We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique authentic caboose cabins.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caboose Junction Resort
Napoleon, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unique authentic caboose cabins.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We loved staying here in the cabooses! Had a great time sitting on the deck, playing on the dock, resting in the hammocks and enjoying the lake views. Four of us went for a restful, relaxing girl's week-end and had so much fun. The deck was my favorite - with wooden rocking chairs, picnic tables, grills, and of course can't forget the squirrels running around. We could see the lake from the deck, beautiful sunsets. Inside the caboose we had plenty of room. Two bunks on each side at one end of the caboose with a queen size bed in cupola. We cooked our meals in the kitchen, pots and pans, plates, utensils all provided. Only thing I will take next time is another skillet. Refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and toaster provided. Everything you need for a kitchen. Stool in one little room and shower and sink in another part. In middle of caboose there is a couch, chair, TV and a wood stove. Very quaint and authentic. The owners were very friendly. We definitely hope to come back here again and maybe bring the family.

Room Tip: The three cabooses on connected together with deck was our favorite. You do have to share the deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our family discovered this gem when staying at another nearby resort many years ago (18+) and decided to give Caboose Junction a try the following year. We haven't missed a year since, with many of our extended family accompanying us whenever possible. All of our children, as well as our nieces and nephews, learned to ski, tube and jet ski in the beauty of Table Rock Lake and the Caboose Junction cove. The swim dock and access to the lake are phenomenal and Pat, Will and the rest of their family are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

These are a fun alternative to the traditional cabin on the lake. The interior of the cabins have a very authentic feel. Our first visit was several years ago when my husband and I wanted a romantic getaway. It was a lovely and peaceful weekend. This year we came out with a group of friends (adults and kids) early in the season, and made good use of the wood stoves. The owners are friendly and very accommodating to kids and to pets. We had a great time both trips and plan to come out again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank eve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We make plans to visit Caboose Junction every year - my girls LOVE LOVE LOVE it and always ask to go back! Oct. 2012 was our most recent trip - but we've been 4 times so far and always have a wonderful time! Full details at http://www.kcparent.com/KC-Parent-Blogs/Kristina-Light/May-2011/Camping-in-a-Caboose/

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank iluvcallalilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My family found this gem in 1983. We have been vacationing there since. I enjoyed it as a child and now my child loves sleeping in the cabooses. It is just far enough from Branson to be quite yet only a 25 min drive to the strip. They have their own boat dock and ramp. Lots of shoreline to explore. Deer hanging out in their woods. If you need to unplug this is the spot. Will and Pat have really made this the best family vacation spot on Table Rock.

Room Tip: Stay in the cabin if you need a bath tub for babies. The cabooses only have showers but they have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lina_Wehelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our family, including married siblings and all the children have been making Caboose Junction our annual vacation for the last 30 years. It's just a great family friendly atmosphere perfect for playtime and dining all together. Yet each family has their indiviual caboose, which is fully equipped with all the necessities; coffeepot, pots & pans, dishes, microwave, oven, 3 burner stove, refrigerator,heater and air conditioner. Everything inside and out is very well maintained. We love it! Even though it is just a short drive to Branson with all it's entertaining things to go & do we find us just wanting to stay at the resort all work and enjoy the water and being together. Great cove to tube & ski and their dock has boat slips you can rent. There is even a boat ramp which is very convenient. You won't find any nicer and more accommodating host & hostess, then Pat & Will! We give 5 Star rating! Kathy & Dave Thomas

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 44600Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The perfect vacation spot. We are going back for the 4th year. The grounds are well maintained and the lake is beautiful. The kids think it’s the best vacation ever. Clean, friendly, safe, fun and how cool is it to say you’ve slept in a Caboose!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank AshbysSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampe
11.3 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
4.2 mi away
Port of Kimberling Marina & Resort
Port of Kimberling Marina & Reso...
#1 of 8 in Kimberling City
84 reviews
9.4 mi away
Westgate Branson Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mill Creek Resort
Mill Creek Resort
#2 of 8 in Lampe
29 reviews
7.1 mi away
Village At Indian Point
Village At Indian Point
#11 of 140 in Branson
727 reviews
3.5 mi away
Table Rock Resorts at Kimberling
Table Rock Resorts at Kimberling
#5 of 8 in Kimberling City
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caboose Junction Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Junction Resort

Property: Caboose Junction Resort
Address: 162 Caboose Ln, Lampe, MO 65681-8293
Location: United States > Missouri > Lampe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lampe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Junction Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, everyone, to the Caboose Junction Resort. We invite you to stay with us and take a ride into the past, experiencing a true piece of American history. We are one of the most distinctive resorts in the Ozarks, home to some of the most scenic mountains, lake and rivers, and exciting family entertainment in the U.S. Gracing our home in the Interior Highlands are six authentic Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway (ATSF) cabooses, some of the last great remnants of our country’s proud railroad heritage. For nearly a half-century, these cabooses roamed the rails throughout Kansas, Colorado, Missouri and many other parts of the Southwest and West. After taking one final journey from Wichita, Kan. to Lampe, Mo., the cabooses were retired and converted into charming resort units.Today, families and couples from all across the U.S. come to relax in these nostalgic, resort cabooses and experience all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Caboose Junction Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing