We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burgers, super friendly staff!”
Review of Unks Burgers

Unks Burgers
Ranked #42 of 218 Restaurants in Lee's Summit
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Anchorage
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best burgers, super friendly staff!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We went here based on my nephew's recommendation. That boy knows his burgers! So happy we made time to stop in for lunch. We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank f27captkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Lee's Summit”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were looking for someplace to grab a bite to eat after having spent the day at the West Bottoms Flea Market and had remembered seeing Unk's when we were at Lee's Summit Shoe Repair (another great local business - but that's a different topic).
Anyway, as soon as we walked in we were greated as if we were long-lost family. The young lady behind the counter explained all of our options and even sorted out if it would be cheaper to purchase the combo or individually.

We opted for the standard Unk's buger with egg and cheese, along with an assortment of the many toppings they offer. Their burgers are incredible! They're Unk's special blend, which include onions mixed in with the meat. Not only are they scrumptious, but they're also moist...not greasy like you'd normally find at a burger joint!

As sides, I ordered the seasoned curly fries, which were pretty good. My husband ordered Auntie's baked beans (after the young lady offered him a sample to try). He fancies himself as a bean expert and he absolutely loved them!

We do agree with the review which talked about the water issue. They do need to figure that out. Your only option, if you don't want tea or soda is bottled water.

Their prices are a bit pricer for burgers, which aren't "gormet", but we've still definitely decided this will be our local burger joint, when we want to indulge!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spenchea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Level Contributor
245 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wow, just wow = Terrible in every way!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We dropped into Unk's after hearing several good reviews from friends and family. When we walked in the door we found a table. The waitress came over a couple minutes late and gave us three menus for the four of us, a little odd but oh well.

She returned shortly to take our drink orders. Nothing too out of the ordinary there except they don't have tap water. The only water option is $1 bottle, even for a toddler. What restaurant doesn't serve complimentary water? Talking to the waitress about this fact she said the reason was something about the ice tea drain???

She then returned to take our order and we each made our selections; pretty well burgers all around except a hotdog "kid's meal" for the little one. We also ordered fries to share (at $2.79 for a regular order surely they are big enough to share). After all the water discussion early she then tells us she can get milk for the kid's meal however she doesn't actually bring it until we remind sometime later.

It wasn't long and our food arrived. Well all but the toddlers. He is good at waiting right? What waitress brings everyone except a child their food? The hotdog can't be the item with the longest cook time here. We also received our fries, right after they came out of a cisco bag via the fryer, nothing special and not enough to share.

The burgers must have had a "special" spice blend on them because they tasted really weird. My wife opted for the turkey burger and hers was much better than the standard burger.

We asked that they remove the kid's meal from the check (it was at least 5 minutes late after the other food arrived and she forgot to bring his drink) which was done after some discussion. Grand total = two burgers, one order of fries, two drinks = $19

Overall, a total disappointment. I don't see how they stay in business or what others see in the place. We were there on a Saturday and there was only one other table occupied. With a well known chain opening in Unk's parking lot this place is doomed unless they can buy their waitstaff a clue or make a better burger.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Burgers”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Been here several times, the burgers are always excellent, the service is friendly and fast. I love their peppercorn onion rings, best onion rings I've ever had. Two thumbs up for this place!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckTugidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Recently stopped at Unks for a late lunch with several family members. The service was great, and we enjoyed several conversations with Unk himself! The burgers were really good, several of us had the 'Auntie' burger with bread and butter pickles. We also tried out the sweet potato tots, fried pickles and of course the baked beans - all were fabulous. Will definitely return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieInLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unks Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Unks Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing