We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City South
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
St Paul, MN
2 reviews
“Just Fine”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed last night at this location. Every thing was just as you would expect from a Marriott Courtyard. I would stay again. It was very hot and the air kept the room cool. The Ice machine was gone on the first floor, yet I am sure it died and was in the process of being replaced. All in all, it was a nice stay. Unsure about the negative reviews here, as you can see the management takes each one to heart.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakerblas147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments for your recent stay in put hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you on your next trip to Kansas City. Hopefully on your next trip the weather outside will be far less than the 100 degrees we have seen in the recent weeks.

Sincerly,

Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    65
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
55
27
2
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Pro: Hotel is near interstate for easy off/on. Room was clean and it had a great shower head. We had breakfast, which was on the house, as we are a military family. Staff was pleasant and attentive.

Con: No beverage machine on floors. Has to go to lobby to get sodas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here at the Courtyard Kansas City South. We lok forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip to Kansas CIty.

Sincerely,

Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
189 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Overall, not bad. Not noisy at all, awesome lobby, and pretty clean room (except for the rust stain in the bathroom). I was especially impressed with the internal courtyard with lush landscaping and nice indoor pool.

The fitness center was pretty average with a few machines and a weight set. The TV on the treadmill I used was really messed up.

The staff was pretty nice, but nothing memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pli876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and hope to see you on your next trip to Kansas City.

Sincerley,
Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I like Courtyards by Marriott - usually. Two nights at this one, though, will leave me looking elsewhere for my firm's business needs in KC. Poor training, slipshod and borderline rude staff, inept housekeeping ("Oh, did you want your room cleaned?" the desk asked at 3:00 pm.), understaffed or overwhelmed "cafe" service, poor AC, my name left off my room after I provided it, difficulty obtaining coffee in the afternoon, staff running noisily through the lobby repeatedly - four times in 10 minutes this morning - in a spectacle to answer ringing phones, desk staff shrugging off continued problems, elevator broken twice, and a lack of normal, conventional hotel staff politeness - in the end it was just ridiculous, like a group of amateurs masquerading at offering hotel service, and not being very sincere about it. Cafe staff behind the cashier were nice - that's about it here, and not enough to make me want to risk another stay. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE, which is a shame considering the room, after I placed in one with a decent AC, was comfortable.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else or in advance ask, "Are you sure it has a newer heating/AC service?" and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSJGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. I would like to extend my deepest apologies to you for the substandard service your received in our hotel. We take pride in the service we provide here at the hotel being in the top 20% of Marriott guest satisaction surveys, and I can assure you the service you received during your stay is certainly NOT standard for our hotel. I appreciatate you taking the time to comment on our hotel as it is only with comments such as yours that we can improve out hotel.

Sincerely,
Kelly Kuns
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
875 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last weekend while my dad was in St. Joseph's hospital. Was able to make a last minute reservation using Marriott Rewards points. The hotel was older but has been updated recently, especially the lobby/lounge. The rooms were comfortable and clean...exactly what I would expect from a Courtyard. There was even a little balcony to get some sun even though the views were of the parking lot. The hotel is hidden in a residential neighborhood, right off the freeway. Didn't seem like there was much to do around the hotel but it was extremely close to the hospital and that's all that mattered to me. I almost never watch pay-per-view movies but wanted to after a stressful day at the hospital...but sadly discovered that this Courtyard didn't have that option available. There are a lot more hotel options just a few exits up the freeway in Overland Park (including what looked like a newer & bigger Courtyard), but if the location works for you I think this property is a good choice for a decent night's rest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hope we see you on your next trip to Kansas City.

Sincerely,
Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Arkansas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I so enjoyed my two night stay. Felt like I was sleeping at a coffee shop (all te new decorations). Considered sleeping in the lobby (so comfortable).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todolist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I would like to thank you for choosing the Courtyard Kansas City South for your hotel accomodations, we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Kansas City.

Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
234 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The locations in an aging property that has been remodeled. My king suite was okay, but it did not have a refrigerator in my room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was pretty plain.I graded the location low because I am a Priority Club and H honors card holder. I paid $13.00 for a bowl of Cherrios, a fruit cup, and a cup of coffee. Then at night I ate a hamburger that was so bad that I have never eaten a burger that bad in my life. I think a gas station microwave hamburger would have been better. I will never stay at another Marriott property in the future. The staff was nice, but they told me they had a shuttle service from 6am to 10pm before I arrived. When I arrived they told me that the shuttle didn't leave until 8am. These inturupteed my plans by two hours which I think is bad service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel. I understand you stayed in a suite in our hotel, and had no refridgerator. All of our suites do have refridgerator in the TV cabinet in the room. I will follow up with maintainence to make sure they do not have any out of service and if so I will make sure it gets replaced so this does not happen again to any of our guests, as this is one of the amenities of our suites. I also understand you had an unpleasant experience with Bistro, I would like to extend my apologies to you it certainly is not a standard to put out food that our guests think is horrible. If you contact me directly at the hotel and give me your information I would be glad to issue a credit for your dinner.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments as it is only with comments such as yours that we can only improve.

Sincerely,

Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City South

Property: Courtyard Kansas City South
Address: 500 E 105th St, Kansas City, MO 64131-4308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City South 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kansas City South Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing