We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare on South St”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kimberling City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harpers Valley Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kimberling City
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nightmare on South St”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

THIS WAS THE WORST "RESORT" THAT MY FAMILY EVER STAYED AT!!!

Nancy Ellis assured us that her resort was a “family” one, and that they didnt allow kids to rent there. After we moved all our stuff in and were in bed, we discovered a group
of HARD partying kids had moved in next door. They were up all night drinking and cussing at each other. The walls are paper thin so sound travels right thru. The wild kids were having loud sex next to the bedroom where my kids were in between having drunken arguments where they used profanity in virtually every sentence. After complaining at 3 am to the owners, they came down and told the kids to slow down their party because they were keeping us awake. The kids then put profane graffiti on my car, and were most likely the persons who sunk one of my jetskis (at the the Harper Valley dock) as well as put dirt in the gas tank of my other. The police were called. A report was made. Much damage was incurred. Harper's told me and PD that these guys were referred from a resort next door. The other 2/3's of their party staying at that resort were thrown out for trashing their rooms, intruding on another visitors room to try to get to his daughters, as well as being very rude to that manager.
As soon as the pd left, Nancy Ellis (Harpers Resort) response was to allow the other 2/3's of the party to move in to Harpers next to us!! These kids took over the swimming pool right across from us and were almost constantly drinking and cussing.
Nancy and Basil, the resort owners, then even began to party with them, breaking out their cigarettes and beer to join in!
Understandably, we had to move out. Even though they agreed with my decision, they
refused to give me any sort of refund. This was just wrong. Avoid staying here at all costs! I have stayed at 100's of places in my life and this is the worst one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithKerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doobers59, Owner at Harpers Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
In reference to Average Joe's comments we do run a very nice family owned and operated business and try our best to keep the party groups out of our facility. He had made one complaint and we not only took care of it at 1 am not 3 am we stayed up outside to monitor any noise and activity until the next morning. We did not see or have knowledge of any written words on his car. The PD had been called by myself so he could take it to his Insurance to be reimbursed. The PD did not find any malicious activity with the gas or the jet ski that had sunk.
We do not party with our customers at the pool. I had been down talking with some younger adults while I cleaned up our pool area for the evening. Something we do often so it is clean for everyone.
Harper Valley Resort had many other customers in during that time period and in the same building and area and no one else had any problems. We are sorry Average Joe was unhappy and do understand it is impossible to make everyone happy all of the time as we try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

First of all lets start with the owners, at check in owners are real nice. However the moment you ask for something or need help, it's as if it's a big inconvenience. The ceilings are paper thin, it sounded like a stampede. Their website says kitchen items are included, such as pans, silverware and utensils. The skillet wasn't much bigger than a salad plate, the only large spoon I had was a ladle. Only 4 piece setting as far as dishes and silverware. I was told that our bed was a queen, but it was only a double. The fly situation was almost unbearable. At least a fly swatter would have been nice. The cabin was suppose to sleep 4, but barely slept 3. The blankets were old and very very itchy. My family was very disappointed. Our kitchen table only seated 3, so one person always had to sit in the worn out, 70's recliner.
The pictures from the resort is not what is actually there, at least our cabin wasn't. Our friends also stayed in a room similar to ours. Their experience was just as bad if not worse. Don't bother renting a boat either, it's a wonder that it even floats. They will try to rip you off with the gas bill too. I will never return to this resort. There are so many resorts in this area, they have to be so much better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsn6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

let me say...sometimes you look at the pictures on the web about a place and you still worry...it looks good but when you get there it's not even close to the same...THIS WAS NOT THE CASE..the pictures of haper's valley are the same as in person...very sweet, nice , friendly people run the resort..the rooms are very clean..everything you need..very quiet place to relax and enjoy your vacation..we will be going back..i could see haper's valley being home away from home..we couldn't have wanted our stay to be any better...nancy is a sweet heart and basil would do anything for you..we will be going back ...we stayed a week and wish it could have been longer....thank you nancy and basil for a great vacation.

  • Liked — everything you needed and very clean
  • Disliked — i like it all
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kansasgrannyandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellodarlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

My husband and I lived in Kimberling City for 30+ years before moving to FL for 5 years, every year we were in FL we came to Kimberling for a week or two and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The owners are very special people and will go out of there way to make your stay with them a pleasant one. The units are kept very clean. We have moved back to Kimberling City and recommend HVR to anyone looking for a place to stay.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank hellodarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Over the years, whenever we go to the Branson area we stay at Harpers Valley . We enjoy it's being on a quiet cove on Table Rock Lake, with boat access. We also enjoy, not only great fishing but, time on the lake with the children. There is also a play area for them which we appreciate, especially after some time in the car. We still enjoy the lights and fun of Branson with just a short drive to Harper Valley to enjoy the quiet.

We have stayed at Harpers Valley many times over the years and have booked our family reunion there this June. It is family owned and operated which makes a big difference. Owners Basil & Nancy always make us feel so welcome. We do not feel like just a number to them, and they do their best to make our vacation the best it can be. The entire property is ALWAYS clean, comfortable, and inviting.

Our family enjoys cooking while on vacation (not to mention saving money) and the kitchen has everything we need. We also find ourselves spending entire days by the pool because it's so enjoyable and relaxing. We highly recommend Harpers Valley to anyone traveling to the Branson area.
MM

  • Liked — The feeling of welcome and concern by the owners who are on the property 24/7.
  • Disliked — It's so far from home. We'd stay there more if it were closer.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 5348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimberling City
0.8 mi away
Port of Kimberling Marina & Resort
Port of Kimberling Marina & Reso...
#1 of 8 in Kimberling City
83 reviews
4.4 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#28 of 140 in Branson
987 reviews
8.0 mi away
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
#60 of 140 in Branson
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Resort
Golden Arrow Resort
#55 of 140 in Branson
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Table Rock Resorts at Kimberling
Table Rock Resorts at Kimberling
#6 of 8 in Kimberling City
114 reviews
3.8 mi away
Green Valley Resort
Green Valley Resort
#5 of 7 in Branson West
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpers Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers Valley Resort

Property: Harpers Valley Resort
Address: 12 South, Kimberling City, MO 65686-7503
Location: United States > Missouri > Kimberling City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kimberling City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, we offer great affordable fun for everyone. With our new wireless internet you can work and play poolside if you like. With all the excitement of everything around us, we are still secluded, with sparkling clean units and a quiet relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing