We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One tired old lady” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Port Arrowhead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Resort at Port Arrowhead
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   3080 Bagnell Dam Boulevard, PO Box 1930, Lake Ozark, MO 65049   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Savannah, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One tired old lady”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

By "tired old lady," I am referring to the resort, not me. The Resort at Port Arrowhead sits on a prime piece of real estate overlooking the Lake of the Ozarks, which is a bit of a shame, because the rooms are in terrible condition (dirty carpets, frayed drapes, out-of-date televisions, dingy bathrooms), and the public areas are in dire need of rehabilitation. Sometimes a coat of paint isn't nearly enough.

When we arrived for an off-season overnight, the restaurant was closed, as was the bar. We were the only people checked in that afternoon, until another visitor checked into the room right next to us later in the evening. With more than 100 rooms at their disposal, it was disappointing to be placed right next to another guest, as we could hear the toilet flushing and the shower running. Noises I might expect if the place was more occupied, but seriously ... we were the only guests in the whole place.

The place need a major overhaul, or could even be torn to the ground and redeveloped to meet more modern expectations. With so much convention/resort competition in the area, Port Arrowhead has a rather high bar to overcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at The Resort at Port Arrowhead, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review Our Resort. I am sorry to read your perception of our property as we are an older property and will be celebrating our 50th Anniversary next year. We plan yearly renovations to our property and complete these projects throughout the year. I agree with your comment on when we have low occupancy nights not to reserve rooms right next to each other and we have made that correction at our Front Desk. We do however like to put our guests in the same building to make our guests feel more secure and provide our guest easier access to the indoor pool. I would also like to apologize for our restaurant not being open when you stayed but we are a seasonal resort and have limited hours in the off season. Again, Thank You for taking time to review Our Resort and we hope you will be our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    33
    42
    35
See reviews for
69
39
2
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel property has seen better days. The furnishings are dated and the buildings are in need of some repair. But, the price was somewhat reasonable and the location is great. The restaurant has a really good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Stay close to the water or pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhonJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at The Resort at Port Arrowhead, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our Resort. I am sorry you didn’t like your room as we have renovated three of our five lodging buildings. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our restaurant and hope you will try us again in the future. It is our goal for each guest to enjoy their stay and leave happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed Labor Day Weekend 2012. This was my first trip to The Resort at Port Arrowhead. I can't say enough good things about this place. The entire staff was so nice and friendly, and so accomodating! I was sitting in the lobby one morning drinking coffee, while my friend was still sleeping in our room. The tv in the lobby was on and the weather channel was airing. Since the remnants of Hurricane Issac were moving through the area, I was watching the tv pretty intently to see when the weather was going to clear up. The gentleman working behind the desk approached me and offered me the remote control, and told me I could change the channel if I didn't like the channel that was on. I thanked him and told him that I was fine with the weather channel.This is just one example of how accomodating the staff was.I loved the outdoor pool area, with not just one, but two amazing pools, a hot tub, and a tiki bar! Loved how the staff had bingo games and hula hoop contests for the kids. I loved our room, it was very clean! I absolutley loved the Sunday brunch! Even the other guests were all very friendly. The Resort is just a quick little drive away from Bagnell Dam and all the charming little shops.If I had to pick one bad thing about my stay it wouId be the weather, which the resort had no conttol over. I will definitely be a repeat customer!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa_H60887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at The Resort at Port Arrowhead, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving such a nice review. We really appreciate getting good reviews as a lot of guests only take time to leave not so favorable reviews if they experienced an issue during their stay. It is ultimate goal that each guest who stays with us leaves happy. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future and again thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatsburg, Il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Labor Day Weekend 2012. Our weekend started out rainy but, that didn't stop the fun and activities. Port Arrowhead staff were prepared and ready for action. The food in the restaurant was very good. Our waiter was very attentive and cheerful.( I'm sorry I don't remember his name.)
Our rooms were very clean and fresh scented. Plenty of parking. and lots to do. Our grand children had a great time. We will be back next year and probably more weekends along the way! Thank you Port Arrowhead staff!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaCalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at The Resort at Port Arrowhead, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the kind words about our Resort and for taking time to write such a nice review. We look forward to having you back in the near future and hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bloomfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I saw the reviews for this hotel which turned out to be more of a motel, and with the high ratings on Tripadvisor, I thought it would be a nice place to stay.
Needless to say, we stayed in room 259 which looked like a nursing home room and smelled like one also. The bathroom was set up for someone who needed to access the room by wheelchair which wasn't a bad thing necessarily but it didn't smell clean. It smelled like dirty diapers.
The room looked clean until I saw the sheets. They looked like they had already been slept in and not changed.
I woke up to a huge fight outside our door. Yes, the beer cans were still in front of the door when we left. I don't want to hear someone threatening to kill someone in front of our door in the middle of the night. We were awakened several times during the night by loud music or loud voices.
Needless to say, I won't be staying there again.
On the flip side, the room was fairly well decorated and the air conditioner was very cold. The tv worked very nicely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at The Resort at Port Arrowhead, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I am sorry about the issues you had with your room while staying at our Resort as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction. You were in fact booked into a handicap accessible room and I apologize for that as well. While I can’t be responsible for the actions of our guests staying here I wish I could have taken care of these issues while you were still staying with us rather than replying to a review after you have checked out. However, I do want to thank you for taking time to write a review about our Resort and for the nice things you did say about your room. If you could take time to call me I would appreciate it as I would like to discuss the issues you had with your room personally. Again, Thank You for taking time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Ozark hotels

Belle, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I enjoy coming here every chance we get!! Staff is frendly and there pools are awesome!! I have NEVER had a dirty room or any were have we seen a mess or and eye sore. love eating at the restaurant they have awesome food at good prices. The ONLY thing that i could even think was wrong about this place is there sign is tucked behind some trees so if your not paying attition you could miss there drive but that could also be driver error LOL. Again we LOVE this place

Room Tip: I have yet to find a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear-n-Sheshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at The Resort at Port Arrowhead, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our Resort and for taking time to write a review. You are 100% correct about the tree that is blocking our sign and we hope to have that corrected later this month. We are waiting approval to trim the tree back because it actually is not on our property. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The place is conveniently located near the lake and major attractions and activities. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The restaurant has good food at reasonable prices. There are a few options for vegetarians, too. There are other eating joints located very close to the hotel, as well. Overall, a great place at a good affordable price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNKSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at The Resort at Port Arrowhead, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about our Resort. We really appreciate the kind words and look forward to having you stay with us again. Our number one goal is guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
15.8 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
3.6 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#11 of 15 in Osage Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
3.4 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Port Arrowhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Port Arrowhead

Property: The Resort at Port Arrowhead
Address: 3080 Bagnell Dam Boulevard, PO Box 1930, Lake Ozark, MO 65049
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Resort at Port Arrowhead 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service resort with two outdoor pools, indoor pool, hot tub and miniature golf course. We have a lakeview restaurant and lounge for our adult guests. Wireless internet, microwaves and mini-fridges are complimentary in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Resort at Port Arrowhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Port Arrowhead Hotel Lake Ozark
Hotel At Port Arrowhead
Resort At Port Arrowhead
The Resort At Port Arrowhead Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing