We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap BEWARE”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of LO's Crab Shack - CLOSED

LO's Crab Shack
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florissant, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Tourist Trap BEWARE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We walked in and stood by the hostess stand and no one greeted us for some time. A person was asleep or napping at the bar who turned out to be the busboy. I had the special which they said was a scampi bake. It was 6 salad sized shrimp in a escargot pan covered in a MOUND and I mean MOUND of cheese. With two stale biscuits. The wait staff was pretty young and clueless with no management to be found. I asked about the drink special on the board next to our table and the waitress had to look it up on her phone app for a mixology site but was having web issues. one other note I had asked about the crab legs and she could not give me a decent answer so I went with the special. Wont be back SAVE YOUR MONEY

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    24
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
springfield, mo.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a joke!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

August 9th, 2014. Worst service ever! Sat there for 15 minutes and never even had our drink order taken. Horrible. Multiple tables sitting full of people with no drinks. Left without even getting our drink order taken. On the way out I made eye contact with several servers and what appeared to be a manager.They simply turned their heads and continued with what must have been a very important conversation. At least 4 staff members standing around the hostess area by the front door. It will snow in Hades before I ever visit again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank stretchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will not be returning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Something felt "off" as soon as we entered. The layout is odd and we were stuck at a table off by itself. The signage depicts it to be a more casual environment than that of an empty, quiet, cloth napkin restaurant. The wait staff was unprofessional. They didn't seem to have their inventory and were running out of everything we asked for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahaab12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Craphole”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Went here with my wife, wanting to get good seafood from a local restaurant. We were disappointed from the moment we walked in the door. The lighting was poor, decor was crappy, and one waitress was arguing with the other one at the front desk while we were waiting to be seated. Once we were seated, we noticed the table was wobbly, and there was no drink menu. We both got the special, which we were told came with steak...it didn't. The salad tasted like rotten fish, the mahi mahi was bland, the sweet tea wasn't sweet, and the garlic biscuits tasted like they came from the frozen section at a crappy grocery store. That place needs to either have a complete makeover or be burned to the ground. Complete craphole

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

My boys love eating at this place and sitting up at the bar to watch the games on the flat screens. The food is always first rate!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LO's Crab Shack also viewed

Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing