We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, so fun!”

Citizen Kane's Steak House
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Kirkwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, so fun!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We loved our dinner trip to Citizen Kane. It's not cheap but well worth it! A great place for a birthday or date night. It is an old home with a great atmosphere, in a great location. They are very well known for their stakes which is what we had. Very happy!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieMocJanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    39
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best in St. Louis!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I have been to every steakhouse in St. Louis and though there are many great options C K is the best. My wife and eat here fairly regularly and recommend it to all of our out of town guests. We are constantly thanked for the direction. Great, Great!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajsevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This restuarant is in a cute old house in an historic area. The service is great. They are known for their steaks but their pork chop is amazing!

Dont pass up dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolekampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is where you go to get a steak in St Louis”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have eaten here many times and continually does not disappoint. Very charming setting in a Victorian house in Kirkwood, reminiscent of Gibson's in Chicago with the upstairs/downstairs in somebody's home feel. Tender and perfectly seasoned steaks. Unlike many other steak restaurants that are a la carte to maximize profit the entrees include a salad and a side. If you are looking for a place to get a steak in St Louis, look no further. Call well ahead though to get a table.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobK898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I think that the food is good, but the waiter was not knowledgeable. I asked for the creamed spinach and asked if it had any meat in it. After starting to eat I felt that I can taste a smokey taste. I called the waiter again and after. Few minutes the chef came from the kitchen and said that it had a ham base.
I almost threw up since I never had ham and two of our friends who also tasted it, keep kosher and were very upset!
There was no apology from the establishment! We paid for that spinach!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pinsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citizen Kane's Steak House also viewed

 
Des Peres, Saint Louis
 

Been to Citizen Kane's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing