We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Kansas City South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City South
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

The location was convenient to nearby restaurants (Subway, a Thai place, doughnut place). The staff were courteous. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. We were away throughout the day and only came back to sleep. I purchased this through priceline and got a pretty deal. They were going to put my friend and I into a King bed room, but I asked for a room with two doubles and was accomodated.
I consider myself a good map reader so the listing of area restaurants given by the front desk could have been more detailed or actually shown a map! It just listed directions in a vague way using L, R, HWY , and street names. We weren't able to find some of the restaurants when it said to get on the highway then turn onto a street (which didn't look like an exit or anything).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    65
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
53
27
2
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

A friend and I stayed at this Marriott Courtyard back in April - I chose the Marriott in part because of their Visa promotion - $15 Amazon gift card for each night paid w/Visa.

I put the certificates away, intending to use them in September. The are no longer redeemable. The fine print on the back specifies they must be redeemed for a 'claim code' within 30 days. Of course, this wasn't mentioned at the time of my stay.

Marriott customer care refuses to redeem. My stay would have been lovely, had Marriott's customer service been what I foolishly expected.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMVTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

I found the Courtyard to be just like other courtyards. It was quick clean and quiet I slept very well. I would say the staff especially at breakfast went out of their way to make it a great stay. The only minus was what I thought to be thin towels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMiddleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

If you like a dated, old musty smelling hotel with unfriendly staff then you'll love this place! Overpriced and not up to Courtyard standards. Feels and looks like a budget hotel. Hotel overall does not feel safe though it is located in a quiet area right off of I-435. Very limited tv channels, hard beds, musty odor throughout and poor cooling air conditioner. Maid service is very grumpy and wants to know why you won't be checking out by 8:00am. Profoundly disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

A bit hard to find, the small sign is off down a side street partly hidden by trees. But worth it, a fine classic Courtyard in quiet area. Arrived late Sunday night and would have hit pool but it closes at 10 pm. Breakfast buffet was $9, didnt see anything free, maybe coffee. Room was pretty standard, large-ish, opened onto interior courtyard. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WSmile5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

This Marriott Courtyard is one of the best buys and one of the best of the Courtyard facilities. It was convenient to the interstate without being near the noise and it was especially clean and well maintained. The employees were helpful and directed us to one of K-C's best barbeque restaurants just a few miles away. Thanks to those who wrote reviews recommending this hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Attractivness and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast was somewhat expensive
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

I had a nice stay at this hotel. Check in was a snap, and the clerks were very friendly. We had a second floor room with a small balcony which opened to the courtyard. I did find a dirty glass on the balcony, when I called the front desk to tell them, they sent housekeeping up right away. The pool/hot tub was average, they were running low on towels. The desk staff was friendly and were willing to help.

We had great access to shopping, dining, and the freeway. I would make it a point to stay at this hotel again. The price was reasonable as well, $79 per night for a king bed, booked on the hotel website.

  • Liked — location and convenience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilsqueakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
#69 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City South

Property: Courtyard Kansas City South
Address: 500 E 105th St, Kansas City, MO 64131-4308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City South 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kansas City South Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing