clean, the staff very friendly and welcoming, and the food was delicious. I hope to bring my children and grandchildren again next year to enjoy the area in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGC706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We used to go here every year to see the fall colors; it was a perfect getaway from the kids & work. But, stopped around 12 yrs ago when the food & service started to decline. Last week we heard from some friends that new owners had improved it. So, we decided to give it another try & so glad we did! I think the current owners are really putting their hearts into the place & returning it to the special retreat it once was. Kudos to them!

We thought the food was excellent, although it no longer comes "family" style. The portions are adequate & if you want more, just ask. I saw several tables get 'seconds". Absolutely NOTHING from a can, all local produce. Its not Top Chef goofy stuff, so don't expect cuisine you can't pronounce. It is just simple & tastey enough to want more even though you feel stuffed.

We had great service all but one of our meals. It seemed like we went unnoticed Saturday evening. There was one very busy waitress on our side of the lodge & she gave every single table (except ours) her attention. It was odd, but eventually we caught the eye of a young fellow & asked for water & bread. From that point on, we were randomly checked on like an afterthought. Like I said, it was odd, but the next morning it was back to normal (very attentive service).

Now, for the much improved bar & the guy behind it: Lester ... he is an entertaining character who makes a point to tell you he drinks all of his mistakes.....he was sober....no mistakes, just happy customers. Regardless of whether or not you are thirsty, go early & have a drink at the bar before dinner....Lester will make it worth your while.

Depending on what time you check in or out, you may have to go to the dining lodge instead of the office. Not a big deal, it just means that the gal who checks you in behind the office counter is also the waitress..

We have stayed in the hilltop cabins and the riverside suites, and prefer the riverside suites. The hilltop cabins are secluded with a screened in porch & huge fireplace, but it is quite a hike from your cabin to the lodge. Easy on your way down to eat, but a real bugger going back up with a full belly. The riverside suites do not have the the screened in porch, but they do have a full size deck & there is no incline to navigate to/from the lodge.

There are no TVs, phones, radios, etc in your cabins, it is rustic & peaceful. Bring your hiking boots (trails on the property & trails in 3 nearby state parks) & a flash light to get back to your cabin after dinner.

Room Tip: Before booking a room discuss how much you are willing to walk to/from the dining lodge. Hilltop ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STLtravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I recently stayed there for 8 days while working in the area. The staff was very accommodating to me and my co-workers. From making us to-go lunches, to providing breakfast at an early hour. The food was incredible, cooked with fresh ingredients. The rooms were very clean and the ambiance of the lodge was right up my alley. Thank you to all the staff for making my stay very enjoyable.

I look forward to when we return next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Ridge, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Recently did a girlie weekend and what a great set up. Meals were fabulous and the service was exceptional. All the staff is out to meet all your needs, from extra towels to bonfires and s'mores. The river is gorgeous and the room/cabins are homey and comfortable. The roads are a little rough but well worth it. Thanks to Jessica and the rest of the staff for a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYH881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Everyone there is so kind. The food was great and it is verry family friendly. The chef Joe and his mom Jennifer and his little sister Juliet. Lester was so funny and kind to my kids. Thank you for your kindness and consideration.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lesterville
17.0 mi away
Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Plain & Fancy Bed & Breakfast
17.1 mi away
Fort Davidson Hotel
Fort Davidson Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pilot Knob
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Old Caledonian Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Echo Bluff State Park
Echo Bluff State Park
#1 of 6 in Eminence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Lodge

Property: Wilderness Lodge
Address: PO Box 90, Lesterville, MO 63654-0090
Location: United States > Missouri > Lesterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lesterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Wilderness Lodge, we have over 25 different cabins, suites and cottages for guests to enjoy. All cabin prices are based on a per person, per night charge since dinner and lunch are included with the package. Breakfast is available continental style from 7:30am to 9:30am, and we also serve a hot breakfast from 8am to 9am. For dinner, we have 4 seatings at 6pm, 6:30pm, 7pm, and 7:30pm. During the week there is just one dinner seating between 6pm and 7pm (but we still try to be flexible if guests would like to come a little earlier or later). As far as activities, there is of course the Black River directly across the road from Wilderness Lodge for a little (or a lot) of water fun. Just a short walk from the cabins, the river, gravel bars, and side streams are great places to explore, swim, catch water critters and just relax in the sun. For a bit more adventure, we rent canoes, rafts, kayaks, and tubes for floating. We port floaters upstream in the morning for a 4 to 6 hour float (depending upon how fast the river is moving and how many gravel bar breaks you take) that ends up right back at our rivers edge campground. There are plenty more outdoor activities on the property including hiking, fishing, miniature golf, horse shoes, basketball, shuffle board, a playground, frisbee golf, etc -- we even recently found a cave to explore for those not afraid of small spaces. :) There are also a number of cool nature attractions within a short car ride, including Elephant Rock State Park and the recently opened Johnson Shut-ins. To get out of the heat, we have an air conditioned rec room with games & indoor activities -- and we plan to keep the main Lodge open all day long (over the last couple years it was only open during the meal times). Also in the main lodge is the Ripple Room Lounge, open for cocktails and beverages from 5pm to 9pm everyday. For the readers in our crowd that want a little piece and quiet, we have taken one of the Rock Cabins and converted it into a library refuge. Finally, on Saturday nights, we will also hold an informal friendly family game night in the main lodge for anyone that wants to attend. Unwind. Cool Off. Eat Well. Enjoy Wilderness! Wilderness Lodge Resort ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Hotel Lesterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing