We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caboose Junction Resort
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our family discovered this gem when staying at another nearby resort many years ago (18+) and decided to give Caboose Junction a try the following year. We haven't missed a year since, with many of our extended family accompanying us whenever possible. All of our children, as well as our nieces and nephews, learned to ski, tube and jet ski in the beauty of Table Rock Lake and the Caboose Junction cove. The swim dock and access to the lake are phenomenal and Pat, Will and the rest of their family are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jeannine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

These are a fun alternative to the traditional cabin on the lake. The interior of the cabins have a very authentic feel. Our first visit was several years ago when my husband and I wanted a romantic getaway. It was a lovely and peaceful weekend. This year we came out with a group of friends (adults and kids) early in the season, and made good use of the wood stoves. The owners are friendly and very accommodating to kids and to pets. We had a great time both trips and plan to come out again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank eve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We make plans to visit Caboose Junction every year - my girls LOVE LOVE LOVE it and always ask to go back! Oct. 2012 was our most recent trip - but we've been 4 times so far and always have a wonderful time! Full details at http://www.kcparent.com/KC-Parent-Blogs/Kristina-Light/May-2011/Camping-in-a-Caboose/

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank iluvcallalilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My family found this gem in 1983. We have been vacationing there since. I enjoyed it as a child and now my child loves sleeping in the cabooses. It is just far enough from Branson to be quite yet only a 25 min drive to the strip. They have their own boat dock and ramp. Lots of shoreline to explore. Deer hanging out in their woods. If you need to unplug this is the spot. Will and Pat have really made this the best family vacation spot on Table Rock.

Room Tip: Stay in the cabin if you need a bath tub for babies. The cabooses only have showers but they have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lina_Wehelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our family, including married siblings and all the children have been making Caboose Junction our annual vacation for the last 30 years. It's just a great family friendly atmosphere perfect for playtime and dining all together. Yet each family has their indiviual caboose, which is fully equipped with all the necessities; coffeepot, pots & pans, dishes, microwave, oven, 3 burner stove, refrigerator,heater and air conditioner. Everything inside and out is very well maintained. We love it! Even though it is just a short drive to Branson with all it's entertaining things to go & do we find us just wanting to stay at the resort all work and enjoy the water and being together. Great cove to tube & ski and their dock has boat slips you can rent. There is even a boat ramp which is very convenient. You won't find any nicer and more accommodating host & hostess, then Pat & Will! We give 5 Star rating! Kathy & Dave Thomas

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 44600Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The perfect vacation spot. We are going back for the 4th year. The grounds are well maintained and the lake is beautiful. The kids think it’s the best vacation ever. Clean, friendly, safe, fun and how cool is it to say you’ve slept in a Caboose!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank AshbysSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I and our 3 kids have been going to Caboose Junction every year since our now 20 year old daughters were 5 years old. We would all say this is our favorite spot in the world to go. It's our family-relaxing time. Will, Pat, and Jake make us feel like part of their family and we look forward to seeing them each year. The cabooses are really fun for young children, and as the kids grow up, they still love the nostalgia of the place. Everything is always spotlessly clean and fresh. The location is near enough to Branson to have lots of things to do, but far enough away that you can just relax by the lake if that is your choice. We love the place so much that, when our daughters were graduating and we wanted to take a trip together, they chose Caboose Junction over the beach or the mountains. That says a lot to me!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caboose Junction Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caboose Junction Resort

Address: 162 Caboose Ln, Lampe, MO 65681-8293
Location: United States > Missouri > Lampe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lampe
Price Range: $68 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caboose Junction Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, everyone, to the Caboose Junction Resort. We invite you to stay with us and take a ride into the past, experiencing a true piece of American history. We are one of the most distinctive resorts in the Ozarks, home to some of the most scenic mountains, lake and rivers, and exciting family entertainment in the U.S. Gracing our home in the Interior Highlands are six authentic Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway (ATSF) cabooses, some of the last great remnants of our country’s proud railroad heritage. For nearly a half-century, these cabooses roamed the rails throughout Kansas, Colorado, Missouri and many other parts of the Southwest and West. After taking one final journey from Wichita, Kan. to Lampe, Mo., the cabooses were retired and converted into charming resort units.Today, families and couples from all across the U.S. come to relax in these nostalgic, resort cabooses and experience all that the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Caboose Junction Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing