We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak tacos ever!!!”

El Gallito Authentic Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 56 Restaurants in Lake Ozark
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Gallito Authentic Mexican Restaurant is a new restaurant located in Luby's Plaza. Right of the Bagnell Dam Strip, it's a convenient place to eat. El Gallito offers locals and tourists a great getaway experience. El Gallito is open 7 days a week and features daily drink and food specials.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best steak tacos ever!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great service! Everyone was friendly and happy to answer our questions. Wonderful salsa. And by far the best steak tacos I have ever had! !! Will be back for sure! !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobysnack7075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norberto T, Owner at El Gallito Authentic Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We appreciate your review and hope you can make it back to the restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food and Service”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Went to El Gallito yesterday. We're in the Ozarks for our annual get together with our young adult kids. All four of us were delighted, especially following last year's disappointment at Vista Grande. We love Mexican food and El Gallito offerings seemed truly authentic Mexican. It's location is just a touch out-of-the-way near the dam, but close to where we were staying. We had a table outside on a pleasant evening and server was very friendly and showed just the right amount of attentiveness. Pitcher of lime margarita was very tasty. Nothing special about the atmosphere, but very highly recommend for true Mexican food lovers like us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norberto T, Owner at El Gallito Authentic Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
So happy you enjoyed dining with us. Hope you and your family will visit us again next time your at the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“REAL Mexican Food!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

this place has got it all great authentic food, perfect music in the back round, knowledgeable staff and if you have ever been to "the Strip" in summer then i dont need to say anything about the scenery.........WOW!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norberto T, Public Relations Manager at El Gallito Authentic Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. And the strip is nice in the summer. It's going to be nice this fall too. We're serving up new daily specials and changing some recipes to assure that all customers are as happy about their experience with us as you were. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Mexican, variety of choices, and very reasonably priced!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had our first experience at El Gallito on the Strip in Lake Ozark (behind Wok & Roll) this Memorial weekend and truly enjoyed it. They give chips and salsa free (and you each have your own bowl). We had a plate of the 4 sm. burritos (ckn, beef, cheese, & beans) and one of the 4 vegetarian choices. Both plates came with beans and rice. We also had a draft and a margarita, and the whole bill was $30! Our waiter "Estéban" (Steven) was extremely attentive and really wanted to please us! He gets an A+! Although we ate inside in the attractive, adobe booth setting, there are also tables inside and on the outdoor covered patio. We are locals and will definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SWC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norberto T, Manager at El Gallito Authentic Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review. We hope that you can come back to the restaurant soon. We are coming up with all sorts of coupons and specials for all of our locals this fall and winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gallito Authentic Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to El Gallito Authentic Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing