We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun”
Review of Munger Moss Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lebanon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Munger Moss Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great fun”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here on our trip west on Route 66. We loved it. We had a queen. The room was nice and clean, nicely decorated, pretty spacious, and quite reasonably priced. Ramona was very friendly. Thanks! We will definitely go back again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam_from_indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    71
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
115
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stopped off here as part of our route 66 tour given that the neon sign is such an iconic symbol of the road. The owner was really friendly and welcoming. The room was a bit dated but given the price we got don't think there were any grounds for complaint. The main issue for us was that there isn't really anything round about, i.e. places to eat or drink, that were within walking distance. There is a small bowling alley across the road which I think had hot dogs etc. but otherwise you had to take your car- after driving all day I really didn't want to get back in the car and fancied a couple of cold beers but unfortunately this wasn't to be!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiek37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I can't say enough good things about our experience at the Munger Moss Motel. It was an unforgettable experience.

Our room was one of the Route 66 themed rooms. It was exactly what one would expect in a retro type of motel. In addition to the memorabilia on the walls, our room had a television, sitting area, and bed. The bathroom was pretty spacious. Also, the prices were quite low, even compared to other classic Route 66 motels we stayed in.

The pool was large and clean and looked refreshing. I wish it would have been a little warmer so that we could have used it.

The best part about the Munger Moss is the owner. Ramona. We stopped in the office in the evening and ended up spending a long time talking to her about Route 66. She showed us photographs and told us all kinds of interesting stories about how things used to be and how they have changed. In addition to Route 66 gift shop items, she also has some great vintage jewelry for sale.

While we were there, we noticed many people pulling up to take pictures of the fantastic neon sign and then leaving. Ramona told us that many of these people often tell her they are staying at nearby chain hotels. In my opinion, if people want the "Route 66 Experience" in their photos, then they should be willing to spend some money at those Route 66 businesses. If you want to take a picture of the sign, make sure to stop in and make a purchase in the gift shop or better yet, stay a night here. Otherwise, go take a picture of your chain hotel.

If you are expecting luxury, then this isn't the place for you. Of course, if you are traveling Route 66, you probably aren't looking for luxury. But this is a great classic motel and part of the history of Route 66 and the US. Just read the guest book in your room and you will see hundreds of guests' stories from all over the world, many of them repeat visitors to the Munger Moss.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agdwsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Horkesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here during our Route 66 tour. The check-in was great with my husband even receiving a kiss on the cheek from the owner! We had our own little bungalow and were very comfortable. There was no coffee-making facilities, but coffee was available at reception. Hotel is over the road from a bowling alley and there are plenty of places to eat roundabout. We ate at O'Dowd's Catfish, which was excellent.

The neon sign was lit when we arrived and was stunning. Best to take a picture in the daylight as it is so bright it distorts at night.

Check out was a great experience too, with the owner thanking us for our patronage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 617 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I spent a night here on our cross country Route 66 adventure. This is one place no 66 traveler should miss. The huge neon sign is iconic and it felt great to photograph it and watch it twinkle in the night. The motel offers several different room types, including several that have a Route 66 theme. There is a pool, free parking in front of the rooms, coffee in the morning, free wifi and a small gift shop in the lobby.

We were in a Route 66 Suite and it was really very special. There were tons of pictures of Route 66 icons, some long gone and some gloriously restored. It made us really appreciate the vast restoration efforts by the various state Route 66 association's and what a difference they have made. The room had a nice shower, tv, sitting area and huge comfy bed. The decor and color schemes were a lot of fun and felt properly vintage. The guest book in the room was a great read.

The best part of our stay at the Munger Moss was getting to know its owner, Ramona. She was very friendly at check in and when we went back to buy some things in the gift shop we had so much fun with her that we stayed for hours. We learned a lot of history about the Munger Moss and Lebanon and of course, her lovely family. Many sources will tell you the best part of a Route 66 adventure is the people you meet along the way that keep 66 alive for all of us. Ramona is one of those very special people and it was an honor to spend time with her.

The Munger Moss is also very convenient for exploring Lebanon. Dowd's Catfish House is just a few minutes away and there are a lot of great geocaches in the area. Its a shame Wrink's Market has closed since his passing. I would have loved some apple pie. We were thrilled with our stay at Munger Moss and hope to make it back again someday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Munger Moss in the summer of 2013. It was in the Route 66 room, which had many photos of other Route 66 attractions displayed on the walls. This was a typical motel for the Route 66 era - reminiscent of many we stayed in as a kid. I would have no qualms about staying here again. Nice and quiet. Good job, owners!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seniortraveler95340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

After reading all the reviews online, we were excited to stay at the Munger Moss while on our anniversary trip this past weekend. While we enjoyed the antiquity of the motel, we did not appreciate that our room was not clean. There were hairs on our counter and throughout the bathroom. We were very disappointed. We must add that we regret that we did not approach the staff about the room's condition, thereby not giving them the opportunity to make the situation right. A clean room, however, is something that should be a standard in any motel/hotel upon the guests' arrival. We would not recommend this motel, though we hope our review causes them to take a closer look at their housekeeping in the future.

Room Tip: Preview room before you pay in order to ensure it is clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottkimn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebanon
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#8 of 11 in Lebanon
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 11 in Lebanon
100 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 11 in Lebanon
261 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Lebanon
Super 8 Lebanon
#3 of 11 in Lebanon
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munger Moss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munger Moss Motel

Property: Munger Moss Motel
Address: Lebanon, MO
Location: United States > Missouri > Lebanon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Munger Moss Hotel Lebanon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing