We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Clean Affordable”
Review of Sand Spring Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lebanon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Spring Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Sand Spring Resort is a friendly clean and affordable resort; located next to Bennett Springs Trout Park it offers easy access; with a dinner on site offering breakfast (very good); lunch and dinner at reasonable prices with excellent tasting food; their singles offer a double bed with hardwood floors and clean bathrooms; slight delay in warm water but it's good.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 40 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Sand Spring is hardly worthy of the title "resort". It does give you a clean room, and since most of the clientele are trout fisherman looking for a bed and shower, the place delivers that at least. Room decor is roughly 1961, looking like Mayberry invaded the set of Mad Men. I have never been so engulfed in ancient wood paneling. Our room was clean and passable except for the atrocity of a bathroom. It was tiny...like we were staying in an RV with a tiny tub/shower combo. The shower head was literally like 4 feet off the floor of the tub... very inconvenient and nearly impossible to use without yoga contortions. Bathroom was in need of serious remodeling. The heat lamp did not work. The walls were poorly patched with drywall tape clearly visible under the paint. The tile was filthy... needed cleaning in the grouting. TV barely worked... most cable channels were down. Wifi was awful as well... flaky most of the time.

And lets not talk about the thin walls. We clearly heard everything the room next to us was doing... all night. Fortunately, I brought earplugs so when the drinking party started next door, I was still able to get a passable night's sleep.

We ate at the "bar and grill" for breakfast. Wrote a separate review on that disappointing experience.

I won't go back here.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank troutdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great place for a family reunion. We have been doing this every other year and really enjoy the facilities. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly.
I would like to comment on the ovens in the kitchenettes. I would recommend not to cook as directed for they run really hot. I would rate the resort a 9.
There is a restaurant there if you want to eat out. They need a better recipe for pancakes as they were very doughy and not much taste. Other than the breakfast this is a great place for a family.

Room Tip: I always enjoyed have a kitchen. Its nice to be able to cook instead eating out. Rooms closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandmasue2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice little hotel if you like to fish and your family doesn't.. Has a pool, playground and small shop.. Fly fishing for Rainbow Trout is pretty good in the clear water of Bennett Spring.. Waiders are a must for the first 4 zones of the spring..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Pros: the room was very clean and included a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. It looked like it had been renovated within the last year or two. The bed was reasonably comfortable. There is lots of parking. We left a day early and had the extra night refunded.

Cons: Walls are paper thin and in the evenings the only thing to do is drink, so we were treated to loud drunken neighbors late into the night. We asked to move to a quieter room and management made it clear it would be an inconvenience for them to give us a new key. The only size bed they offer is a double, so if you are used to a queen or king you're out of luck. The coffee pot does not include coffee. Seriously?

We ate at the "restaurant" for dinner and breakfast. It is really more of a snack bar. You order at the counter and they bring your food in a plastic basket. The menu includes a handful of burgers and hot sandwiches, and a variety of fried delicacies like onion rings, jalapeno poppers and chicken fingers. There is nothing healthy or low fat here. Breakfast is the same, egg sandwiches, french toast, biscuits and gravy. That said, the food wasn't bad.

Overall it wasn't a good experience. I can put up with minimal amenities and a greasy burger from time to time, but ruin my sleep (which is the reason I'm paying money) and I won't be back. There are more comfortable places in the area for the same money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnotherDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you want to stay in a place that is affordable to go trout fishing at Bennett Springs National Park, this would be the place, it has a bar and grill and pool and hot tub, also it has kichenettes and suite and regular rooms with a dorm fridge. Also has a play area for the kids and a little dog park to where the dogs can do there buisness. Then also do canoe trips including if you want a packed lunch, which would be down the Niangua River which separates the park and the hotel so you are about 1/4 mile from the park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jellybean103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very unhappy with our stay. We paid extra to bring our dog, pulled up and the first thing we saw were "No dogs allowed" signs everywhere. The only place the dogs are actually allowed is your room. The rooms are not in good condition at all, ours actually had duct tape on the wall. Our room had a small very junky kitchenette in it, that we also paid extra for, but no smoke detector. The biggest complaint I had was the service. The owner and his wife are extremely rude and unfriendly, especially the wife. She actually came and yelled at us for playing fetch with our dog in the wrong area. Even though it was the only place that didn't have no dogs allowed sign up. I was blown away that someone I was paying my money to would treat me with such disrespect. Even at check in and check out they never once even smiled, just down right rude people. The rooms are very over priced. We will never recommend this place to anyone, and will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mbob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lebanon hotels
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 11 in Lebanon
304 reviews
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lebanon
12.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Lebanon
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Super 8 Lebanon
Super 8 Lebanon
#3 of 11 in Lebanon
394 reviews
12.3 mi away
Days Inn Lebanon
Days Inn Lebanon
#7 of 11 in Lebanon
21 reviews
12.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 11 in Lebanon
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Spring Resort

Address: 1996 State Highway 64, Lebanon, MO 65536-8605
Location: United States > Missouri > Lebanon
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Price Range: $44 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing