We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome - pristine nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thousand Hills State Park

Thousand Hills State Park
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Kirksville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The cool waters of Forest Lake provide the centerpiece for Thousand Hills State Park, whose woody shores and broad savannas recall a time when northern Missouri was far less developed. The lake offers fishing, swimming and boating. The park offers hiking, mountain biking, and abundant opportunities to see wildlife. An interpretive shelter helps visitors understand the petroglyphs left behind by the area’s inhabitants more than 1,500 years ago. The park also offers campsites and cabins for overnight stays.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome - pristine nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Unlike many parks - which are developed as tourist attractions, thousand hills is clean, user friendly and still pristine. The wooded areas are largely untouched. Even the trails are minimally marked, keeping nature to stand on her own. It's a beautiful place and a treasure.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PSS4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirksville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love the park.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

The wonderful early warm weather has been great for the Park this spring. We put our pontoon boat in the water even before the marina opened. Spent a great day on the lake, redbuds were beautiful, fish were biting. It's just a short distance from town, so it makes going out something we can do after we leave the office and before the sun sets. You can rent boats if you don't have one.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RITZVILLE
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Take time to check out the park, it is beautiful, a good place for kids, and a fun place to spend a day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank stook65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eat, walk and boat if you can afford it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Be sure to have dinner at the lodge with a view of the lake. Nothing fancy, really, but I've never had a bad meal there. The hieroglyphics are also worth the visit. Seems that the boat rentals are very expensive, though, too much for my pockebook!

Helpful?
1 Thank jojofrance2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, big, serene place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

It was okay, we were there in the off-season, but it was unseasonably warm. I thought it was large, spacious, and quite pretty regardless.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thousand Hills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Thousand Hills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing