We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough that I ate there two days in a row.”

Filling Station BBQ
Ranked #69 of 218 Restaurants in Lee's Summit
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Lynden, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good enough that I ate there two days in a row.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is absolutely charming. It is an old auto service station that has been converted into a BBQ joint. It is very small, but does have outdoor seating. The service is over-the-top friendly. They even opened 20 minutes early to serve us because they saw us coming toward the door. The servings are generous. I had pulled-pork. It was tender and very flavorful. Brother-in-law had ribs and said they were excellent. There are three sauces to choose from: Sweet, Medium, and Spicy. All three are quite good. The baked beans were good also, but not exceptional, and I'd advise you to pass on the coleslaw. That's not their specialty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Parsnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good but used to be Better”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a really good little BBQ joint in Lee's Summit MO. It actually is an old time Filling Station converted into a BBQ Restaurant. The meat is good and tender with a nice smoke flavor to it. Here's the problem. The place changed ownership Jan 1 2013. For me personally, one of the reasons I enjoyed this place so much was the BBQ Sauce. It was one of the best sauces in Kansas City (sort of a smoked sweet jalapeño flavor to it). Now the new owners have of course done away with that sauce in favor of their own, which is understandable. I much prefer the old sauce. The end result is this place is really good but just not as good as it used to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little BBQ joint for Lee's Summit!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We had carry out here tonight and it was really good! My husband picked our food up and said the place has a neat atmosphere and wanted us to go back for dine-in. The two of us split the sampler platter that had chicken, sausage, ribs (we picked:) Burnt ends and turnkey. We also had fries and beans. There was plenty of food for the two of us plus leftovers for $20! I will say this is the best we've had in Lee's Summit but not my favorite in KC. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not to KC BBQ standards”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This might be good in another city, but here in KC we have high standards. I can think of 10 bbq restaurants that I would rather spend my money at. There bbq is so mediocore. I can cook better at home (and thats not saying much). It is a cute building, an old gas station. They dont have cheesy corn. Potato salad tastes like its from walmart. Their sauce isnt the best

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Mo
Level 6 Contributor
825 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,350 helpful votes
“Good bbq”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Nice place for a quick bite and good food. Can sometimes wait a while so be careful becausevthe place is small.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank postrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filling Station BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Filling Station BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing