We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
372
111
42
33
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
372
111
42
33
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar surround sound lake resort shady gators dual shower heads horny toad washer dryer king suite beautiful room small kitchen living room the entire resort jacuzzi tub dvd player get away four seasons toads
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 596 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stumbled up on this resort 4 years ago. We returned this past weekend and somehow received the very same room! First, I must say thank you to the responses we received through emails and upon arrivals. I had questions and responses were not ignored. We love the room and the amenities offered with it. Comfort and relaxation is what it has for us. We were well aware of the pub crawl one night of our stay. We did experience loud talking, laughing, hall parties and probably crawling by some to their rooms. It lasted a good while in the early morning hours. We finally got back to sleep. Otherwise, our stay was great. We visited local restaurants and was surprised by all the city improvements and services that have been added since our last visit. Visiting here is quite a nice get away for us and we'll be back again, just not during the pub crawl weekend:).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeMimiJCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our resort and what a coincidence that you got the same room as your last visit. We do try to let our guests know in advance when there are special events going on, such as the Pub Crawl, and I'm glad that you were not too disturbed. We will continue to work hard at earning your business and will lokk forwrd to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for her birthday over President's Day weekend 2013. We stayed in the 1-bedroom suite that was huge. It has a full kitchen, sitting area, balcony, and large bath. The decor is modern, new and refined. The Aveda Spa was great! We would totally stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thanks for letting us know about your experience at Camden on the Lake Resort. We are so glad that you enjopyed your stay with us and will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Originally we were quoted $125/night but arrived to find it was $149 + $50/night for our little dog = $199! This was January ( the off season)and the spa was closed, there was no pool, and no breakfast. We were charged $6 each for a reheated donut & coffee in the lobby! We ate it because that was all there was....

The rooms we were offered were both very dirty. We were given Rm 410 on arrival & the carpet had large areas of sticky brown liquid spilt. We were the only ones on that floor of the hotel, so asked to be moved to a) a clean room, and b) a room looking at the water & marina instead of looking at the parking lot. We were told it would cost $30/night more to be on the marina side with a view of the lake. So we took Room 407 again looking out at the parking lot, but it was dirty too. We cleaned the toothpaste off the doors and mirrors in the bathroom, cleaned the walls around the kitchenette covered in food residue, cleaned the stovetop and cleaned the pots, dishes and glasses which had all been put away dirty. Our dog found and brought out items from around the bed: papers, a bottlecap and deodorant. The safe was non-functioning and the hook on the back of the bathroom door was broken off and left on the counter. Even the next day it seemed there were only 2 or 3 rooms taken in the entire hotel and we confirmed that there was no-one else on our entire floor. Why we couldn't have a room to at least look out at the water was beyond me.

The rooms with marble baths and high ceilings aspire to elegance, and look impressive on first sight, but they are not well maintained and Overpriced. I don't know what previous reviewer J W was talking about - we didn't see the things he mentions. There was little to do, and we were there for 2 nights with spa closed and no indoor pool. Even the hotel shop was closed. The outdoor pool was drained and empty. I sat in the outdoor hot tub briefly but it was lukewarm.There is no decent restaurant - just a sports bar with big blaring TV screens, & a pub menu. There were a few local guys watching TV sports, shouting at the screen and drinking. We tried to ignore them as we drank our bottle of overpriced wine and had our mediocre dinner, and went back to our room. Not the romantic getaway we had imagined!

The location is beautiful. And this place has such potential. It was obviously built to try to pull in the luxury market, but the owner(s) are just not making an effort.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the 4th floor that look out onto the parking lot.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We apologize for the housekeeping issues you mention, and our front desk manager has contacted you directly to offer you a refund. Your review was the topic of a recent staff meeting and changes will be implemented in many areas you described, with the exception of the indoor pool. We hope you will visit us again and witness a notable improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel room was perfect! From the kitchen, to the surround sound, to the in-room washer and dryer, and my kids favorite the DVD player the room was great! It was a bit off the beaten path but close enough to restaurants and shopping and you can't beat the views.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllaCole116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review of our Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue to work hard at pleasing our guests. Please visit us again in the near furure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My new husband and I wanted to take a few days after our wedding to relax and take it easy. This was the perfect place! The view was amazing, the room was beautiful and relaxing, and the whole experience was great!

Thank you so much for giving us a great honeymoon weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HToad, Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax. Congratulations on your wedding and we look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews