We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Dining Experience”
Review of Savannah Grille - CLOSED

Savannah Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrible Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited Savannah Grill on Friday for my wife's birthday and had a terrible experience. The restaurant has a nice view, not as nice as JB Hook's/Baxter's views, but nice. We each ordered a drink from the "Artisan Cocktail" menu. They took nearly 20 minutes to arrive. My wife's was supposed to be a hand crafted berry sour, but was nothing but sweet, with no acidity to balance all the sugar. Mine was simply unpotable and apparently made with rail rum. Artisan Cocktails should never be made with the cheapest liquor.

We ordered the gnocchi appetizer, which was good. It was advertised as being made with lump crab meat, but instead just contained loose meat from the knuckle. For our main courses I ordered the house burger and my wife ordered the fried chicken. Two pieces of her chicken were bloody next to the bone. Both the breading and the gravy on the potatoes were so salty they were inedible. I am not just talking a little over-seasoned, it was as if the lid had come off the salt shaker. I was excited since they advertised their burger as house ground, meaning I could order medium, but it was cooked, nay burned, so far past well-done that it was dry and mealy. When one orders $26 fried chicken and a $14 burger, they expect perfection. The manager came over and spoke with us and offered us a free dessert, so there was an attempt at reconciliation; however, I would still put this as one of the worst 5 dining experiences I've ever had, a complete disappointment for her birthday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatoldsun999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    35
    12
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Bachelorette Dinner Party!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous food and excellent service from Sam and Sam!!! The owner was top notch as well! We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Had Sunday brunch and was it good. Never had a Savannah Benedict but it was to dye for. Great view of the lake. Can not wait to go back

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenniferC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't meet expectations”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was so excited to try the Savannah Grille and then so disappointed. The food was just OK and the service lacked of personality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding and personalized service and food!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We can't thank Chef Sills and the Savannah Grille staff enough for our unforgettable first anniversary dinner last night! Our wedding rehearsal dinner was held at Savannah Grille one year ago and we knew that's where we had to go back to celebrate our first anniversary. We were greeted by Tracy the general manager who remembered us and escorted to our table on the patio with a breathtaking view of the lake. They brought out two glasses of champagne and we were told Chef Sills had 3 courses planned for us for our anniversary dinner. We were taken away and so grateful for the special treatment. The 3 courses along with dinner was so delicious and were very unique plates. Everything was so fresh and the presentation was outstanding. Lastly our server brought out a board of house made preserves, sugared bread, vanilla and cinnamon whipped cream and fruit...WOW! It was the perfect ending to an unforgettable meal. We are so grateful to have found Savannah Grille and now call it our special place, somewhere we will come back to any chance we get. Amazing customer service and passion for food! Thanks again Chef, Tracy and all the wait staff. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Grille also viewed

Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing