We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kirksville
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kirksville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice little place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We recently stayed in Kirksville awaiting the arrival of a new niece and decided to stay at the HIE. The location of the hotel was very convenient, although the parking lot is very small and hard to navigate with anything larger than a compact car :)

The lady who checked us in was pleasant enough, offering us a bottle of water and granola bar on arrival. We stayed in room 104 on the main floor. The room was nice with new furniture and clean bedclothes. I was disappointed in the bathroom which had no counter space at all, but this was because the room was handicap accessible and was the last room available. So, we made due with the small table and mirror in the room.

My son swam for a little while in the pool...not a large pool by any means, but clean and looked well maintained. When we got back to the hotel late and headed to bed, the room was very quiet and dark. The blackout shades were very nice and didn't let a peek of sunshine in the room in the morning.

Breakfast was nice with yummy hot cinnamon rolls, eggs, biscuits and gravy, and a make your own pancake station, among other things. It was a very good breakfast and the area was very clean.

The hotel offers a quick checkout and dropped the bill under my door in the morning.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and if we ever need a hotel in Kirksville again, we would stay there.

Room Tip: My only advice would be to avoid the accessible rooms if possible due to the lack of counter space i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1liltoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
48
8
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Physical hotel was great but front desk staff was horrible. You would think front desk staff would be personable, not here. First impression is everything and this hotel has two very rude employees representing them. I couldn't believe the disrespect and lack of interest, it seemed that they were angry when talking to people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeLeigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear KeLeigh J,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We are you pleased you liked your room accommodations as well as our hotel location. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. I will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirksville hotels

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Kirksville is not exactly challenging Las Vegas for hotel room quantity and quality. As has been said, there are not a huge number of options. A friend of mine booked a small block of rooms at the HIE for the weekend of a reunion. The place is fine.

First, understand something. I don't think there is a 5-rated room in Kirksville, and any rating is relative to the location. The HIE is fairly new, clean, the stuff in the rooms works and the breakfast is consistent with what one would expect at a similar hotel. As Shoe1 said, it is reliable.

Look, I'm not planning another trip to Kirksville just so I can stay at the HIE, but the next time I am in Kirksville, I will very likely stay at here. It's a good value, exceeded my expectations and is not likely to disappoint, unless you are expecting a $250/night room and experience at this price point.

It is what it is and it seems pretty good at it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

There are few places to stay in Kirksville and the Holiday Inn Express stands out as the only quality hotel. Clean and bright, queen beds, ample breakfast space. Get an even number room on the top (3rd floor) to face south and enjoy the natural light. A safe reliable hotel choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITZVILLE
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We go to Kirksville often as we have family there. Their are several hotels in town, but this is the newest one and very busy since Kirksville has Truman State University in town. The front desk is quite hospitable and helpful, breakfast, beds and bedding are the usual things expected from the HIE

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stook65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nice hotel near Truman State. The front desk was abrupt, efficient, not really friendly. The room was very clean. Breakfast was good. No fruits or veggies and the hard boiled eggs were frozen. Nice deck and field for the kids to run. Pool was fine. Employees in the morning were helpful. Overall , great for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jg2rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Some travellers get quite snooty over economy hotel chains. Travellers pay modest sums and expect 5 star facilities. However, Holiday Inn Express provide excellent value for money: the rooms are adequate, facilities more than reasonable, and free breakfast, sufficient. Don't expect the Ritz but you get good staff, well cleaned rooms, free wifi and tea/coffee facilities at very good value.
Well done Holiday Inn for a valued product, excellent staff and modest charges. Seven of us, mianly British, stayed at this establishment for nearly a week, all extolled it's virtues.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnOB-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirksville
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Kirksville
Days Inn Kirksville
#1 of 6 in Kirksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 6 in Kirksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
10.4 mi away
Depot Inn & Suites
Depot Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in La Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Kirksville
Knights Inn Kirksville
#2 of 6 in Kirksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Kirksville
Super 8 Kirksville
#5 of 6 in Kirksville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kirksville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kirksville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kirksville
Address: 2702 S Franklin St, Kirksville, MO 63501-6507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kirksville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kirksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kirksville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Kirksville, MO welcomes you. We are a newly renovated hotel in Kirksville Missouri completed in the fall of 2007. We are a three floor, 63 room hotel with an indoor pool, fitness room and a business center. Our hotel features newly renovated Jacuzzi rooms. Our hotel features include complimentary Express Start breakfast, free local phone calls, and wireless Internet. We are also conveniently located .5 mi. from Truman State University and 1 mile from A.T. Still University. Our hotel is also located 5 miles from Thousand Hills State Park and Marina. We are also located 5 miles from the Kirksville Regional Airport. We do not currently offer shuttle service but there are taxi services in the area. We also have an Enterprise Rent A Car located just diagonally across from the hotel. Come Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Kirksville, Missouri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kirksville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kirksville Hotel Kirksville
Holiday Inn Kirksville
Kirksville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing