We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tastes great and worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawthorne Inn

Hawthorne Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Labadie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Godfrey, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tastes great and worth the wait!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We really enjoy coming here. The food and atmosphere are great. Although, I would definitely recommend reservations as the wait can be over an hour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    51
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lomira, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
296 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fried spinach-- who would have thought?”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The service was great, the food was excellent. They are right - fried spinach is truly grownups cotton candy. Wish we lived closer - this is my second visit as we live 500 miles away!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Casual”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I am always looking for excellent food and service in a "casual " setting...look no further the Hawthorne Inn provides both at a reasonable price. Wife and I had a Saturday afternoon lunch/dinner and were very pleased. Sarah was our server and she was great. Sarah made us feel very welcome and was most helpful with menu suggestions.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I recently attended a dog show at Purina Farms. Being from Georgia we didn't know where to get a good meal. Our friends from Kansas City recommended the Hawthorne Inn. What a great place, my ribeye steak was perfect, my wife's stuffed chicken was great. You must try the spinach dip appetizer. The service was excellent. Bring a big appetite as you will get a lot of excellent food. Rest assured if we are ever near the Hawthorne Inn we will eat there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Affen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Old Standby”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We make the "pilgrimage" several times a year to have lunch here. The food is always good and is reasonably priced, and the staff is warm and friendly. It is definitely a drive to get here, but that's part of the fun! Make a "day trip" and wind through the beautiful countryside--don't forget your GPS!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzan2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawthorne Inn also viewed

 

Been to Hawthorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing