We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty creative pizza”
Review of Dewey's Pizza

Dewey's Pizza
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Kirkwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty creative pizza”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Food was great. Went for lunch with a friend on a weekday. The restaurant was kind of crowded and noisy.

Helpful?
Thank kathig5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    59
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients make great pizzas”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

All fresh ingredients, Amish chicken, no MSG in the sauce--this means terrific pizza, and don't forget the calzones (huge stuffed pizzas)! There are enough toppings to please my pepperoni only son, my meat-lover hubby, my try-anything son, and me with dietary restrictions like no additives and no MSG. Consistently great, and if they are busy a carry out is ready quick and will stay hot on the way home! Definitely the place to take visitors who complain about provel cheese or lack of real pizza in st louis.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great pizza and atmosphere - - - Had some very interesting and unique pizza styles but it was excellent. We will be back again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuzieM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great Pizza - make sure you allow enough time on a Friday or Saturday night - as they always have a wait.

Helpful?
Thank STL-Mike-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Crazy good pizza and salads”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is easily my favorite place in the world to get pizza. I actually spend more time at the Chesterfield location, but they are owned by the same group and the staff floats between both.

The best part about Dewey's is the simplicity. Pizza, salads, beer wine and soda. They have seasonal varieties of pizza and salads as well as a great selection of craft brews ranging from Stone, Boulevard, Schlafly, Great divide and more. As a craft beer lover, there is always something good on tap.

The pizza is a little on the pricey side, but really satisfies. They have the standards like sausage, peperoni, cheese and other favorites. Their sausage is sliced italian which makes it pretty easy to eat and provides good coverage. For me, the best pies are their specialty pizzas. The Edgar Allan Poe, Socrates Revenge, Green Lantern and a few other clever names. They have unique ingredients like two kinds of olives, artichokes, roasted peppers and a choice of white (olive oil/garlic) or red sauce. The Socrates Revenge is my favorite and it is so good you forget it is vegetarian.

Salads come with some nice varieties as well. The house is a mixed green with house roasted pine nuts, cranberries and goat cheese with the best balsamic vinagrette I have ever had. My wife likes the classic ranch and my brother in law waits every year for the Harvest Salad that comes around in the fall.

Another nice thing is that the wait staff is very well trained. You may place an order with one server, have your food delivered by another, have your drinks refilled by someone else and even pay your bill with anyone who is free. It seems like they take it upon themselves to make sure you are taken care of and there is no need to wait for your server to come around. I would imagine this helps turn the tables quickly on busy nights, but it doesn't feel like that is the goal.

No way to go wrong here. Plan to wait if you get there around dinner time. Wait times can be long but the kids love it because they have a glassed in kitchen that allows the guests to see the pizza being tossed. Order a craft beer from the bar and enjoy the show.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dewey's Pizza also viewed

 
Kirkwood, Saint Louis
 

Been to Dewey's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing