We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Kirkwood
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

very peaceful atmosphere. went with a friend, but probably will not go on my own next time. if a group goes, i will go again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    29
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
185 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A Frank Lloyd Wright gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This FLW Usonian home is not to miss if you are a fan of architecture and design. You need to call ahead to arrange for tours Wednesday through Sunday. http://www.ebsworthpark.org/tours.html. The tours are limited to 10 so they are intimate and relaxed with knowledgable tour guide. There is only port-o-let for restroom facilities.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I Always wanted to visit rare gem of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The guides where excellent. Very amazing home. I loved the design but for me it would be hard to live in this place personally. Very zen like with many points in the design. I would call them poison arrows but some how it all works with balance. I loved the persimmon trees all around the home. I gather some for my recipe. I am sure it is high maintenance for the fruit drops on the patio and sky light window on the roof. It is part of the whole of the design. I have wanted to go to this place for ten years and my expectation became high and I was not disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One Of The Best Examples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The striking thing, to me, was that the folks who had this built originally kept everything (including the furniture) as is. They seemed to have the thought this would be passed on to future generations. They lived here, but kept it as kind of a museum. The tour is nice and gives good background on the problems encountered in building it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank SanLouisKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close Quarters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Tours limited to 10 at a time. Great tour guide who knew lots about FLW and his homes. House is small, in great shape thanks to local preservationists. Very small gift area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Snapsgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park also viewed

 

Been to Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing