We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming mom and pop”
Review of Munger Moss Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lebanon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Munger Moss Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming mom and pop”
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stayed one night at the Munger Moss during our Route 66 trip. We booked one of the specially decorated Route 66 theme rooms, which was cute and cozy. You can see that the owners take pride in their motel and keep the history alive.

If you are looking for classic Route 66 motels, this is one of them: clean, cheap and friendly owners.

The owners have good advice if you are looking for a place to eat: we decided to follow their suggestion and ate at the Madison Grill downtown. Great meat there!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merluza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    71
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
115
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed here for one night during our Route 66 trip and found it to be an enjoyable place to stay. It is definitely vintage, and if that's what you're after, this is the right place. Very well-kept & clean.

Can't beat the price & the proprietors were genuinely friendly. We'll stay here in the future for sure.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabricgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We chose Lebanon and Route 66 specifically because of the classic Route 66 motel Munger Moss. What we expected was a basic road side motel taking us back in time. It did not disappoint - the owner is very friendly and the neon sign and 50/60/70's furniture in the room very authentic. That's where our joy stopped though.

The place could really need a thorough cleaning, and the three dead cockroaches in the bathroom and sink area destroyed the stay for us. Perhaps the room had been sprayed recently or vacant for a while (there were few other guests), but that is no excuse for not checking up on the room before renting it out. Given the previous report about bugs, perhaps one should look elsewhere for the Route 66 experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLB_PLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford City, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed here on our way to Colorado from Indiana. For the price it was great. We did notice a few bugs in the room shortly after arriving, although I think they came in the open door when we were bringing our stuff in. Water pressure in the bathroom was horrable, other than that everything else was great. Very friendly lady running the place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterfreak2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

My wife and I decided to stay at the Munger Moss based on reviews we had seen on Tripadvisor and the Rt 66 Forum. What a wonderful experience. Ramona was extremely friendly and kind. The room, although a little dated, was extremely clean and comfortable. She recommended us to the Madison Grill downtown and it was a superb dinner (it was out anniversary dinner and we were extremely pleased). This was in great contrast to several other hotels along the way (Tulas and Shamrock TX) where we were met by stoic Indians who had not smiled in years. The accommodations at those places were spartan and not very clean. I would highly recommend the Moss Munger to any Rt 66er traveling through in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prestoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Whilst planning for our Route 66 drive earlier this year, the Munger Moss stood out as the one motel we wanted to stay at.

Upon our arrival, we saw that they had vacancies and immediately booked two rooms. The lady who dealt with us (name escapes me) was really friendly and polite.

We were given rooms 65 & 66 and they were clean, neat & tidy. No problems at all.

There is a pool, but we were unable to use it due to bad weather.

We headed into the centre of Lebanon to get some food as the MM is set back from the middle.

There is a bowling alley across from the MM so we entertained ourselves there before heading back to the MM and sitting out on the verandah sipping a few cold ones and planning the next stage of our trip.

  • Liked — It was on route 66
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanthecaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We are driving Rt. 66 from Chicago to western Arizona. We wanted to stay in at least one vintage 66 motel. We heard about Munger Moss and we're glad we stayed there. The room was very clean, private, and well maintained. I'm a Boomer, and this room brought back some very happy childhood memories of staying at these motor courts in the 50's when our family vacationed. Ramona, the owner since 1971, was very friendly and charming. We had a great time chatting with her about the history of the motel. We stayed at another vintage 66 motel the next night in Vinita, and it was a real horror story. What a dump! But Munger Moss was great - we very much enjoyed it!

  • Liked — It was nostalgic and restful
  • Disliked — If you can't take cigarette smoke, stay out of the lobby, but no smoking motel room was great
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugs093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebanon
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 11 in Lebanon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 11 in Lebanon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#8 of 11 in Lebanon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lebanon
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Lebanon
Super 8 Lebanon
#3 of 11 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
22.8 mi away
Dave’s Hideaway Motel
Dave’s Hideaway Motel
#4 of 4 in Camdenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munger Moss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munger Moss Motel

Property: Munger Moss Motel
Address: Lebanon, MO
Location: United States > Missouri > Lebanon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Munger Moss Hotel Lebanon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing