We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice paople, fun place, good pizza, outta the world tunes”
Review of Casablanca

Casablanca
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Lake Ozark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Casablanca was started in 1932. It is the longest established bar on the Bagnell Dam Strip. Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday nights. Great spot for Sports with 14 large screen TV's and the NFL ticket. At night it is a great spot to hang with the locals and your friends.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice paople, fun place, good pizza, outta the world tunes”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went there Saturday night. Three couples, sat upsatirs. Great music playing, had their pizza from the Grotto in the lower level, propably tops at the lake.

Jackie our server made the night a lot of fun.

Overall, a really good place to have a great time. Nothing fancy but extremely comfortable. Get there early on Fri and Sat so you can get a table.

Many local people, this is what the lake should be about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jiml333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCOLE65, Administrative Assistant at Casablanca, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit and review of Casablanca restaurant on the strip at Lake Ozark, MO. We are so glad to hear that our customers get good service and have a positive experience! We value our great employees like Jackie and thank you for helping us give them the recognition they need. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    31
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Basement Bar/Pizza CasaGrotto”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Amazing ambiance and the bar tender poured a great drink. You sit right there at an open kitchen and watch your pizza be made. Really amazing pizza if you like thin crispy crust. Loved the decor and just the entire vibe of the place. You can come in off the street and just walk to the side of Casablanca or go in and down the stairs. Only open after 4 but you can get the pizza for lunch too if you want it. Just can't go downstairs. The only thing they should change is getting rid of the grease recycling contraption outside the entrance from the street...ugg that was nasty but I know they have limited space. Don't let that throw you off the path. Really good pizza and a really good price. We had a medium and had 3 pieces left over. One of my new favorite places to eat at the lake!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernBell1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy
1 review
“Great pizza and atmosphere!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Sat in the Casagrotto which was a smaller bar area that was non-smoking. Ordered the Jordanmeister pizza which was delicious. Could still hear the live music, watch the game, and order off either menu. Great place to eat and relax.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“$4.25 For a Blue Moon. Are you kidding !”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We enjoyed sitting on the front porch and watching people go by but the food and prices left something to be desired. I have never paid this much for a beer in a dive bar outside of Chicago. The wood fired pizza had a limp crust and the homemade italian sausage was not very flavorful.

Go for lunch and drink iced tea if you want to sit and people watch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregStLouis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLOZ, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello and thanks for the review. I'm glad you stopped by and left some feedback. I'm interested in knowing which type of crust you had? We have Original (Deeper Dish), Thin, and Thin and Crispy. Also wondering if you had the "Meat Lovers". One problem we have seen in the last few weeks is we load it up with tons of meat. The problem is that with that much meat the original crust gets limp. Still tweaking that one.

Since the Pizza side of the business has only been open for 3 months we are constantly changing it to meet the locals taste buds. One thing about Pizza, is everyone has their favorite. Some like deep dish, some like spicy, some like double everything.

In regards to Blue Moon prices, since your review I went to 3 different spots and ordered blue moons. Prices ranged from 3.25 to 4.50. I believe your right and the price is too high. While ours is a 16 ounce and some others are 12 ounces, I think you have a good point. I'll get it changed to $3.50.

If you have any other thoughts, please let us know.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“CHECK OUT THE GROTTO”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The upstairs at Casablanca is always fun. Any season. Hot Summer Nights are the best here! They just opened CasaGrotto downstairs. Wonderful atmosphere. Fabulous handmade pizza. No trip to LoTO is complete without a trip here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awtnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing