We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camden on the Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at this hotel. The reason we selected this hotel was because of the pool. We had eaten at H Toads on another vacation and thought the pool looked like a fun place to relax for a few days. However when we arrived the pool was closed because someone had broken a glass in it. Although the staff was apologetic about it being closed, this didn't fix the fact that we didn't get to spend our anniversary the way we planned to. Upon checkout when we expressed our disappointment at the pool being closed, the front desk indicated that they could have provided accommodations at a different pool down the road, however since we were checking out this was of little value to us. This should have been mentioned when we complained that the pool was closed upon check in. Instead the front desk indicated that they would have the pool opened soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alp186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Please accept my apology for the pool being closed during your visit. This was an unfortunate situation created by another guests ignorant behavior. We had no choice but to drain the pool in order to guarantee the safety of our guests and we hope you understand that it was in everyone's best interest to do so. This was a very rare occurrence and we hope you will try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 555 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Attached to the former "Horny Toad" entertainment and restaurant complex there is lots of music and sound on the weekend. That's not a bad thing if you enjoy the excitement, however if your room is on the lake side count on hearing music at least until midnight. The resort is all first class. Built in the real estate boom of the early 2000s there are several retail spots vacant but the rooms are excellently appointed with quality similar to a Ritz Carlton. The Suites that include a kitchenette, couch and large screen tv make a very comfortable choice. Great choice for a smaller conference (100 people or so). Good convention food and professional service.

Room Tip: Lake side will have more sound of music on the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod_CFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful description of our hotel and we hope you will stay with us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice place. The resort is very nice and well maintained with plenty to do. I had a young crew check in across the hall. Sure enough, the stereo came on and could be heard over the TV and up and down the hall. I called the front desk. They came right up and informed the people if they got another complaint they would take the stereo out of the room. No more loud music. It is nice when the management follows up and is serious about their guest's comfort.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write about your visit to our resort hotel. We apologize for your neighbors disturbing your evening and are glad that our staff followed our procedures when dealing with the situation. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked on the internet and got a great deal...(I think we used Expedia) When I got there, the friendly guy behind the counter offered me a great deal to upgrade and we ended up in a beautiful jacuzzi suite overlooking the lake and marina. We were on the sixth floor with high ceilings and a king bed. The linens were incredibly comfy, the carpet was brand new, the kitchen and bath were worthy of the 4 stars it has received!

Room Tip: Gotta have a lake view or you're looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhonJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for giving us the Top Notch review. We will continue to work hard to live up to that rating and we hope you will visit us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is perfect!! Upscale amenities-- more of a condo than a hotel room.. With a resort style pool, restaurants, bars, shops, etc! Lots of action, so if you're looking for a quiet place come off season (like us, though we'll come back in season because we appreciate more action). The room is simply wonderful. I really am picky about hotels... Really, really, picky. But this is more than exceeding my expectations. Guarantee this will end up being a more than yearly trip for us. Cheers

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDM5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return during the season to experience more action. We promise you won't be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Britt B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Me and my husband went here for our 1st year anniversary and got the lake retreat package for our room. It was wonderful. The view was perfect and the room was very spacious. We liked the spa as well as the grounds. We got the jacuzzi suite room which is on the 6th floor. The only thing is that where our room was, you can hear the concert that was going on at the restaurant which we didn't mind. This is a beautiful secluded place and we are planning to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing our resort for your romantic getaway and for taking the time to write about the experience. We appreciate your comments and will look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
14.5 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
7.5 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#11 of 14 in Osage Beach
308 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Osage Village Inn
Osage Village Inn
#10 of 14 in Osage Beach
74 reviews
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Lake Ozark
134 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 12 in Lake Ozark
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden on the Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden on the Lake Resort

Address: 2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049-7008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range: $141 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden on the Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club at Toad Cove is the newest and most luxurious full-service Hotel to open at the Lake of the Ozarks in nearly a decade. The Resort is located adjacent to the famous H. Toad’s Entertainment Complex at the seven-mile marker of Lake of the Ozarks and covers over a quarter of a mile of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Camden on the Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, And Yacht Club
Hotel And Yacht Toadcove
Camden On The Lake Resort Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Lake Ozark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing