We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Munger Moss Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lebanon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Munger Moss Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nicely maintained property. Convenient location just off I-44 (obviously since this hotel is on the original Route 66). Rooms are clean and very nice with (of course) 1940's - 1960's decor. Bathroom had pink fixtures and green tile. If you want to step back in time and save a little money, then this is the place for you. If you want a big screen TV and conveniences of some of the large chain hotels then not so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rooster799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    70
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
114
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

If you're traveling Route 66 & in need of lodging in Missouri, you can't miss staying at Munger Moss! Ramona, a Route 66 icon herself, operates a clean, quiet, nostalgic property. There's a pool, wi-fi, and the basic motel amenities- but stay for the experience, not necessarily the perks. And, if you have time (& she's working), chat with Ramona-she has wonderful stories about the history of Route 66!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betweendalines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was one of those clean, restored Route 66 vintage motels at which every Route 66 enthusiast needs to stop. I wouldn't put it in the same category as the Blue Swallow in Tucumcari, but it was pleasant, quiet, comfortable and a fine place to stop. I'd say a great many of the lower-priced chain motels could take a lesson from these folks on how to run a clean, welcoming place!

They have a small gift shop in the office which was nice, and they are not too far from some local dining. The front desk was helpful in answering all of our questions. They do close by 10PM, so stay on top of your arrival.

Room Tip: We only had experience with one room, but I suspect all of them are about the same and quite nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were traveling Route 66 so of course chose this motel. "Über retro" is a fitting description. There was plenty of space and everything worked well. The neon sign is fab, even more so with a few letters unlit. Sad that Ramona wasn't there, but it obviously wasn't a busy time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wetwoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Route 66 for me was always on my Bucket List, and to find the best places to stay was a big factor, also being a photographer always plays its part, the Munger Moss, is Traditional Route 66, and a great blast from the past.

It is only 15mins walk from the town, we where charged $20 for a 5 min ride, and we arrived late in the day,so now real time to explore, please dont be put off, i am the fussiest person in the world.

A cheap treat on Route 66, a Big bed and a good nights sleep awaits you at the Munger Moss.

Thank you to all the staff.

Lee Wood
www.pendlepictures.com

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PendlePictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport IL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

When we pulled up in front of the Monger Moss Motel my husband asked if I REALLY wanted to stay here as we usually stay at much more luxurious places. Given there is not a lot to choose from in Lebanon I wanted to give it a shot.

The owner is VERY nice and the price for 2 with tax was just $55 and some change!! A real budget saver on a road trip. She gave us a map marked with recommendations for locally owned places to eat and chain restaurants. We chose the locally owned T's Redneck Steakhouse across town and were very pleased with our experience.

The motel is CLEAN. There is an outdoor pool which wasn't open in April, of course.
The decor is 60s -70s. To give you an idea the toilet, tub and sink are turquoise :) in unit 73. We had funky brown plaid chairs and a 20" tv on a stand. There was a remote, cable and free wifi (the only thing not of the 60s - 70s but a necessity for me). The mattress was good.

Bring your own toiletries as only soap and thin, smaller sized towels are provided which lends itself to the "old days" experience. Coffee and ice are available in the office. All rooms are non smoking and pet free.

When I posted on twitter, FB and instagram we were staying at the #1 trip advisor rated place in Lebanon it made for very entertaining evening with all the comments from my friends.

For a stop on RT 66 I would recommend this property for a fun, authentic blast from the past experience. AND don't forget to get a shot of the great neon sign at night!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanienTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This motel is uber retro and that's why we chose it. The neon sign is awsome, although a couple of letters needed replacing when we were there. Somehow that makes it even better! The room is old style, the layout is old style and Ramona the owner was old style...but in the best way possible. We only stayed one night but when we checked out it was if she had known us for years. She insisted on giving us big hugs to send us on our way and even gave us a free fridge magnet to remember them by. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sc0utFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebanon
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 11 in Lebanon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 11 in Lebanon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#8 of 11 in Lebanon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lebanon
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Lebanon
Super 8 Lebanon
#3 of 11 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
22.8 mi away
Dave’s Hideaway Motel
Dave’s Hideaway Motel
#4 of 4 in Camdenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munger Moss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munger Moss Motel

Property: Munger Moss Motel
Address: Lebanon, MO
Location: United States > Missouri > Lebanon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lebanon
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Munger Moss Hotel Lebanon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing