We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not as expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camden on the Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camden on the Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but not as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Two friends and I stayed at this hotel the past weekend. I had high expectations after reading about it online. The staff was very friendly and the spa was excellent. However, our room was not great. There were stains on the carpet and walls. The bathroom was large and had a great shower. There was a TV in the bathroom but we could not get it to work. Location on the water was nice and convenient if you would like to visit H. Toad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments. I a sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the condition of your room.

We are currently under gong a renovation at the Camden on the Lake Resort. All of our public area carpeting is being replaced, which includes all guestroom corridors and ballrooms, additionally, 50% of the guestrooms received new carpeting last year and the other half are receiving new carpeting this spring. All of the wood finishing's in the guestrooms are being up-dated to new condition. All of this work is scheduled to be finished by May 1st, 2014. There are also numerous other renovation projects underway at this time that will enhance our guest's experience at the Camden on the Lake Resort.

Again, thank you for your feed back, it is very valuable to us as we take all comments, both positive and negative very seriously.

We hope you have an opportunity to return to the Camden on the Lake Resort in the near future and allow us the pleasure of serving you again.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    90
    34
    26
    30
See reviews for
67
185
5
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place is amazing. We got a Jacuzzi suite and also visited the spa. Both the room and the spa were some of the most luxurious I've experienced, and that's coming from a world traveler. This place is definitely a place I would recommend and also return too. I would say though that the building could use a bit more insulation between floors/rooms. It was a very quiet off season weekend when we visited; and we could hear people above us and on both sides. I would be weary of noise when visiting during peak times.

Room Tip: Get a room on a floor level 3 or higher, you won't see much of the lake if you go on a lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Camden on the Lake Resort. We are glad you were able to break away during the off season and enjoy all of the amenities our resort has to offer. It was a pretty harsh winter for most of the country and we are excited to be moving into the spring and summer months.

We are currently making many up-dates to the resort. We are replacing the carpeting in all of the guest areas in the hotel including all of the guest corridors, ballrooms and meeting rooms. Half of our guestrooms received new carpeting last year and the other half re being completed this spring. We are also adding a beautiful new 2 bedroom suite, which is scheduled t be completed by May 1st.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back ad visit us again in te near future and see first hand all of the improvements we are making.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hubby and I decided last minute to go away for the weekend and came across Camden on the Lake. After finding a good price online - $83 we call direct to see if they could give better deal - she couldn't but did match it. GORGEOUS hotel!! Amazing bed - king room was HUGE!! Kitchenette - fireplace - surround sound stereo - flat screen tv - TWO closets - dual showerhead - the best smelling shampoo etc!! The bed was comfy - pillows nice and plenty of them. We wandered around a little and this place SMELLS great!!! Yes it was off season so it was quiet but the pool area looks great. Its connected to H Toad - bar so during high season could be different story - plan to come back in summer. We asked for late check out - 12 was best she could do but worked great for us. Around ten miles to great shopping - dining.

Room Tip: Off season no reason to pay for "view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misslondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Camden on the lake Resort. We are happy to hear you enjoyed all of the amenities our resort has to offer. In addition to the items you listed in your feed-back we also have a well equipped fitness center on site and a full service Spa. We are preparing to open our outdoor pool on April 18th, which features a swim up bar and 2 hot tubs. We also provide boat rentals on site during the summer months.

Thank you again for taking the time to write and share your comments. We are thrilled that you were happy with all of the amenities and services our resort has to offer and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dittmer, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with Camden on the lake. Beautiful room with beautiful rooms. So much space. Great resteraunt at h toads with great service. Tracy was our server. and she was fabulous! We are excited to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Camden on the Lake Resort. Traci has been a valuable member of our H. Toads team for several years and she does a great job of servicing our guests needs. We are vey lucky to have Traci along with other team members who take great pride in taking care of our guests needs.

Thank you again for sharing your comments, we hope to see you back at the Camden on the Lake again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was highly impressed with the hotel suite we stayed in - all of the extras really made it feel like home. It is conveniently attached to H. Toad's which was a life saver when we were snowed in at the hotel. Front desk service was great and we were impressed with the extras the facility provided - pool, game room, theatre room, gift shop, spa, etc. The hotel seemed very new, smelled great (unlike most hotels) and was impeccably clean. Thank you!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at he Camden on the Lake resort and for taking time to share your comments. We are fortunate to have a great group of employees dedicated to serving our guests and committed to preserving the condition of our unique property.

We hope you have an opportunity to visit our resort again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have stayed here twice. We love the design and cleanliness of the hotel and helpful staff. But THIS IS A PARTY HOTEL!!! It often hosts fraternities and conventions. It is known for hosting large parties w out of control drunks. During our stay we were woke up repeatedly by fights in the hall, people knocking on our door, cussing, screaming, loud music. We were harassed, called names, and threatened by the drunks on the floor, and there was only 1 security officer for the entire resort. After 3 assaults we were finally moved to another room on a different floor. The security man was simply outnumbered and unable to control the drunks. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU WANT TO REST or SLEEP. If you want to party and act like a idiot then this is the place for you! lol

Room Tip: Make sure you are not put on a floor with any fraternities or convention groups. When booking ask w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Camden on the Lake Resort. We take all comments very seriously, whether they are positive or negative.

First and foremost, please accept my sincere apology for the disturbance that caused you to have a less than desirable experience. The type of behavior that the group in question exhibited was completely unacceptable and actions were taken to prevent this behavior from reoccurring. The group was notified of the issue and corrective action was taken.

The Camden on the Lake Resort has a beautiful conference center and we do host many different conferences throughout the year. To generalize that all of our groups are here for a party is simply untrue.

In the summer we host outdoor concerts at the H. Toads entertainment complex, which is attached to the resort on Wednesday through Saturday evenings from Memorial weekend through Labor Day. Our concert schedule can be found on our web site and our national acts should be posted in the next 2 to 3 weeks. Guests visiting the Resort are notified well in advance of these concert dates.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I were recommended this destination through hotels.com We were very happy with the recommendation. We chose to take a vacation in the off season to this destination. We have had nothing but great food and service in the H. Toads bar and grill. The food first class and the environment amazing. We can only imagine this place in the on season. Truly a wonderful experience and as we ate dinner and had drinks in the restaurant we found ourselves contacting many of our friends and family about how awesome this place truly is and recommending each and every single one of them come here to experience this place. The view of the lake from our room amazing, The amenities of the facility top notch. Tonight we are watching a movie in a movie theater located in the resort. Enough can not be said about this time we spent here. Also do not worry about finding things to do in the area. We went to two amazing cave tours, ate at many wonderful places in the area, spent a great day shopping at an outlet mall and visiting a local distillery. There is a ton of things to do around the area even in the off season and quite honestly we found coming back and enjoying the resort quite as refreshing and awesome as the area events. Camden is a must do for anyone. Couples family friends you name it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to provide the review of your recent experience at the Camden on the Lake Resort.

Lake of the Ozarks is a wonderful destination with many exciting area attractions, as you mentioned in your review. Regardless of what time of year you come there are always lots of things to see and do.

The Camden on the Lake is open year round with live entertainment on weekends in the H. Toads Bar and Grill. We have a great group of employees devoted to providing the highest level of service possible to all of our visiting guests. Whether you are here as part of a group using our spacious conference center or simply getting away for a relaxing spa weekend, we pride ourselves in providing exceptional service.

Thank you again for your kind words, we are delighted that you decided to come and stay with us and even more so that you enjoyed your visit. We hope you have an opportunity to come back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
14.6 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 14 in Osage Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
7.9 mi away
LakeHouse Hotel
LakeHouse Hotel
#1 of 14 in Osage Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden on the Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden on the Lake Resort

Property: Camden on the Lake Resort
Address: 2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049-7008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden on the Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club at Toad Cove is the newest and most luxurious full-service Hotel to open at the Lake of the Ozarks in nearly a decade. The Resort is located adjacent to the famous H. Toad’s Entertainment Complex at the seven-mile marker of Lake of the Ozarks and covers over a quarter of a mile of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Camden on the Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, And Yacht Club
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Hotel And Yacht Toadcove
Camden On The Lake Resort Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing