We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughts from a local - A step back in time!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Ozark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alhonna Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoughts from a local - A step back in time!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Alhonna Resort is one of the few family resorts left at the Lake. Alhonna has kept up the tradition and worked hard to keep the nostalgic feelings for families coming back year after year, they have two small playgrounds for the kiddos, indoor, outdoor pool with baby pool, and rooms overlooking the Lake, it is a family owned quaint little resort that most everyone seems to adore. The resort is located on the main channel and is known for it's great amenities and awesome fishing (the food is pretty amazing as well - especially breakfast!). The pool is large and has plenty of seating. I noticed someone mentioned in a review they were not happy about boaters or locals coming in to have a cocktail and let kids use the pool. I myself see no problem with it, as a boater I know how difficult it can be at the Lake to find a kid friendly place to stop and relax while boating and after all it IS a boating community. Not only have I stayed there in the past, but I have sent family members and friends to stay at the resort and they have done nothing but rave about the great staff and how much fun they had, so I know first hand it is an incredible place, If you are looking for a relaxing getaway and family friendly environment then Alhonna is the place to stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovinlakeozark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    15
    4
    12
See reviews for
33
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have just completed our 3rd family reunion here. It was so awesome to be in close proximity of my sisters, brothers, parents, and nieces/nephews. I was depressed to leave them, because I love them so much.

I do want to point out some specifics, in the hopes that they can be amended before we stay there again. (We are already looking elsewhere for our next reunion).

The commodes are not up to par. I, being an overweight 40-something mom, had my bottom pinched numerous times when the seat of the toilet shifted. In addition, both toilets clogged easily, and myself and husband plunged twice.

The showers do not drain and the bathtub/bathtub walls are unclean.

We called a total of 3 times for: clogged drains, clogging commodes and needing disinfectant, and something else.

Finally, no phones or clocks. I didn't care much about these aspects, but they would add more convenience, especially when some of our family does not have cell phones.

Room Tip: Units 73 and above (upstairs) seem to be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annesumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have been staying at this resort for about 8 years (a couple times a year). This is the last time!! We stayed there memorial weekend and I was relaxing on patio by pool and a group of people walked up from the lake and sat down at table next to me. They had about 8 kids with them...While they ordered drinks...the kids went to the pool and used tne resort facilities. I was shocked people would do that at a resort they were not staying at. Then we stayed at the resort on the July 4th weekend....there were many boats with large groups of people coming off the lake....one boat had 17 people. They sat down ordered drinks and went in tne pool. UNBELIEVABLE!!!!! I was paying $200 BUCKS a night to stay and share the facilities with everyone on the lake. There were so many poeple at the pool we could not even get a chair. I reported what was happening to the office and they said it was hard to control (that's scary)...if you like relaxing and not sharing resort you pay to stay at with the community and other creepies stay somewhere else. NEVER AGAIN. NOT A FAMILY RESORT. This is mainly for college kids and drunks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellotsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Ozark hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This review is long but hopefully will provide a comprehensive overview of the resort. My husband and I spent three days at Alhonna attending as part of a very large Great Dane organization (we occupied at least 80-90% of the rooms). The resort did absolutely everything within their power to make us feel welcome and well cared for. Not only was our comfort a priority but their services extended to our gentle giant pets. Drinking water buckets were placed around the core of the resort, areas were designated for the dogs to potty and disposal containers were provided. The cabin included everything we would possibly need and was clean and tidy. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The food at Bobbers is country style and tasty!

We stayed in the lower floor of a three bedroom cabin (unit is compartmentalized so the two floors can be rented autonomously with separate entrances). The guests that rented the top floor misrepresented themselves to management as a party of two there for the purpose of fishing.. when in fact there were five young men who spent the majority of their first day drinking and being obnoxious. Management addressed their behavior and warned them they would be removed should they behave in a similar fashion day two. Night two they repeated their behavior of the first night waking us up with screaming and horsing around. I called management at 1:30a.m. and security arrived within two minutes. The men were informed in no uncertain terms that they were being watched and removal was imminent. The rest of the night was quiet and we were greeted at breakfast by management staff to get our input and expressing their desire to "make things right". Those guests are now banned from future rental and arrangements were made for us to attend in 2014 with the group.

If you are looking for the Ritz.. stay elsewhere. If comfort, great location and family are your priority.. this is the place for you! We look forward to many years of vacations at Alhonna!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realgypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Decks views and grills on each room. Great super clean rooms. Fun. Lots of trees and beautiful sunsets!!! Stay here...you will love it. It feels good..like vacations did when I was a kid! This is a nice change, flowers, trees, nice people and great cove location!

If you are a CEO fat cat and drive a Ferrari, you and your fake breasted young wife might complain about a few things...but fine..go stay at H.Toad and enjoy your concrete structure and $380 a night in season rate suite...and you will enjoy what your are use to.

For most of us...the price, views and lake access AND location is awesome. Take a boat to Shady Gators, H.Toad, Dock Knockers as they are all 1/2 mile up the shore.

If your hungry....try Chicago Brothers Pizza bar restaurant in Osage Beach. Order the Chicago Beef sandwich with au jus....its outragously delicious for $7.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurthorfonzarilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our first of many stays at alhonna Resort, the unit we stayed in over looked the lake it was peaceful, fun, and breathe taking. I can't wait to go back. The atmosphere is fun and friendly, we had no problems with our stay only that it was to short!! Already planning another trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommaZz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Let me first say that, if you are looking for Hyatt Regency or J.W. Marriott accomodations, thaty is not what Alhonna is all about. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation lakeside with kitchen facilities, then I highly recommend Alhonna Resort at Lake of the Ozarks. Our group of 3 persons stayed in UNIT #39, a 2-bedroom, 1 3/4 bath kitchenette unit just steps from the lake's edge. This unit was remodeled over the winter 2012/2013, and when we walked through the door, we felt like it would be a home away from home while we were there. The decor was tasteful and homey, and the living room/kitchen/dining room combination had a daybed, two side chairs, a nice-sized dining table with 4 chairs, a refrigerator/freezer, full-sized stove with oven and a dishwasher. The cabinets were filled with all kitchen necessities needed for our 3-day trip there. One bedroom had a king-sized bed with it's own bathroom facilities, while the second bedroom had a double bed. The 2nd bathroom in the unit had a very nice, new corner shower unit. The unit had a wall-mounted flat screen television as well. On the deck outside the front door was a picnic table and a very nice Weber grill. Unit #39, when using all the bedding options, can accomodate 6 sleepers.

We ate at Bobber's Restuarant on-site at the resort and the meal was good and well-priced. Alhonna's has a bar, with a pool table, flat screen televisions, and numerous video games for anyone who might want to enjoy an evening there, with limited indoor seating, but oodles and oodles of tables and chairs available on the deck outside the bar overlooking the large outdoor pool with wading pool for the little ones. Alhonna also has a nice-sized indoor pool that was very clean, as well as two fabulous 8-person hot-tubs, which we utilized several times and found to be clean and in good working condition.

The reason for our vacation was to enjoy a weekend of fishing. Despite the unseasonably cold temperatures, we were able to get out and do some fishing off the docks at Alhonna, and with some direction from one of Alhonna's employees as to where some of the "hot spots" were, we were able to catch enough crappie to make a meal. All the crappie that we caught were above the 9-inch limit for Lake of the Ozarks, and we caught a few that were 12" or longer. We did not have much luck catching anything in the fish house, but it did protect us from the cold wind, and it was very clean as well, and had a nice area for us to clean the fish we caught on the docks.

Our reservation was handled professionally, and all staff members that we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful. There were two playgrounds on-site for children, as well as a couple swim docks. We experienced no problems with noise from other units, which says a lot since the resort was filled-up when we were there, with individuals participating in a bass tournament and a car show on the Bagnall Dam strip.

The only reason I did not give Alhonna 5 stars is because the beds were extremely firm and we all woke up with back pain each morning, which is probably more about our needs than their accomodations. Other than the beds, Unit #39 perfectly met all of our needs for the weekend.

Thanks, Alhonna Resort, for providing us with a nice weekend getaway!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 37-40 were all updated in Winter 2012/2013 and are all Lakeside units, just steps from the fis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShowMeMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
6.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 12 in Lake Ozark
129 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Osage Village Inn
Osage Village Inn
#10 of 15 in Osage Beach
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 12 in Lake Ozark
531 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhonna Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhonna Resort & Marina

Property: Alhonna Resort & Marina
Address: 677 Outer Dr, Lake Ozark, MO 65049-5206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alhonna Resort & Marina is a family owned & operated lakeside resort featuring 60 motel, cabin and condo style units up to 4 bedrooms. Located in a large cove on the 8 mile marker at the end of Horseshoe Bend, you can be out of town - but not too far away from all the activities that make a family vacation at Lake of the Ozarks special. With a variety of amenities and unit types, Alhonna Resort is perfect spot for family reunions, church, social & corporate retreats, bass tournaments, high school senior trips and other groups looking for that personalized touch in a relaxing atmosphere at the Lake. Whether it's for fun and excitement, quiet relaxation or a little bit of both, Alhonna Resort offers you the perfect escape from the everyday. Featuring Bobber's Restaurant & Lounge (in season), Heated outdoor and indoor pools, 2 hot tubs, gas dock, boat rental (kayak, paddleboard, paddleboat, fishing boats, pontoons), fishing docks, enclosed Fish House with wood burners, fishing license, live bait, tackle, ice, wood, laundry facilities, firepits, children's playground and more. We are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alhonna Hotel Lake Ozark
Alhonna Resort Lake Ozark
Alhonna Resort & Marina Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing