We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Weekend Ever!”
Review of Bass and Baskets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Ozark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass and Baskets
Ranked #2 of 3 Lake Ozark B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Weekend Ever!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We had an absolute blast here even for our short one-night stay for our anniversary. Deb and Ed were so hospitable and made us feel like we were at home in their home. And they thought of everything! There were snacks, drinks, tea, and even a hair dryer available! (Totally forgot to bring that!) We
went for a swim right off the docks soon as we got there and they had tourist guides in the room to help us pick a fun restaurant for the night. The Bed of Roses room we stayed in was so beautiful and comfortable (best sleep ever!) and it was so fun to walk right outside onto the deck to watch the lake. Breakfast was also on-point, creative, and definitely filling (did not eat again until dinner!) and we had such a blast talking with Deb and Ed about their lives and getting to know the other couple sitting with us. I was legitimately sad to leave and I hope we can come back again one day :) Thanks again, guys!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
68
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Don't ever hesitate to stay at this beautiful b&b! The rooms are spacious. The accommodations and hosts will exceed your expectations. We stayed in the Home Sweet Home room which is decorated in red, white & blue. We've been in the winter and watched the bald eagles soar across the cove. We've been in the summer and enjoyed the beautiful dock and lake. And we've been in the fall and sat on the deck with a glass of wine soaking in the beautiful color. We've never been disappointed. Deb's breakfasts are fabulous. And Ed's stories are always entertaining. With the b&b attached to their house you always have the security of knowing your hosts are near, yet you have the privacy that you want from a beautiful retreat. And should you want to experience the company of others, just hang out on the common deck. We've got to meet the most wonderful people at Bass & Baskets. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The top two rooms (Home Sweet Home and Old Bass Lodge) have individual balconies and have comfy leat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catandmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a beautiful spot right on the lake and Deb and Ed are wonderful hosts. The B&B is connected to their private home, but is 3 stories with so many amenities and comforts too numerous to list. We stayed in the Baskets and Blooms room, which was decorated so fresh and beautiful with some of Deb's many baskets that she tastefully decorates with throughout the Inn . Every possible thing you may need is in the room and looking out from your room over the lake or from the deck right out your door is wonderful and peaceful. My husband had to work in the area on the Labor Day weekend Sunday, which is our Anniversary weekend. We decided to have some fun along with work and booked 2 nights here. We wound up staying an extra night when my husband had to work longer than expected to enjoy the B&B and the area. The breakfasts were amazing and huge. The only thing we had until supper was one of Deb's homemade chocolate chip cookies and not because we were hungry, because they were good. The common area has a living room with large screen TV and nice dining area overlooking the lake. We enjoyed wonderful company with the guests and hosts and really enjoyed our stay. Thank you to Deb and Ed and we hope to be back.

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful and all overlook the lake with a deck and furniture to sit and relax outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

There was nothing not to like about this experience. Lovely room, large bath with whirlpool. warm and inviting hosts Deb and Ed, nice view of the lake, and she makes the BEST breakfast. Being a blue and white fan, we found just the right room for our anniversary trip. It has a fireplace, so we will try to return in the cool weather. Our hosts were willing to help us in any way they could. The bed, and even the linens, were above expectations. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The facility in general, and my room in particular, were very well-kept and extremely clean. The third floor had a wonderfully cozy sitting area between the two room - all overlooking beautiful Lake Ozark. I stayed in the "Home Sweet Home" room which was very well-appointed with a large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and I especially enjoyed having my own private balcony/deck. The breakfasts were excellent. I enjoyed my personal get-away so much that before I left, I booked four nights for my husband and I over Thanksgiving. I highly recommend Bass and Baskets.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which of the four rooms you choose; all are equally charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our first time visiting the Lake of the Ozarks since we were children. We wanted a relaxing place on the lake, and with Bass and Baskets, we found so much more!

Every review seems to rave about Deb and Ed, and the compliments are well-deserved. They are so incredibly nice, funny, and knowledgeable about the area. The bed and breakfast is run like clockwork - every room, every corner, is nicely kept and decorated. There is so much to enjoy in the house itself, that we are considering coming back in the winter.

We stayed in the newly remodeled Old Bass Lodge room, and it was the coolest room ever! It is very large with a four poster "tree branch" framed king bed. It has its own balcony, and is decorated like an old bass lodge should be! The bathroom is large and has a jacuzzi tub and shower stall. They have thought of every little thing, from a flashlight if you want to go out at night to make-up removal wipes to plastic water bottles. That room was almost better stocked than my house!

The breakfasts were to die for. Waffles, yogurt, fruit, frittata, sausage - I can go on and on. Deb is an awesome cook and we skipped lunch every day because the breakfast was so big! There are sodas, water, crackers, cookies, and other snacks available 24/7. We brought a bottle of wine back from a local winery, and Deb even had a wine basket with a chilled insert ready to go so we could sit on the dock with it.

We also took a fishing excursion with Ed one morning and had an absolutely blast. Ed knows more about fishing and good fishing spots than anyone on that lake! He is a great instructor and has a lot of stories to tell about fish and just about anything else under the sun.

Be sure to check out the package deals on their web site, and the reviews here - and you won't go anywhere else! We're definitely going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraKryvko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Bass and Baskets is a wonderful place to relax. The proprietors Deb and Ed are very welcoming and hospitable folks. We decided to stay in the Home Sweet Home room - it is beautifully decorated with a red, white and blue theme. Beds and sheets are incredibly comfortable, you will have the best sleep in months. The decor fit perfectly for the 4th of July weekend when we stayed there (by the way - the B&B is ideally located right on the lake and has a front-row seat for watching 4th of July fireworks).

There are a lot of private and common areas to relax, including balconies for each room overlooking the lake, rocking chairs out on the front and back porch, and chairs on their boat slip. They have cute baskets that you can fill with a bottle of wine and ice for chilling for a romantic evening out on the boat slip or back porch enjoying the sunset over the lake and a glass of wine.

A hearty, restaurant-quality breakfast is served at 9 a.m. by Deb. On our first breakfast there, we had her famous stuffed French toast, which was topped with fruit salad, and had a side of spinach cheese quiche and maple sausage. It was such a great breakfast that we ate everything on our plates and were stuffed until 2 pm that day! You will have to request it for when you stay there. The next morning we had another scrumptious breakfast of Eggs Florentine that included scrambled eggs, roasted asparagus, and a large piece of country ham served on English muffins along with more fruit salad. All the guests sit down to have breakfast together family-style at a large common table and have friendly conversation about their night before or plans for the day. Deb joins in to offer any tips for what to do around the lake.

We will definitely be back the next time we need a little R&R.

Room Tip: The "Home Sweet Home" room is on the 2nd floor and is decorated with a red, white and blue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfgirl_94118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
15.3 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
5.3 mi away
Osage Village Inn
Osage Village Inn
#10 of 15 in Osage Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 15 in Osage Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass and Baskets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass and Baskets

Property: Bass and Baskets
Address: 1117 Dogwood Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Ozark
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bass And Baskets Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing