We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Conditions Needs Money put into Property” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Club Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Club Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor Conditions Needs Money put into Property”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Called day before arrival, and found out on web page inside pool wasn't operating 8-7 - 8-27. My resv. 8-19/21, made resv. July 21-11 gave resv. my phone & email. Never received a message pool was down. I would have booked else way. GM knew of my concerns as well as gront desk manager, they never once cared to accommadate my displeasure. Only 2 luggage carts, no valet, no air condition entry door way and very little in the reception hall. Rooms needed upgrading, balconies needed complete updating. Hoel Pool ( not for children who don't swim, no stairs to get in pool.) Fencing and tennis courts need repair. The cut backs are very very obvious To much to explain. I came down to see if a meeting would be good to have at the property. No Way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50bemett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments on the Country Club Hotel. I’m sorry our facility did not meet your expectations.. The Country Club came under new management just a year ago and we recognize and are in the process of making improvements. While the management’s logistical challenges should never affect guest comfort and convenience, there are projects that need to be completed when there is just never a “good time” As you stated, we did in fact have the indoor pool closed during your stay for as you indicated some much needed upgrade and renovation. Some have questioned closing the pool in what would be considered the “peak of the season” however since the outdoor pool was still open, it was determined this was the best time.
There are several more improvement projects scheduled for the Country Club and we will ALWAYS make every effort to complete those projects with the least inconvenience to the fewest number of guests.
Thank you again for your comments and observations.
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    25
    26
    48
See reviews for
32
44
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We went to the CC Hotel and Spa in July of 2011; overall, the hotel looked nice enough, and the Jr. Suite included in our package deal was nice and roomy, although I found the mattress to be a bit too firm. However, the hotel needs to pay attention to the details - scuffs on the walls (hallway on the 4th floor is especially bad), dirty carpet in the elevators, concrete in need of repair in both indoor and outdoor pools. These really detracted from the overall experience.

The Spa, as in other reviews on here, seems like an afterthought; we were looking forward to a nice, relaxing time at the spa, but alas, the spa consisted of a few rooms down the hall from the impressive workout area. The spa attendants did a really nice job, but the overall spa experience is not what we were hoping for.

The food in the restaurant was pretty good; only one server when we were there, but we were in no hurry, so this wasn't a big issue with us. The indoor pool was nice, although it's 4 feet all the way around, and the lap lane lacks markings for anyone seriously looking to use it as a workout.

Check-in was easy; check out, not so much. Although we bought a package deal, the charges on the room were messed up a bit. It ended up OK in the end, but only after recalculating just about everything when we paid.

Pros: Package price was a pretty good value; Food is good; Room is spacious
Cons: Spa facility is limited; Amenities not up to par; Hard mattress; Needs TLC

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBnMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank for your comments on your stay at the Country Club Hotel & Spa.
I have intentionally delayed responding to your review so that I could honestly state that the indoor pool has undergone a total face lift. It was only in planning stages at the time of your visit. The pool has received a fresh paint job complete with swim lanes, new in pool lighting and a new deck surface and markings.
As for the hallways and other common areas, that is on the table for our winter project. We always try to plan any project so we cause the least inconvenience to the fewest number of guests. It just makes good sense to make those type of improvements in our off season.
As for the spa area, we would certainly be interested in know what type of services you would like to see so we can take it under consideration as we are always open to suggestions. Our guests are our highest priority and we are interested in what you have to say to remain competitive in our market.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant, Rafferty’s, and are working diligently on improving the level of service.
I have discussed your billing issues with the Front Desk manager, and noted your experience as a tool to continually make improvements in that process as well.
Again, thank you for your comments.
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on June 18th. It was not a good experience. The bed was
terrible, old, no padding, very uncomfortable. We were so tired and sore the
next day that we didn't do much boating, wave running etc. The sheets were so
rough and threadbare that we could see our hands through them. The carpet was
worn and stained. It looked like the housekeeping staff made an effort to clean
but the room needed so much work that it didn't help much at all.

My husband let them know on check-out how disappointed we were. We heard nothing
from the management until I emailed them recently. The reply I got from the general manager is basically the same form letter he writes over and over on here. We spent $160.00 for one night's stay that was less comfortable than a Motel Six. Would you give this hotel a second chance? We sure won't.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at the Country Club Hotel. I am sorry your experience was not up to your standard. Since the property came under new management a year ago, we have been working diligently to make improvements as rapidly as we can. While management challenges should NEVER be a reason for a guest’s disappointment in accommodations, there are unfortunate occasions when circumstances do allow a letdown. We always encourage our guests to notify us immediately upon finding a situation that does not meet their expectations so we can make provisions to correct it as soon as possible.
It is through guests like yourself who let us know where we have come up short that we are able to continue to improve the quality of the Country Club Hotel.

Thank you again for your time

Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Ozark hotels

Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
260 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

The annual big band dance party with Bobby Layne and his orchestra was held at this hotel for the first time. I was pleasantly surprised by the venue. This is a very large facility with a hotel plus condominiums and rental property. There is a bar and restaurant in the hotel. A large outdoor swimming pool with bar where pool parties are held on Friday and Saturday evenings in the summer. Plus there is a large indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. A full functioning fitness center is in the hotel and offering a large variety of spa treatments.

All rooms are large suites and include a small kitchen with refridgerator, coffee maker and sink. A sweeping view of a valley down to a finger of the lake. Parking is a very short walk from the hotel. Tennis courts, handball courts are next to the outdoor pool.

Within just a few miles of the property, large shopping centers and outlet malls are available. A large variety of restaurants are close to these shopping centers. Lake activities including swimming and boat rentals are also nearby the hotel.

The stafff was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. They bent over backwards to solve whatever problem we thought that we had. I believe that most of the people attending this dance were very pleased with the facilities and hope that we meet at this hotel next year.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KSMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write about your experience at The Country Club Hotel. It is always nice to hear comments like yours, and the management at the Country Club will always share information like this to continually motivate and improve staff. While we are all very proud of our facility and staff, it is our goal to continue to improve.
Yours was the 2nd major Ballroom Dance event we have hosted since installing the 2400 sq ft dance floor and I will say, the entire staff has commented what a pleasure it has been to serve both groups. We look forward to hosting many more groups of this nature.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again at The Country Club Hotel for your next event.
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Country Club Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstadt, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

After searching internet for places to stay in Ozarks, I found this one and am glad I did. From check in to check out our stay was pleasant. Everyone was friendly and went out of their way to help or just to say hello. I am extremely picky when staying at hotels and was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of our jr suite. I was very comfortable at this resort and if we ever go back to Osage Beach this would be where we stay. There are seven pools and the main one has a bar with snacks which is great; however, it would be nice if there were more for kids to do.

Room Tip: Check for hotel specials on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melblue11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
I would like to thank you for your comments on the Country Club Hotel & Spa. It is our goal to provide a truly memorable experience for each and every guest that visits our resort. In the latter part of 2010 the resort has been under new management and outstanding customer service has been a very high priority of all staff and management at our resort.

Thank you again, we at the Country Club Hotel truly appreciate your visit with us.

Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

Went for a relaxing weekend getaway with a friend. Truly ALL of the staff was amazing! Very friendly and helpful! We interacted with everyone in the hotel from front desk to restaurant to maintenance... all wonderful! The room was beautiful and extremely reasonably priced! I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. I will definitely be going back!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyJo0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubManager, Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Thank you for taking your valuable time to tell us about your visit. We at the Country Club Hotel & Spa have been working hard to elevate our level of service to create truly memorable vacations to all of our guests. With comments from all of our guests we are able to continually improve our level of service and our facility.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

This review is for the SPA at the Country Club Hotel & Spa. If you want truly EXCELLENT massages at a reasonable price, from experienced, professional massage therapists, head straight for the Country Club Hotel! (Go to Spa Shiki if you want the FULL (expensive) spa treatment - complete with BAD, overpriced massages). Both my wife and I are former massage therapists, so we know what we're talking about. We received three massages each from Rhonda and Maya - some of the best we've ever had, ANYWHERE!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmadscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you so much for taking your time to comment on your experience at the Country Club Hotel & Spa. We have been working diligently on improving our level of customer service and professionalism. It is comments like yours that help us measure our success.
I realize this response is somewhat delayed however as a new management team was assembled beginning late summer of 2010 I felt it necessary to acknowledge even reviews posted sometime ago.
Thank you again
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
15.6 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Osage Beach
Days Inn Osage Beach
#4 of 14 in Osage Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
6.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
1.0 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Country Club Hotel & Spa
Address: 301 Carol Rd, PO Box 1599, Lake Ozark, MO 65049-9110
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Club Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large rooms, onsite Spa and Restaurant, indoor & outdoor pools, and gorgeous scenic views. Just minutes from several state parks, beaches and local attractions. We are the ideal venue for your Lake of the Ozarks business meeting, wedding, banquet or special event. Our skilled staff of professional event planners will make it an event to remember! We can host small groups or groups as large as 1,000! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Club Hotel And Spa
Country Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Country Hotel Lake Ozark
Country Club Hotel & Spa Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing