We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so super”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Kingdom City
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kingdom City
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place the staff was very nice however the first room I was given the air was so loud there was no way I was gonna sleep. They switched my room and I get the room I believe the other reviewer was talking about. My chair had stains as did the mattress there was a hole in the shower surround and the carpet was pretty dirty. That being said I had 4 rooms all together and the other rooms were ok. Nothing to fancy but the price was cheap. The cheap price usually scares me and I should have listened to my gut. I would not stay again unless i had no choice and at least not in room 216 The staff however was really nice. But I just can't recommend because if the room I was given. Stray nails on the carpet freak me out.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohiojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

I would like to apologize for the room you had problems with. I would like to make it up to you by giving you a free night stay anytime you would like to return. And also would like to update you on room 216, I had my maintenance man stay the night in that room, use it like a guest would, and then the next day fix EVERYTHING that was wrong. I am very saddened that due to one out of four rooms you would not come back. Please be assured that we try our hardest and we will fix every problem that ever comes to our attention. We are trying to catch everything first and fix it before guests see, but our budget is small and we are not a big company. Thank you for understanding and thank you for stating that the staff was very friendly, we appreciate that and we are sorry we let you down. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 287 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Utilizing the AARP discount made this Super 8 worth the money. Overall, an average motel. On the older side but relatively clean. The room was small and there was only 1 chair, so we had to use the beds to sit on. Location is good, right off the highway and nearby a few restaurants. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you so much on behalf of the entire staff for saying we were nice. We do truly appreciate that! We apologize for the age of our hotel, we are doing some remodeling as we get money in, unfortunately we are a single hotel, not a large corporation, it is just us and we do what we can. We just finished putting up some decorative walls at the entrance to our parking lot, we will be re-striping the parking lot this fall, and we are switching to new bed spreads and bed skirts as we can order them (6 rooms have been done already on the first floor). Next year we'll be painting all 60 rooms, getting new window curtains in all 60 rooms, and continue to switch out our 26" tv's for 32 inch flat screens. We hope you come back and enjoy the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is old. Don't expect a pool or even an elevator however, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The first room I got the air conditioner didn't work but they were apologetic and switched my room right away. Staff was nice and it I loved the discount next door at the restaurant. If you have kids in tow theres a Nice little area outside the hotel to toss a ball or just run around.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvmyfamjjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you so much for the review on TripAdvisor! We are truly an older hotel, and while to some that is a bad thing, I hope you agree that with our hotel that is not necessarily a bad thing. We take pride in being established in the community and having created a good reputation, such as being #1 on TripAdvisor out of 5 hotels, or having an A rating from the BBB and being the only accredited hotel within 20 miles. We are very sorry about the air conditioning and have taken that one out and luckily all it needed was a good powerwashing. We will always endeavor to fix all problems promptly. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, and again we are sorry for any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just such an awful place I can't even begin to tell you!!! It actually looked fairly new from the outside and since I had been driving for hours I needed rest. OMG! Sheets... DIRTY! Shower looked like something out of an a home or room that would have been condemned!! FILTHY! All I can say per the positive is the price was inexpensive, but they should have paid me to stay at this place!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dpingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

I am sorry you felt this way about our hotel, though I can not find any record of your stay and would love to apologize to you if I could contact you. We pride ourselves on being the #1 hotel in Kingdom City (out of 5) on TripAdvisor and on being the ONLY BBB accredited hotel within the county or within 25 miles, our BBB rating is an A. We are very clean, friendly, and we are simply Super. I am sorry you felt otherwise. I have thoroughly gone through all 60 of our excellent rooms and have seen no shower/tub that resembles what you wrote. Given our other recent comments I am at a loss of what you may have seen that upset you so much, seeing as how our other guests have ranked us consistently the highest of standards. I apologize that you feel that those types of comments were appropriate and if you do come through Kingdom City you have a free room so that I may truly show you what our rooms look like. If you wish to see our hotel, photos are available at our official site http://camelbinky1.wix.com/super8kingdomcity and I hope you give us a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The staff was friendly and very helpful. They told us if we took our room keys to the Iron Skillet we would get a 20% discount. We got a room for one night but we are going to stay another night because of how cheap and friendly this place is. I have heard good things about this motel and I have to say its the friendiest and most helpful motel staff I have ever met. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasadcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

We at the Gateway to Mid-Missouri Super 8 Kingdom City are very happy to hear we helped you save money! Our goal is to always go above and beyond the expectations, whether it is to find partners in the area to provide discounts/coupons or to help give directions to interesting shopping or sights. We try to provide clean, friendly, and simply Super service to all our guests. We are very proud we made your stay enjoyable. Hope you come and see us again, we enjoyed having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Im a truck driver and my truck was in a local shop for repairs and the shop recommended this hotel. I checked Tripadvisor and saw that the place had some pretty good reviews. My last Super 8 experience was a nightmare and I wasn't looking for a repeat. The place is clean, the staff friendly and the price was reasonable. I have a small dog and he was welcomed too. I would defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willymichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Super 8 Kingdom City, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

I and the entire staff are very grateful you gave our hotel a chance and we appreciated your business. We also enjoyed talking with you and getting to know you and your dog. We enjoy being a pet-friendly hotel, and think pets are just as much a part of the family as anyone else. We hope you stop by the Gateway to Mid-Missouri Super 8 Kingdom City, the #1 hotel on TripAdvisor again. And next time under better circumstances than this one where you were broken down, we have lots of activities and sites to see in the area! Drive safe and visit your new friends here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was drawn in by the excellent price but truthfully they're worth far more. We decided to stay here on our cross-country drive to Colorado and they were so nice and accomodating that we rebooked for the return drive! the beds were unbelievably comfortable, staff was super nice, and the breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank showhimtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

The entire staff at the Super 8 Kingdom City hotel would like to thank you for your generous review and kind words. It is truly guests like you that make our hard work at making this a clean and friendly hotel worth it. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you keep in touch at the many places online that we are a part of, such as Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Linkdin, and Manta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingdom City
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Kingdom City
Motel 6 Kingdom City
#2 of 6 in Kingdom City
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 6 in Kingdom City
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingdom City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites Fulton
18.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
12.5 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Kingdom City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kingdom City

Address: 3370 Gold Ave, Kingdom City, MO 65262-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kingdom City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Kingdom City
Price Range: $51 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kingdom City 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the Gateway to Mid-Missouri, the Super 8 Kingdom City/Fulton/Mexico is a hotel with a friendly, inviting atmosphere perfect for your visit to the Fulton, Missouri area, perhaps for an MU game in Columbia or the Miss Missouri pageant in Mexico. From our redecorated lobby to the newest breakfast room in town we are your best hotel value for any Fulton, Missouri area event, whether it be business or pleasure. Our SuperStart breakfast to get you started in the day includes waffles, cinnamon buns, yogurt, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee, and tea. We have a lot of ammenities you will not find at other area hotels including- a business center, discounts at local restaurants, a picnic pavillion with a grille for cook-outs, DVD players, and the largest breakfast room in town can double as a small conference setting. Clean, Friendly, and Simply Super is our motto, let us prove to you we are more than that, we are truly your home away from home in the Fulton, Missouri area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Kingdom City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing