We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Kingdom City
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kingdom City
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Chaos”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

When our well-announced busload of 50+ people arrived at the Motel, room keys were not ready -- unlike every other stop on our 9-day trip. The lobby is small, so we waited on the bus or outside. The room assigned was acceptable. But the coordinator, our pastor, was denied a room. He was forced to travel to a motel across I-70 (cab fare $17) to get a room. Other travelers were seen to check in AFTER this (ethnic group) fire drill. Totally unprofessional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
There are a few things I would like to clear up, first is that we have the largest lobby in Kingdom City, we apologize if it still was not big enough, there is not much we can do about the footprint of the hotel. Our breakfast room with 24 hour coffee was available for overflow if anyone had asked. My staff, in the face of being berated, abused, and humiliated by your pastor handled themselves exemplary with smiling faces and a polite friendly atmosphere. We paid for the pastor's multiple taxi rides (which were $27 each, not $17) despite us having asked he use the cheaper more local taxi company. I personally arranged for him to stay at another hotel, which he ended up choosing a more expensive hotel that we did pay for him, and which cost us an extra $50 over what we had arranged. My staff followed to the letter the arrangements made and had communicated completely with the pastor telling him what we would not be able to accomodate and despite being warned the pastor was "surprised" when he showed up and we had done what we said we would be doing. We are sorry that the pastor a select few in the Southport Baptist Church of Indianapolis, IN chose to be rude and un-Christian-like in their attitude towards my staff and I. We expect our guests to understand the limitations we have considering there are things out of our control, and using comments such as (ethnic group) firedrill when we have Asian employees is not the type of things we want to hear from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    62
    65
    49
    40
See reviews for
106
41
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HILLSBORO
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I love staying here! It is truly home away from home. The people are so nice and have top quality customer service that I don't see in a lot of other places. Keep up the great work and thank you very much for making me feel at home with you!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank CINDY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you so much! We really enjoy having you come so often and letting us get to know you. I know the entire staff has come to see you as a substitute mom and as a dear friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Heading to visit family on a rainy night. We decided to stay here on our trip. The Motel itself is older, yet fairly well maintained. Being Pet friendly was a definate plus for us as well! The first room we received had some A/C issues, but we were offered a different room immediately. The motel is just far enough away from the neighboring Truckstops and Restaurants to be fairly quiet. Overall a good choice for the cost of the room and value received!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agent573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I am very appreciative of the kind words and would like to apologize for the A/C issue. Yes, we are a "more experienced" motel as we like to say around here for the word "older". My maintenance staff works very hard as does the housekeeping on trying to keep up with issues before they get noticed by guests and I am sorry that some slip through the cracks. Rest assured that particular A/C unit has been fixed promptly. I hope that I and the entire staff gets to see you again. Thank you, and again on behalf of the entire staff- we are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Kansas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

There are tons of hotels in the area and have stay at several of them and have not received the level of service for the price as I have here. The staff was gracious, accommodating, friendly and helpful. My husband and I were traveling to visit family and we had our furry babies with us, they were the most accommodating for them without quizzing us about them. The breakfast was good and filling. The rooms were unparalleled in it's cleanliness, comfort and size. I will be staying here every trip thru this area in the future. Thank you to all the staff for the best stay I had in my 5 day 4 state trip.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much! We definitely remember you and your dogs, all of you were wonderful and we enjoyed meeting you. We truly appreciate hearing that people think we are doing a good job. This truly means alot to the staff and has lifted our morale and motivated us to continue to work our hardest. Thank you again from the all the staff's hearts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place the staff was very nice however the first room I was given the air was so loud there was no way I was gonna sleep. They switched my room and I get the room I believe the other reviewer was talking about. My chair had stains as did the mattress there was a hole in the shower surround and the carpet was pretty dirty. That being said I had 4 rooms all together and the other rooms were ok. Nothing to fancy but the price was cheap. The cheap price usually scares me and I should have listened to my gut. I would not stay again unless i had no choice and at least not in room 216 The staff however was really nice. But I just can't recommend because if the room I was given. Stray nails on the carpet freak me out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohiojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
I would like to apologize for the room you had problems with. I would like to make it up to you by giving you a free night stay anytime you would like to return. And also would like to update you on room 216, I had my maintenance man stay the night in that room, use it like a guest would, and then the next day fix EVERYTHING that was wrong. I am very saddened that due to one out of four rooms you would not come back. Please be assured that we try our hardest and we will fix every problem that ever comes to our attention. We are trying to catch everything first and fix it before guests see, but our budget is small and we are not a big company. Thank you for understanding and thank you for stating that the staff was very friendly, we appreciate that and we are sorry we let you down. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Carmel, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Utilizing the AARP discount made this Super 8 worth the money. Overall, an average motel. On the older side but relatively clean. The room was small and there was only 1 chair, so we had to use the beds to sit on. Location is good, right off the highway and nearby a few restaurants. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much on behalf of the entire staff for saying we were nice. We do truly appreciate that! We apologize for the age of our hotel, we are doing some remodeling as we get money in, unfortunately we are a single hotel, not a large corporation, it is just us and we do what we can. We just finished putting up some decorative walls at the entrance to our parking lot, we will be re-striping the parking lot this fall, and we are switching to new bed spreads and bed skirts as we can order them (6 rooms have been done already on the first floor). Next year we'll be painting all 60 rooms, getting new window curtains in all 60 rooms, and continue to switch out our 26" tv's for 32 inch flat screens. We hope you come back and enjoy the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is old. Don't expect a pool or even an elevator however, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The first room I got the air conditioner didn't work but they were apologetic and switched my room right away. Staff was nice and it I loved the discount next door at the restaurant. If you have kids in tow theres a Nice little area outside the hotel to toss a ball or just run around.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvmyfamjjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the review on TripAdvisor! We are truly an older hotel, and while to some that is a bad thing, I hope you agree that with our hotel that is not necessarily a bad thing. We take pride in being established in the community and having created a good reputation, such as being #1 on TripAdvisor out of 5 hotels, or having an A rating from the BBB and being the only accredited hotel within 20 miles. We are very sorry about the air conditioning and have taken that one out and luckily all it needed was a good powerwashing. We will always endeavor to fix all problems promptly. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, and again we are sorry for any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingdom City
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Kingdom City
Motel 6 Kingdom City
#2 of 6 in Kingdom City
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 6 in Kingdom City
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingdom City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fulton
6.4 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites Fulton
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbia East
Holiday Inn Columbia East
#11 of 36 in Columbia
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Kingdom City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kingdom City

Property: Super 8 Kingdom City
Address: 3370 Gold Ave, Kingdom City, MO 65262-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kingdom City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kingdom City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kingdom City 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the Gateway to Mid-Missouri, the Super 8 Kingdom City/Fulton/Mexico is a hotel with a friendly, inviting atmosphere perfect for your visit to the Fulton, Missouri area, perhaps for an MU game in Columbia or the Miss Missouri pageant in Mexico. From our redecorated lobby to the newest breakfast room in town we are your best hotel value for any Fulton, Missouri area event, whether it be business or pleasure. Our SuperStart breakfast to get you started in the day includes waffles, cinnamon buns, yogurt, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee, and tea. We have a lot of ammenities you will not find at other area hotels including- a business center, discounts at local restaurants, a picnic pavillion with a grille for cook-outs, DVD players, and the largest breakfast room in town can double as a small conference setting. Clean, Friendly, and Simply Super is our motto, let us prove to you we are more than that, we are truly your home away from home in the Fulton, Missouri area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Kingdom City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing