We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Massinga Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Michelle and I spent 5 nights in Massinga beach and what an amazing 5 nights we had! Everything was top class. We loved the pristine beach which stretched for miles, there were a lot of activities as well. There were kites, a kyak, snorkel gear and boogie boards down at the beach bar for guests to use. We made use of a lot of the gear, the waves are really strong and we had a lot of fun swimming in the ocean and strolling down the beach.

The lodge is massive with a sun deck and a private splash pool. I definitely loved the open rain shower! The staff were amazing and super friendly. The area is beautiful and the views are stunning! I only wish we stayed for longer as the other places we stayed at paled in comparison to Massinga Beach!

We will definitely see you guys again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to highlight the activities, great swimming and amazing coastline at Massinga Beach - not your typical Mozambique lodge but quite unique.

Our best wished to you both from all at the Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 159 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife & I stayed at Massinga 4 nights in November after a long drive from Cape Town as part of our trip to explore Mozambique. Having done some 'one nighters' on the way up we decided to splash out on a bit of R & R at Massinga.
We were welcomed by Paul & Mel who made our stay exceptional - nothing was too much trouble. Our thanks to both of you.
The accommodation is superb, a large bedroom & bathroom look out through glass walls/patio doors onto a deck equipped with sun loungers, dining set & a private plunge pool - all overlooking the beach & Indian Ocean.
The food was excellent as were the staff who were always polite & eager to please.
Massinga was the best beach we visited in Moz - miles of unspoilt sand, dunes & a warm sea with only a few local fishermen to be seen.
Not the cheapest but by far the best we stayed in & what a place for honeymooners!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

We are so pleased you took some time out with us and that you appreciated our incredibly beautiful beach and enjoyed the food. Good to hear that you are back safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We ad our Honeymoon at the lodge 8-15 October. I dont think we could have chosen a better place. It was truly amazing and realxing. We enjoyed the food although when we were there they served alot of steak and we got bored of it but still it was very tasty. The rooms are pure luxury! And darling Bonji entertained us all week long,we really enjoyed his company. The only problem was when we were there the whale watching and fishing trips were not running as the guy had broken a leg or something. Snorkling wasnt too much fun as it was to deep in and the waves pulled us in even deeper. I would recommend some more activities especially when the power is off. But apart from that we LOVED everything. We will be seeing you again next year :)))

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

We appreciate your compliments and really regret that you were unable to enjoy the activities that are normally offered - please remind us of this when you come back next year and we will do our best to make it up to you. Best Wishes for the holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiance and I just spent a wonderful 5 days at Massinga Beach Lodge. Everything is as amazing as we expected based on other reviews and pictures. Mel and Paul go out their way to make you feel at home and of course Bongi and Wolf (the dogs) are adorable.
The view is to die for, unrestricted views of kilometers of untouched beach, the excellently prepared gourmet meals and luxurious accommodation all make it a dream holiday.
The only downside for us personally was that the last 2-3 days it rained. I was told that it was the first rain of the year so they definitely needed it more than we needed a bit more sun.

Room Tip: Try to pick one of the Ocean Front Deluxe rooms as they have an unrestricted view. Also try to get r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidManley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay despite the weather being uncooperative.

We are always grateful for the first rains and these are early. We will close the Lodge for the month of February 2013, our main rainy season, so that guests are not disappointed at the time when sunny beach holidays are not ideal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My fiance and I (we got engaged there) spent a week in Massinga towards the end of September, and we had a really amazing time. Beautiful place and we'd definitely recommend it.

Mozambique itself is stunning, and the views from the flight along the coast are great. Inhambane airport is uniquely local and a little intimidating if you don't know what you're doing but we were met there and transferred to the Lodge with no issues at all. The boat journey to the mainland was unexpected but enjoyable, and the transfer to the lodge itself was very comfortable with cold drinks etc. provided.

We were met upon arrival by Mel who was professional and friendly for the duration of our stay, as was her husband Paul along with the rest of the staff.

Our delux beachfront room was not a room at all, but a self contained chalet which was really stunning, especially the bathroom section! The views were also amazing.

The food was generally excellent, though we had one or two meals that were a wee bit disappointing. The beach picnic was great, as was our in-room dinner on our last night.

Overall, we had such a lovely time there and we'd go back tomorrow if we could!

Massinga is a fabulous place and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiamhNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Congratulations on your engagment - we are honoured! We would love to spoil you for your honeymoon???

We regret that you had less than fabulous meals but thank you for pointing this out. We really do aim to offer an excellent foodie experience complimented by our glorious setting!

We invite you back for some "fun in the sun" soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was on a very stressfull long term project in Mozambique.

A good friend suggested I drive up from Maputo to meet her at the Lodge.

All I can suggest is that you have to see it to believe it.

The waves crashing down below your own private villas kitted out with plunge pools and panoramic views.

The Bathrooms are also tremendous and the whole experience is bonded together by the friendliness and courtesy of the owner and his staff.

Room Tip: Any room at all would suffice someone who needs to relax with a loved one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip_L_Meehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your great review. Please tell everyone in Maputo as the 'locals' have not discovered Massinga Beach yet. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

With whales frolicking in the water directly in front of the lodge, the awesome sea-view from my bed and an amazing Massage therapist called Agnes, this lodge is a definite "must do" on your bucket list!
It felt like an island destination, with endless beach views, privacy and luxury to match... really a perfect honeymoon spot.

Monique Kirby
Cape Town

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeTownMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing Massinga Beach for your honeymooon! Stunning that you saw the whales - please share an image on our Facebook page so we can show they really do swim this far North!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massinga
13.9 mi away
Travessia Beach Lodge
Travessia Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrumbene
47 reviews
8.1 mi away
Morrungulo Beach Lodge
Morrungulo Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Massinga
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Varanda
Varanda
#5 of 10 in Vilanculos
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massinga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massinga Beach Lodge

Address: Beach Rd, Massinga, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Massinga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Massinga
Price Range: $294 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Massinga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of Inhambane, the new Massinga Beach sits high, far from the madding crowd, overlooking kilometres of isolated, pristine beach; an exquisite and romantic place to relax. Facilities include restaurant, beach bar, swimming pool, games room, massage therapy and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Massinga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massinga Beach Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing