We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Steak I've Ever Had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citizen Kane's Steak House

Citizen Kane's Steak House
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Kirkwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Steak I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've traveled all over the world, and I've eaten in some of the US Steak Capitols, including Dallas, KC, NYC....none of them come close to Citizen Kane's. The food is always outstanding. The service is always impeccable. The prices are reasonable, side items are included with the entrees, and there's even complimentary valet parking.

Bottom line - Citizen Kane's is our go-to steakhouse when we're in the mood for a nice evening out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisK6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    31
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal waiter and food for that matter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

It was a romantic evening for my husband and I, he chose the demonico and I had the salmon. The service was out of this world! Delicious meal and dessert, will go back soon

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mizzoumeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Alway's the best steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I can count on a great steak at Citizen Kane's. I am alway's comparing when I have a steak at another restaurant and I am usually disappointed. However, the atmosphere is so" out dated" you wonder why they do not put a little of their profit's back into their restaurant. I feel like I have to explain it to the friends we take there if it is there first time so they know not to expect much in the look and only praise their food. Just a linen table clothe would do instead of the vinyl ones.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Steak Yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am originally from Texas, so I'm pretty well-versed in the steak department. I can honestly say that this is the best steak I have had to date! Perfectly cooked and the garlic mashed potatoes are wonderful as well. Order the filet...you will not be disappointed. Free valet and the service is great!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stlhtx22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE place for steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I went to Citizen Kane for a belated anniversary dinner. I got the ribeye and it was simply to die for. If I had to put it into words, it would be grilled butter! It was a large steak and I had enough leftovers for two lunches. The price for the quality is very reasonable. The side of mushrooms was absolutely outstanding. We brought a special bottle of wine from home and the bar staff was very kind to decant and serve for us at reasonable corkage fee. I truly enjoyed the ambience and service was great as well. The only disappointment was the carrot cake. It was by no means bad, but just a style we enjoyed. It was denser that we care for. We will absolutely return for an outstanding steak dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysresearching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citizen Kane's Steak House also viewed

Kirkwood, Saint Louis
Des Peres, Saint Louis
 

Been to Citizen Kane's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing