We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is the attraction”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
PortSide Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 60 Restaurants in Lake Ozark
Cuisines: American
Description: Lakeview Restaurant and Lounge; traditional cuisine. Sunday Brunch April through October.
Restaurant details
Description: Lakeview Restaurant and Lounge; traditional cuisine. Sunday Brunch April through October.
Sainte Genevieve, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The location is the attraction”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Got in late so I didn't want to go anywhere, even though there are really good restaurants nearby. Just didn't want to get back in the car after driving three hours, partly through rain.

At 9PM there was one person running the bar and waiting tables. OK, only a couple people eating, but there was a conference starting and the bar got pretty full -- and backed up -- quickly.

Food -- well, I had the "fish and chips" (breaded cod and french fries -- they don't call them fish and chips) and it was OK. Fortunately the cook uses malt vinegar for something and the waitress/barkeep brought me the bottle. The people are great, the food was mediocre. Had lunch there the next day -- again, location was the attraction. Friday night a group of us were on the deck, drinking and talking, and were surprised to see the bar close around midnight. Seemed early --

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Too many flies!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The food was good, but you can get good breakfasts cheaper in the area. There were an inordinate amount of flies in the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mcjrg1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High priced, low quality food”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived at 6:30pm to an empty restaurant which should have told us something, but we went in. Had our choice of tables. New waitress did her best I suppose, but messed up our orders. I have never seen a restaurant that doesn't offer a dinner salad, but they don't. You can get a salad if you pay extra though, but when I'm paying $22 for a steak, I think you could manage 50 cents worth of ingredients to offer a salad. Steak was OK (nothing special, but nice enough) but our "Loaded" baked potato had maybe 5 bacon bits, a tiny bit of cheese and no scallions at all, for an extra $2, it sure wasn't worth it. Ordered fried shrimp (3) as an "add-on" to our meal and got blackened instead. When finally replaced with fried shrimp, they were so overcooked and/or old they were inedible. We did tell our waitress this and by this point were tired of waiting so told her not to have the cook make more. Our bill was also still charged for the shrimp we could not eat. After 90 minutes (and no dessert menu either) we finally left...still the only people who had been in the restaurant all night. Very Very disappointing meal

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyluvr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at PortSide Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our Restaurant. I am so sorry you didn’t have a pleasurable dining experience. If you could contact me at The Resort regarding this I would appreciate it. It is our goal that each guest of our hotel and restaurant leave satisfied and wants to return. Again I apologize for the issues you encountered during your dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, MO
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Used to be a Holiday Inn restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

They have a great chef and I didn't discover how good he was until a group I belong to had a luncheon here. Hubby and I have come here for Sunday brunch for years but lunch and dinner are great too. Great service and if you can't eat an adult brunch, you can ask for the kid's brunch, an excellent value for us seniors! I highly recommend this former Holdiay Inn restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank gardeninggal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at PortSide Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about our Restaurant. We really appreciate the kind words about our food and service. Remember to join us for our Thanksgiving Feast as Chef Joey Wilson and his staff prepares a fabulous menu for brunch and plated specials Thanksgiving Night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We ate the breakfast buffet on a Saturday. The wait staff was friendly and attentive, the food was hot, flavorful and plentiful…we would definitely dine here again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RhonJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, General Manager at PortSide Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We really appreciate your kind words about our restaurant and for taking time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and look forward to having you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PortSide Restaurant also viewed

Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to PortSide Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing