We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Fresh Fresh”
Review of Amigos Cantina

Amigos Cantina
Ranked #18 of 61 Restaurants in Kirkwood
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh Fresh Fresh”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you like your Mexican food fresh, this is the place to come. The salsa is delicious and very fresh, thus the name of my review. The soft chicken tacos are to die for too. Most everything I've had or my friends' have had were enjoyed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana63025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    43
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kirkwood has better - actually anything would be better”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was really hoping the food would be good since most of the lower star reviews were based upon service not the food. I should have known better.

Yes, the service was slow and the salsa that came with the chips was almost like colored/flavored water. I should have gotten up and left then but I was still hopeful the food would be better. Silly me.

The beef enchiladas reminded me of the shredded beef you get in the tubs at the grocery store. The beans had a dull finish like they had been made days before, and the red sauce looked more like a fondant on the surface than a sauce. Not good.

The poblano chile relleno has a cheese sauce that had the consistency of dairy that had expired and was starting to form curds in it. Disgusting.

The only thing that was decent was the guac. It's a shame we didn't come for just drinks and guac as we probably would have provided and entirely different review. It wasn't as good as any tableside prepared guac, but it was better than we've had at some other places.

There are plenty of places in town to get Mexican food and sadly I would have preferred almost any of them including El Maguey which should tell you more than you want to know.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikeston, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Long wait on a friday night.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived about 7:30, 40 minute wait turned into an hour. Food was good. Margaritas very good. Everyone in place seemed to be having a great time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
“Great food, great-er margaritas!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wonderful and homey authentic Mexican food done very well! Best margs anywhere! Outdoor dining in season. Great lunch spot, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun place for TGIF”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Very popular (especially on Friday evenings) Mexican restaurant with signature margaritas, great chef specials, fair prices and friendly service. Kids love it too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyClacton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Cantina also viewed

Kirkwood, Saint Louis
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Amigos Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing