We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointed”
Review of Depot Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Depot Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Plata
Certificate of Excellence
detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
Reviewed June 27, 2007

I have to say that the Inn was beautiful and clean, but the fact that our contract for 40 women who were attending a quilt retreat to feel comfortable leaving our machines, our supplies, our quilts (all worth several thousands of $$$ each) was not met. It was even mentioned by one of their employees that they had never had so many rooms filled at one time; thus proving that managements decision to rent the few remaining rooms was for greed only. I feel our privacy and safety, not necessarily personal, but property safety was in jeopardy. Plus, I feel that we were exploited without our permission by having the newspaper reporter and camera woman show up AND the Inn's address being put on the list for the "town garage sale" was in poor taste and really unethical. We had people going through the room that was designated for us to have a "swap room" and there were "guests" helping themselves to the foods that we had set up for us in the meeting room. The set up for sewing was a little crowded, but the fact that all of us gals from one coast to the other were together and we made sure we had a good time. It is just too bad that the gals that were heading up this retreat had to be put through so much with the managements stubborness.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank qltnbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    45
    11
    4
    15
See reviews for
216
70
25
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anabel, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

First I want to say that the Depot Inn is a beautiful facility. The rooms are comfortable and the appearance of the Inn is clean and definitely interesting.
I personally had a very unfortunate experience with the Depot Inn. I am one of 3 coordinators of an annual private quilt retreat for 40 women who come in from all over the United States. On July 20, 2006, when the Inn was a struggling new business I signed a “contract” with the manager (at that time) of the Inn to host our 4th annual retreat to be held June 13-17 2007. During this time our business was welcome and looked like a gold mine. Two weeks prior to our scheduled retreat the new manager of the Inn started emailing me questioning the occupancy expectations of our group. After a phone conversation discussing my original agreement with the Inn, which was to commit to a minimum of 20 rooms to secure the Inn exclusively for the retreat, the manager assured me that they would honor that agreement. Because this came up so close to the time of the retreat I asked for a meeting with the manager and the owner to avoid any surprises since I had 40 people, traveling to Missouri from coast to coast, depending on me for this event. The manager was quick to respond with assurance, the owner was too busy to be available. Two days before the first day of our gathering one of the other coordinators and I met with the manager and went over everything, including comparing what was given to me to sign the year before as a “contract.” At this point everything was set and agreed on. We met with housekeeping to help keep things simple for them, yet accommodating for the attendees. We made things easier for them as far as moving furniture out to convert the lobby to meet our needs.
On the first day, as the retreat members started gathering, we also noticed people we didn’t know checking in. We asked for a meeting with the owner, who showed up immediately. He was opening up the Inn to the public regardless of what my agreement was with the previous manager or current manager. He was giving public access to a room set up with over $60,000 of machines, supplies & materials that we had been assured would be private. He was opening up to the public access to thousands of dollars worth of quilts that would be on display. When I mentioned the contract, he refused to acknowledge it as a contract and held it up in my face and in so many words called me a liar and refused to allow me to call in the previous manager. We lost our privacy and security as was assured to us.
Needless to say, with the public wandering through our retreat we had 4 days of stress and anxiousness as a group. Someone even invited the newspaper in to take pictures with out the consent of the women. And someone did a public invitation between 2 & 4 pm on the 3rd day to come through and see what we were doing, without the consent of the women. We have pictures of people wandering throughout our retreat at all times of the day and night.
With the exception of Harold and Sally, who were the only positive and pleasant part of making us feel comfortable and welcome, the rest of the staff was cold and wouldn’t have anything to do with us. On two occasions staff members were caught making fun of us and mocking us.
On the day of checkout not one person said goodbye to us. Not one person thanked us for the $7500 that the retreat paid to be there. Even though the manager was there helping with housekeeping, she avoided us as completely as possible.
After reading all the great reviews for the Inn, it’s obvious that they’re much more accommodating to travelers and construction workers and prospective financial investors.
It’s unfortunate that the owner and the manager sacrificed their integrity for deceit and profit.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — Owner/Manager Deception
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank QuiltRetreat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

The rooms are comfortable, decorated well, and quiet. We loved the pool (almost as much as the kids), and if it would have been nicer weather, we would have taken advantage of the outdoor grilling area, the toys and bikes, etc. What a great idea - it's a destination in the middle of rural Missouri. Very friendly staff, too.

  • Liked — The great theme and the pool
  • Disliked — Wish they had a restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsmeamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceema D, Owner at Depot Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2016
Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your stay. We hope you will be visiting our area again soon and look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Plata
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Kirksville
Days Inn Kirksville
#1 of 6 in Kirksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kirksville
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Kirksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Knights Inn Kirksville
Knights Inn Kirksville
#2 of 6 in Kirksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
19.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Macon
Comfort Inn Macon
#1 of 4 in Macon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
19.5 mi away
Travelier Motel
Travelier Motel
#2 of 4 in Macon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Depot Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depot Inn & Suites

Property: Depot Inn & Suites
Address: 1245 N Brown St, La Plata, MO 63549-1466
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > La Plata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Depot Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Depot Inn & Suites is themed after an 1800's railroad depot and is decorated with many historic railroad artifacts making the hotel a small railroad museum in and of itself. Mid West's Finest, Unique and Upscale Lodging Experience! 26 Standard Rooms, 4 Themed Luxury Suites. Guests can start their mornings out with complimentary continental breakfasts and enjoy complimentary coffee and tea around the clock. Indoor pool, patio with grills, business center, meeting room, in-house laundry, playground, professional putting green, bicycles and Golf Cart for guest use. All rooms include refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, iron/board, cable TV. Themed Suites have hot tubs. Heavily decorated with antiques and railroad memorabilia. Train-watching facility within walking distance. Free Shuttle service to Amtrak depot and Kirksville Regional Airport. Free Tesla Charging station onsite. Nearby 18 hole golf course. Bus tours of Amish country, Walt Disney's Hometown -- Marceline, Missouri, Mark Twain's Hometown, Hannibal, Missouri. Independently owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Depot Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Depot Hotel La Plata
Depot Hotel Llc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing