We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”

Grandpa's Ice Cream & Homemade Pies
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Lake Ozark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Wood River, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The ice cream is very good, but the Chocolate covered Key Lime Pie on a stick is a slice of heaven. The staff was very friendly, and will let you have a small taste if you're not sure what you want. It was hot out the day we were there, so when we walked into cool air, it was a refresher.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Ice cream around”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

On the strip, set back a little so be sure to look for it. Great homemade ice cream and very friendly people. Price is not too bad either.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank karly529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great ice cream, not so great service”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My whole family loves Randy's, but I'm not so crazy about custard so I convinced them to try Grandpa's. They had some interesting flavors that I had never seen before so I wanted to try them out before deciding on the ones that I wanted. Both Grandma and Grandpa were behind the counter waiting on people and I found both of them to be a bit rude and unwelcoming. In the end, I liked the ice cream, but did not enjoy my experience there. If I want to try to steer my family away from Randy's again, I will probably try another ice cream shop before I go back there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Missouri
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Must have when at the lake!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Every time we head to the Lake, we always make sure at least one night we stop at Grandpa's for ice cream! The staff are the friendliest and nicest people, and the ice cream cannot be beat, nor can the prices! They have THE BEST waffle cones and sugar cones. Highly recommend their Strawberry icecream, it is fantastic. They also make an amazing Key Lime Pie! I noticed this past weekend they now have Key Lime Pie dipped in chocolate on a popsicle stick...that will definately be tried in a few weeks when we head back down. Lots of seating, inside and out. Highly recommend you stop in, say hello and enjoy some great icecream or pie..OR BOTH!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eqhntr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldon, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Tucked out of the way on the bagnell dam strip, this place has Ice cream, chocolate covered bananas, and fudge dipped key lime pie slices...need I say more?!

Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandpa's Ice Cream & Homemade Pies also viewed

Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Grandpa's Ice Cream & Homemade Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing