We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opportunity for Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kirksville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kirksville
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had made a reservation several months in advance. For some reason, we were given the handicapped-accessible room. The shower in that room needs a lot of work. There were mildew stains along the seam where the floor meets the wall. The shower head was at the end of a flexible hose and one of the connections wasn't right, so water was coming both out of the shower head and out of another part of the hose. The shower didn't drain properly, and the trim which separated the shower floor from the bathroom floor included what looked like a piece of untreated wood quarter round, which looked like what you would expect a piece of wood to look like if it is constantly wet. I mentioned the problems to the desk clerk as we were checking out and she was apologetic and told me that it would be addressed. If you happen to get that room, I would check the shower before settling in.

At breakfast, they seemed to have problems keeping the food out. In the half an hour that we were in the breakfast area, we saw a lot of guests standing around and waiting for the next trays of food to come out.

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and will continue to do so. This weekend presented an opportunity for improvement.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Indymack,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the quality of your room accommodation and breakfast service. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 127 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I spent three nights in this motel in September of 2013 and I was pleasantly surprised. This is a very nice motel with the best complimentary breakfast I have experienced (except for horrible orange juice). The building is well insulated and quiet, the beds are comfortable, the modern TV works, the shower is wonderful, and the staff pleasant.

Minor complaints are limited to the poor orange juice, pillows that start out huge but collapse to nothing, a TINY elevator, and a crowded bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TennesseeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here over the July 4th holiday. We normally stay at one of the other hotels in town when we visit but thought we would go for the one with the pool this time. What a disappointment. Both afternoons I went to the pool there were no clean towels but there were plenty of used towels all over the pool deck. Our room (with 4 checked in guests) never had more than 3 towels in the bath. The front desk staff was as bad as the pool area.
On the plus side when I got home I called Corporate customer service and talked to a person that really cared about quality (or the lack there of) of my stay and went above and beyond to set things right.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Skipro27,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your experience with us.

I humbly apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered in our pool area and we are truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with the towels. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Kirksville was certainly adequate and in some ways more than sufficient. The accomodations were fine, cable TV had an odd set-up of music channels sprinkled throughout, but the room was fine. Great shower, very poor pillows. Breakfast was certainly fine but nothing special. Given the realitive lack of options in Kirksville, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We once lived in Kirksville and recently returned to see family. Kirksville is a small college town with chain hotels as the option. This one was pretty good. We were greeted by a friendly desk clerk who was in training. The manager helped her get us checked in and offered us a friendly greeting as well. Our room had a comfortable king-sized bed, microwave, and mini refrigerator which we used. Also the wireless internet was included in the price of the room. In this day and age, I hate paying extra for it as happens in some hotels. As hotel rooms go in a small town this was pretty good. We took advantage of the complimentary breakfast both mornings we were there. One thing I would hope management would address, we were there two nights. The morning after the first night, we left the hotel around 7:30 a.m. and returned around 2:30 p.m. The room had not been cleaned and we had work to do. So we put the do not disturb hanger on the door. It would seem the rooms of guests staying over would be cleaned first.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

About three months in advance, I reserved two rooms at this hotel. When we arrived to check in (about two in the afternoon), the manager told us we would not staying there. He said he had given our rooms to a group that had come through and that he would be happy to pay for our stay at a neighboring hotel. Sounds okay, right? The truth is that the offered hotel is in such poor condition that I simply would not take my family to it. The hotel is moldy, old and not very clean. Add to that, my grandchildren were counting on a swimming pool and of course, the offered hotel did not have one. The manager was rude and not helpful in finding an acceptable substitute. In spite of frequent visits to Kirksville, I will never again reserve a room in this hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Sturgeon145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Sturgeon145,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am truly sorry that we left you with a less than memorable guest stay experience because of some issues with your reservation. Please accept out sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you.

As a valued guest, rest assured that your comments will be looked into to make sure that same scenario will be avoided in the future. We hope you give us the chance to redeem your faith in us when you travel again to Kirksville.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is a favorite of ours. Friendly staff, clean property, comfortable beds and a great breakfast. The indoor pool is a great feature with the snow and cold weather. The Wi-Fi is always secure and is quick and easy to use.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0ToleranceSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirksville
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Kirksville
Days Inn Kirksville
#1 of 8 in Kirksville
537 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Kirksville
92 reviews
10.4 mi away
Depot Inn & Suites
Depot Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in La Plata
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Kirksville
Knights Inn Kirksville
#2 of 8 in Kirksville
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Kirksville
Super 8 Kirksville
#5 of 8 in Kirksville
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kirksville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kirksville

Address: 2702 S Franklin St, Kirksville, MO 63501-6507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kirksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kirksville
Price Range: $109 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kirksville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Kirksville, MO welcomes you. We are a newly renovated hotel in Kirksville Missouri completed in the fall of 2007. We are a three floor, 63 room hotel with an indoor pool, fitness room and a business center. Our hotel features newly renovated Jacuzzi rooms. Our hotel features include complimentary Express Start breakfast, free local phone calls, and wireless Internet. We are also conveniently located .5 mi. from Truman State University and 1 mile from A.T. Still University. Our hotel is also located 5 miles from Thousand Hills State Park and Marina. We are also located 5 miles from the Kirksville Regional Airport. We do not currently offer shuttle service but there are taxi services in the area. We also have an Enterprise Rent A Car located just diagonally across from the hotel. Come Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, Missouri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kirksville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kirksville Hotel Kirksville
Holiday Inn Kirksville
Kirksville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing