We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it strives to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Kansas City South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City South
Ranked #54 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exactly what it strives to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I struggle with rating this hotel because it actually does pretty good at what it strives to be, a budget hotel with limited amenities.

Pros:
The hotel was very clean and neat. It looked recently updated and inviting.
The rooms look upgraded and had coffee makers and irons in the room.
The TV worked well.
The wireless internet is free and speed was acceptable until it went completely down.
The staff was friendly and accommodating.

Cons:
No refridgerator, microwave or in-room safe.
The mattress was too soft.
The location is terrible. It is not in walking distance to any restaurants or shops.
While I see other reviewers thought the food was good, I thought is was bad, microwaved food from a very limited menu. Since you can't walk anywhere to eat, this is really a shame and probably why I will not stay there again. The serving staff were very friendly but it can't overcome the food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel, I understand your frustration that we are in a location that is not within walking distance to restaurants / shopping, however we do offer a complinentary shuttle service to restauarants & shopping in the area. We do hope you will stay with us on your next trip.

SIncercerly,

Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
48
25
2
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you are a solo traveler, it's probably not worth it to pay the extra for a room + breakfast, but if you're a couple, it definitely saves you money. I've eaten at quite a few hotel's "hot breakfast" bars and this one is by far the best because it's restaurant-style, cook-to-order breakfast. Very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaeded07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay in our hotel. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel, as well as the food in the Bistro. The entire staff looks forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard for three days on a business trip. This was my third stay this year and the quality of service has been consistent and of a very good standard. The room was a good size and well furnished. The breakfast service was a little manic but the staff tried hard to please. My only issue is that the location is a little remote and there are no restuarant facilities or room service available so eating out is the only option.

Room Tip: I find that rooms on a higher floor are quieter than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our hotel. We are very pleased you have stayed several times this year and hope to see you again in the future. The Bistro just recently started offering the Bistro to Go option, you can conveniently place your order over the phone and pick it up to go. Thank you for choosing our hotel when you stay in Kansas City we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goddard, Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed recently after going to a Royals game. It was a very reasonable rate purchasing through the Marriott website and using our AAA card got us a small discount. I was already happy with the price, but asked for a room with a fridge for milk for our one year old, or an upgrade to a suite if any were available. My wife is a Marriott rewards member so I don't know if that had anything to do with it, but we were upgraded to a suite for the price of a regular room. The front desk was very friendly and I was very pleased with the service.

I was very happy with the size and comfort of the room. Both rooms had a 32" LG flatscreen tv with decent channels. The room decor was modern and comfortable. Our room had both a microwave and tv. Our bed was comfortable and it was great to have a separate room from our son as he is a light sleeper.

We did not use the pool or hot tub but we could see it from our room. The view of the courtyard was also nice. The lobby was nicely decorated and modern. We felt safe at all times and it was very close off of I-435.

We enjoyed our stay and I will definitely consider staying here again when in Kansas City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankWichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I too travel a lot and had the chance to stay here. Very nice welcome and clean room that is decorated nice.
Nice bistro with breakfast etc. serve Starbucks coffee but they have free coffee in the lobby in the morning as well.
Would stay here again with no second thoughts!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank onthego2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your cooments about our hotel, I am glad to see you enjoyed the hotel during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kansas City.

Sincerely,

Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I travel often for work and stay in hotels all the time. I am very picky and I find this hotel exactly all its suppose to be and more. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, spacious, decorated nice. I think I favor this hotel also for how its very calming it has a great relaxing ora

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our how. We are please to see we are one of your favorite places stay in Kansas City. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed last night at this location. Every thing was just as you would expect from a Marriott Courtyard. I would stay again. It was very hot and the air kept the room cool. The Ice machine was gone on the first floor, yet I am sure it died and was in the process of being replaced. All in all, it was a nice stay. Unsure about the negative reviews here, as you can see the management takes each one to heart.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakerblas147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments for your recent stay in put hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you on your next trip to Kansas City. Hopefully on your next trip the weather outside will be far less than the 100 degrees we have seen in the recent weeks.

Sincerly,

Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
3.6 mi away
Aloft Leawood - Overland Park
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City South

Property: Courtyard Kansas City South
Address: 500 E 105th St, Kansas City, MO 64131-4308
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City South 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kansas City South Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Courtyard
Kansas City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing