We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect desert island getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Massinga Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My Wife and I went to Masinga Beach Lodge for our second aniversary in May. The location of the hotel is about 2 ours from the inhambane airport. We re picked up by a shuttle and taken to the resort. I was a bit shocked at the distance traveled, as this was not really communicated to us by the travel agent. Off the main road we were picked up by Ian the manager, and went along the road they have made for the hotel. On arrival, you know instantly that you are in paradise. It is completely isolated from anything else. I have to say that from this point onward we had an incredible weekend, and unfortunatelly the weather did not play its part...

I can certainly recomend the walks on the beach, we only managed to walk in one direction up the beach because of tides and weather, but this took up most of the morning and it was pretty much us on our own!

1) Location - Amazing, it is one of those gem's you need to see at least once
Accommodation - Out of this world, really comfortable and the beds are amazing. Emperor beds!!!
2) Activities - This is a personal thing, and we were on our aniversary so did not do much anyway. I would imagine once they have the dive centre open it will be pretty cool. Based on what the locals pulled out of the sea, the fishing must be really good.
3) Food - This is a tough one. We ate all meals and enjoyed them, but I was a bit disappointed here. I know it’s hard to cater for all tastes, but I felt it was missing a little fair, and was a tiny bit too homely for me.
- Breakfasts were perfect
- Lunch – I enjoyed the salads the most, really tasty and an awesome light coastal meal. The burgers etc, very tasty but not my favourite
- Dinner – definitely would have preferred much more seafood in general, and as mentioned above good value but, a bit too plain for my liking.

All in all a fantastic week end!!! We would love to return again!

Alex

Room Tip: All rooms are perfectly positioned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolderSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassingaMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Thank you for your detailed review of Massinga Beach. We note your comment about the transfer distance and are taking steps to ensure that this is highlighted when quoting. We are also adding fun to the transfer with a dhow trip and lunch to break the monotony, thus giving an insider's view of typical Mozambique culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

My now wife and I went to Massinga for our honeymoon. We are both fairly well travelled and were looking for something exclusive and private. I was sceptical at first because there was not that much info on the web about the place and I was told that it was fairly new.

Boy oh boy were we in for a surprise.

If you’re into big public swimming pools, hundreds of kids activities, Bingo nights and mass produced buffet's for diner - DON'T go to Massinga! If you’re into Patong beach, Cape Town in summer, karaoke evenings or Disney Land - DON'T go to Massinga beach! You will only ruin it for the rest of us. Go to Club Med where you belong.

If you're into beauty, nature, good food, relaxation, comfort, romance, privacy and the utmost in luxury, do yourself a favour and start saving. Massinga beach is the ultimate in relaxation and complete and utter beauty. It is rare that I can’t find any criticism but here, I’m stumped!

Ian and his team will look after your every need! You wake up every morning with nothing but beautiful miles of beach to stare at, nothing to do but eat, drink, sleep, relax, take long walks, indulge in romance and have what holidays are all about - relaxation! (Everyone that love’s Club Med and cruise liners may be thinking – how boring)

We had an amazing time and so will you! ENJOY!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mauricevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassingaMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Thank you for your review which has so effectively summed up exactly what Massinga Beach is.
Definitely not for those looking for bright lights, hustle & bustle but if you want to be pampered and relax in an idyllic and pristine paradise - then that is Us! We are so pleased that you chose to spend your honeymoon at Massinga Beach and that you departed with good memories. We look forward to seeing you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The meaning of lodge takes up many different definitions in Mozambique; however this lodge is immaculate! You are sure to receive the best hospitality from booking to your departure. It is a place where Mozambique’s true beauty is captured from every aspect and where you enjoy the privacy of home. I have never experienced the night sky as beautiful in any part of Mozambique and if you are an avid astronomer this is the place to be!

Room Tip: Each Villa will ensure spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassingaMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Thank you for your response and mentioning Massinga Beach's uniqueness. A very applealing Mozambique experience particulary by virtue of the remote privacy and outstanding views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

2.5 hours from Inhambane you find this piece of paradise!

There are no words that can fully describe this magnificent lodge! The units are much bigger than one would expect, beautifully decorated!!! My best was having a bath overlooking the ocean at sunrise!!

Ian and his team really make you feel at home and so comfortable. The chef cooks up the most delicious meals, every time a treat for the taste buds.

Go and see Massinga Beach Lodge for yourself!! Well worth it.

Karin & Rodd Berriman

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karin_degenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassingaMarketing, General Manager at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Karin & Rodd - my team and I really enjoyed hosting you, thank you for the compliments,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

An incredible find, after so much of the same thing throughout Mozambique
finally here is a lodge offering spacious air-conditioned suites where there attention to detail is obvious, a unique setting on the dune providing intense views and a beautiful breeze which I find far preferable to the aircon. The food is so good it's almost out of context in this relaxed remoteness and all at a price that I could relate to, unlike those charged at some other barefoot luxury offerings I have visited.

If you are looking for remote luxury in Mozambique and your want to reap the benefits of a new operator making a name for themselves, you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: The front row is what romance is all about
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevordol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MassingaMarketing, Marketing representative at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Just a big thank you from us for enjoying Massinga Beach so much - we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Let's commence with distance, not out of reach, fly LAM from Oliver Tambo to Inhambane ( 2-3 hours depending) and the organised shuttle gets you to the lodge quite comfortably. As you arrive, Ian Mills expertly sees to welcoming you and showing you around and before you know it, your luggage is taken to your chalet! Our chalet, no 15, was amazing, tastefully furnished, a massive comfortable bed and wherever you are literally- bedroom, bathroom area (shower or tub), even toilet- you have that azure ocean view. Refreshing personal splash pool, mosquitoe nets, well stocked bar fridge, aircon all good. Cuisine (3 meals) and service- room, restaurant or down at the beach all superb. Walking/running/diving/relaxing its all there and without the annoying overcrowding so prevalent at the usual run of the mill resorts the "sheep" all flock to! Complete safety, expansive unspoilt beaches and ocean warm as toast, even (once) in the rain (February). TV in games room (yes, scrabble et al) and in excellent cocktail bar-you actually find you dont miss or crave the absence of TV in the chalet/room!
With low season, generators do get switched off, however, in the least inconveniencing times. Selection of food/menu and drinks is certainly more than adequate and a plan is made by Ian on request and obligingly followed through by attentive staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoot51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing & Reservations at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are very pleased that the transfer from Inhambane was comfortable - it really is through some amasingly stunning scenery. Whilst we have ensure that every detail has been attended to in the identical Ocean Front Rooms, we note you commented on the service and the food - of that we are very proud! We are providing some rechargeable lamps, particularly for reading, after the generator is switched off at night. Thank fully the sea breeze keeps rooms comfortably cool and mosquitos away. Ian looks forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My Wife and I have been regular travellers to some of the up market resorts in Mozambique. On planning our honeymoon we were looking for something a little more private but special. Our travel agent suggested Massinga Beach. We were flown in by helicopter which was in itself an unforgettable experience. The view at Massinga Beach is slightly elevated and to quote another guest ” this view could only be described as intense”. Each Casa or Unit has its own private pool situated on the sun deck overlooking the beach which appears to go on forever. The Casa’s are extremely well finished with an unprecedented attention to detail. On walking into the Casa you are confronted with an emperor size bed with sliding doors opening onto the sundeck. Management have thought of everything, one example is the air-conditioner has been mounted above the bed inside the mosquito net. Compared to other resorts this really is a jewel in Mozambique. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they really did cater for our every whim. The ongoing theme of attention to detail was evident in the food and service which was better than most five star resorts we have been to in Mozambique. We had a waiter assigned to us on arrival which was a nice touch. Ian the resort manager, really made us feel as if we were part of the family. Massinga Beach gets our thumbs up . To quote a now retired Californian Governor “we will be back “.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaughn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMarketing, Marketing & reservations at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Our First Honeymooners - hence the helicopter which is not the norm! You will always remain special and we look forward to you celebrating many anniversaries at Massinga Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massinga
13.9 mi away
Travessia Beach Lodge
Travessia Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrumbene
47 reviews
8.1 mi away
Morrungulo Beach Lodge
Morrungulo Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Massinga
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Varanda
Varanda
#5 of 10 in Vilanculos
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massinga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massinga Beach Lodge

Address: Beach Rd, Massinga, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Massinga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Massinga
Price Range: $293 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Massinga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of Inhambane, the new Massinga Beach sits high, far from the madding crowd, overlooking kilometres of isolated, pristine beach; an exquisite and romantic place to relax. Facilities include restaurant, beach bar, swimming pool, games room, massage therapy and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Massinga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massinga Beach Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing