We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service.......Older Hotel.......Really Hard Beds....Poor Room Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Club Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Poor Service.......Older Hotel.......Really Hard Beds....Poor Room Service”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

When we arrived, the hotel had just experience a power outage. They did not have our reservation in their system due to the power outage, but they were able to place us in a unit.
This is an older hotel that could use some upgrades. The hotel had a dirty feel to it.
The King Size Bed was really hard and uncomfortable to sleep on.
The AC unit stopped working around 2am, so between the hot room and the hard bed we did not get a very comfortable nights rest.
When we checked out and reported the AC unit stopped working in the middle of the night, the clerk did not appologize, but became very defensive and said, "Well we have maintenance on call 24/7.
Room Service took over an hour before we received out food.
We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmb2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at the Country Club Hotel. First of all I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations of service. While there are occasions when circumstances are totally out of our control such as the power outage, there is never an excuse for poor service. When it comes to “business as usual” the Country Club Hotel is usually recognized for providing very good service and cleanliness. I am particularly disturbed by the fact that you did not experience either of those on your recent visit. It is through travelers such as yourselves and with your reviews that we are able to identify areas where we need to improve.
Please feel free to contact me.
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    25
    26
    48
See reviews for
32
44
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We came across this hotel on Groupon and decided to go there over July 4th. We have visited the Ozarks a few times so we were familiar with our surroundings and this hotel is hidden away from the lake but the drive in was pristine. The hotel as many of you have commented on is very out dated but clean. Check in was a little challenge the receptionist was busy. We brought our 4lb dog which is a $12 charge (cheaper than boarding her). Because we brought her with us we went from the 4th floor to the 1st floor so the dog can have better access to the outside. There's is a slight odor especially in the elevators. The room was spacious but run down. There was missing tiles near the floor, the outlet plate was broke, the ceiling in the bathroom had water damage and outside there were cigarette butts everywhere. These type of issues are not expensive to fix. Yes, the decor was out dated but the room was clean. The pull out sofa bed was so uncomfortable so you may want to opt for a cot. We took advantage of the massage which was good and the gym is so-so. There were lots of retirees there using the gym with thier personal trainers though. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on the food. The outdoor pool is average but I agree with other comments on here updates are over due, staff are friendly and again the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I appreciate your comments on your visit at the Country Club Hotel. If we hear from our guests we can then know what we are doing well and where we need to improve. We acknowledge that some upgrades are needed and some are already in motion. Since you were on the 1st floor I don’t know if you noticed the new paint on the other floors of the hotel. The 1st floor is being finished at this time. Once this process is completed we are moving into the individual hotel rooms with a comprehensive list of details that are being addressed such as the items you noted and provided photos of.
We at the Country Club do pride ourselves in always making an effort to provide outstanding customer service and as you noted, even though there is room for improvement, the facility is clean.
Thank you again for your comments.
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseyville IL
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I purchased a groupon package to this hotel. I could tell from previous reviews it wasn't that great, but also not awful. It's kind of hard to put into words how this place feels. It just needs to be updated and refreshed and brightened. There is nothing really 'wrong' with it, it just feels old and worn. From the gold bathroom fixtures, to the dingy shag carpet, to the victorian-style paintings and bedspread from the 80s. It was at one point meant to look for elegant and formal and it has just been used way past its prime.

Our jr suite was very spacious and would be perfect for a family of 4-6. Lots of open room with a mini kitchen (sink, small fridge, coffee maker and counter) and a bathroom with two sinks. Plenty of closet space and cabinets to put clothes in or suitcases on. AC worked well.

The couch was not at all comfortable and had some stains on it. The bed was - for some reason - so hot to sleep on, even without any covers. Pillows were uncomfortable. I did not sleep well the first night at all. The cleanliness of the rooms was ok. It was clearly clean and fresh, vaccuumed, but we found some hairs on the floor and toilet in the bathroom and crumbs on the counter in the kitchen area. One of the towels was so worn that when I attempted to dry my back, it just ripped.

The hotel grounds and exterior are quite beautiful and well maintained. The buildings look like Italian villas with tile roofs. They do a great job with landscaping. But you start wondering when you see the outdoor pool in the shape of a big circle with a children's wading pool separate, but in the shape of a racquet handle. The indoor pool seemed nice and had easy entry places, but the duct tape holding together one of the 2nd story windows on one side of the pool that has a wall of glass just made feel that this place is strung together with duct and hanging on for its life by a string.

There was a weight room and all the right words to suggest a nice hotel (sauna, whirlpool, indoor and outdoor pools, tennis courts) but everything is so aged, crammed into tiny spaces and claustrophobic and just really worn. It's hard to enjoy. And nothing smells fresh or clean. It doesn't smell dirty - just not fresh.

Our package included a restaurant credit. Do yourself a favor and don't choose to eat here. The value and price of the food is no where near the price they charge and the food is mediocre at best. Frozen biscuits and margarine, gravy from a mix. The skillets had SO much cheese on them I had to scrape it off to even eat it. The hashbrowns were good and prepared well. The steak on the skillet did not taste good and had lots of gristle. We only ate here a 2nd morning because it was free.

Included in our package was a couple's massage at the spa. The two women who gave us the massage were very kind and friendly. But the dark and dingy room with the low ceiling that we had the massages in smelled smokey and dank. Not at all comfortable. And the oils/lotions used for the massage did not have any smell, so there was nothing to freshen up this tired little room. It was not zen at all. The fake plants and really dark carpet and paint just felt claustrophobic.

If you can afford to stay somewhere else, you should. This is on par with the typical economy chain hotels (Super 8, Comfort Inns), but it is pretending to be something it no longer is.

Room Tip: The junior suites and very large and great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tink715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I really appreciate you taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay at the Country Club Hotel. We are always interested in knowing how our guests feel about our facility as we use your comments as a gauge of our operation. The current ownership and management staff of the Country Club is in the process formulating a comprehensive plan for making improvements. There has been some gradual improvements made over the past couple of years and more are yet to come. When the hotel was added in 1998 the Mediterranean décor was meant to reflect an elegance that did not exist in the Lake of the Ozarks area. While we do not anticipate changing that theme we are aware some upgrades are in order.

With the hotel sitting in the middle of a condominium developed as a tennis resort originally with a total of 12 tennis courts 3 of which are clay courts which are the only clay courts in central Missouri. The outdoor pool was built in a configuration that fit the theme of the rest of the property. The indoor pool as you indicated does have a glass wall that does need some attention as one of the windows was broken by vandals and considering the size it takes a while for replacement.
I apologize you did not find your meal in the restaurant up to your expectations. We have designed a menu that we have tried have to make affordable to our broad range of clientele. All menu items are geared toward what previous guests have indicated they would enjoy. We work with a limited number of purveyors in an effort to maintain a good quality at an affordable price.

Again, I do appreciate you letting us know of your experience and am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthasville, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It is in a great location. The bldg and room we stayed in was in need of maintainance ( Rm #2021 ). The carpets are stained, the pool area has the railing leaning over and being braced to stay up. The staff is very friendly and always asking how you stay is?. We still had an awsome time and would stay there again

Room Tip: You will have to walk to get to and from your room. The parking area is a ways away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernonR187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at the Country Club Hotel. We acknowledge there are repairs in order for the facility. It is currently work in progress both inside the building as well as outside. The railing around the pool you referred to is actually being rebuilt and that is why it was being braced up, the posts had not yet been set in cement.
I don’t know if you happened to notice but we are in the process of a major paint job inside the facility.
I apologize that we were not able to have the entire project complete before your stay but at times even with the best intent a schedule for a project of this scope does not always fall in line with the original plan.
We are very happy you did enjoy your stay and hope you will return again.
Thank you again
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

For someplace that is supposed to be top of the line, I was kind of disappointed. It was not all bad, and I might go back someday, but our stay was kind of rough.

The service at the hotel restaurant was excellent. The front desk service was pleasant as well.

The hotel clean. There was a faint odor of feet in the hall to our room and our room was way down a service hall after a winding walk and elevator ride from the lobby. There is a lot of brass and wood paneling in the hotel rooms, which makes me think it was updated in 1983 and never since. I don't really care about the looks, but some might.

There is no playground at this hotel complex, which I find strange. The pools (one indoor and one outdoor) are utilitarian and you can get wet in them, but I wouldn't say it is a particularly posh relaxing atmosphere. The outdoor pool is much better than the indoor one and has a snack bar and lounge chairs. The kiddie pools (one in each pool area) are 2-2.5 feet deep (which seems pretty deep for a kiddie pool to me). My daughter is 2 and enjoys swimming in shallower pools at home but did not feel safe enough to have fun in these kiddie pools. It would depend on the kid, of course.

My room had all the standard stuff; a bed, a toilet, a shower. No fridge, which was strange because I thought there was one and that was important to us. Some of the others in our party had fridges. It seemed kind of random. Other rooms in the hotel were much bigger than ours and booked for the same price.

The worst part was the noise. Even in our hallway which only had rooms on one side (and service rooms on the other) there was a lot of noise. There were people partying late into the night.

And then the other noise started. Apparently the walls in this place are paper thin, because we not only heard every intimate detail of the goings on in the room next to us (or down the hall? Hard to tell.) but they were actually loud enough to wake us up, after being asleep for an hour, with their spirited lovemaking. Which went on forever. And ever. And ever. We were up from Midnight to 2:00AM with the groaning and grunting next door. But our daughter did not wake up and we were afraid to turn on the light and call the front desk because then she would wake up for sure, and I didn't want to have that "talk" at 1AM. Eventually someone else in the hall must have called becuase there was a knock at their door and FINALLY we could get some sleep, at least until our daughter woke up at 5:30.

I complained at the front desk about the very disturbing night. They said they would warn the people to be quieter, but since we were checking out that was not very helpful to us. I also asked for a late checkout so my daughter could take a nap in the room, and they agreed to give us late checkout at 2PM. And then after we got her to sleep we got a call from the front desk asking why we hadn't checked out. And after we got her to sleep again we got a knock on the door (with the do not disturb sign up) asking if we needed maid service.

So, as long as you don't want to sleep, this place is okay.

Though I will add that someone else we know was in one of the condos and those were pretty nice. Still lots of brass and mirrors, but probably 1,000 square feet, plus a big screen porch, plus a patio and a full kitchen. If we do go again, we will stay in something like that.

Room Tip: Get a condo, or at least ask for a room that isn't on the basement level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieAbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to comment on your stay at the Country Club Hotel. Every review we receive from our guests helps us to improve our operation. We know that some improvements would be welcomed and we are in the process of making some gradual upgrades.
When the hotel portion of the facility was added on in 1998 the décor that was selected by the owner carried a theme of a Mediterranean look. Too often that theme is viewed as a dated look and everyone does have their own preference.
There are a total of 83 hotel rooms at the Country Club and 63 of them are considerably larger than a standard hotel room and are equipped with a refrigerator, wet bar, a spacious sitting area that includes a sofa and easy chairs in addition to the sleeping area with a king size bed. That room layout is very popular with most of our guests but with only 1 bed and a sofa sleeper I can understand why it may not be convenient for a family. As you mentioned we do have a number of condominiums available ranging from a 2 bedroom up to adjoining 3 bedroom villas which would be a 6 bedroom accommodation for the families and larger groups.
We do try very hard to keep a watch on noise but there are occasions when some guests do not consider the comfort of others. As a result of your comments we have implemented a better communication process various departments as it relates to our guests requesting late check outs.
Again I would like to thank you for your comments.
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

To me, "Country Club" connotes luxury. Although this hotel is clean and in a good location, the linens, drapes, and carpeting in the Jr. Suite were in need of a change. The bathroom shower tiles were mildewy, and someone did a terrible job of caulking around the tub enclosure. The silk flower arrangement in the entry way has been there for as long as I can remember, and it needs to go!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to comment on your visit to the Country Club Hotel. We acknowledge there are some updates needed at our facility and improvements are currently underway. Bathroom tiles are currently being replaced with solid surrounds, touches of color in the hallways and inside hotel rooms and in the future we will be replacing linens with a more modern style.
We apologize that this project is moving at a pace that did not allow us to have it complete when you were here to visit and we hope to see you on another occasion.
Thank you again for your time
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Ozark hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 12 in Lake Ozark
129 reviews
6.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
15.5 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Osage Village Inn
Osage Village Inn
#10 of 15 in Osage Beach
70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 12 in Lake Ozark
1,065 reviews
3.4 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 12 in Lake Ozark
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Country Club Hotel & Spa
Address: 301 Carol Rd, PO Box 1599, Lake Ozark, MO 65049-9110
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Club Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in late 2017. Large rooms, onsite Spa and Restaurant, indoor & outdoor pools, and gorgeous scenic views. Just minutes from several state parks, beaches and local attractions. We are the ideal venue for your Lake of the Ozarks business meeting, wedding, banquet or special event. Our skilled staff of professional event planners will make it an event to remember! We can host small groups or groups as large as 1,000! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Club Hotel And Spa
Country Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Country Hotel Lake Ozark
Country Club Hotel & Spa Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing