We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's not really any such thing as a non-smoking room here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Northeast - Worlds of Fun
Ranked #63 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“There's not really any such thing as a non-smoking room here.”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Staff is nice, but there's no real attempt to keep some of the rooms clean & non-smoking.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Northeast - Worlds of Fun, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

I do appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns about the condition of your room. Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent a situation like yours from occurring. Only certain rooms are designated as smoking rooms, the rest as non-smoking. It should never be the case that a guest who requests a non-smoking room is placed in a smoking room when the preferred room type is available. In response to your comments, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out how such an experience occurred and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    13
    19
    26
See reviews for
31
17
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willis, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My boyfriend was tranferred to the KC area for work, and we booked this extended stay hotel online because it was very near to where he was working. We thought it would be a good fit because of the pictures on the website, and the info we got from the website. We reserved a queen bed in a non smoking room for two weeks. Upon check in he was told that they didn't have any queen beds available, and he didn't have a choice but to take the full size bed with the promise that they would switch him to a queen room the next day. The room smelled as though someone had been smoking in it. The next day he checked back in to have his room changed and they again said none of the housekeeping people came in so there were no clean queen rooms available. After this, he spoke with some of his co workers and decided to stay the next week at a different hotel. The website listed laundry facilities on site (important for extended stay customers), which when he inquired about found that they were not in working order. The staff was rude and not helpful, even the mangager he spoke with. They gave him a corporate number he could call with complaints, but he didn't want to have his things vandalized while still staying at the hotel so he did not call. I actually made an online complaint and received a call to come in and pick up a coupon for free stays, which I will not do because even if it was free I will not stay at their hotel.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else! The Value Place just down the road is a much better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AprilB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Check in, paid cash then realised the place was filthy, trash and cigarette buds all over the place, stairs way , walk way. Room is small with two twin beds which supposed to be queen beds according to the presumed manager point of view I talked to later that night before leaving without spending the night there. We were very uncomfortable in the room, asked for refund checked out before 10 PM and called and checked in at a super8 motel about 10 miles from there for about the same price about $ 5 extra and got a 2 times bigger room with 2 big queen size beds and a clean and safe place. Please , please take my advice don't let this happen to you. I made a big mistake and don't do the same. I personnally don't recommend this hotel or studio to anyone and especially to families.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

First off, had to pay a $25.00 night pet fee, she said it was for cleaning, shampooing carpets and drapes. Our room rate, was like $59.00, so I didn't expect much. Seriously, drop the pet fee, not like we are walking into CLEAN, luxurious rooms here. Room was basic, full size bed, and basic amenities. Housekeepers really need to tighten up, also clean around mattress and headboards....digusting!! I did share my room with a few flies, and a couple of spiders.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Got a very good rate as a walkin. The rooms were exactly what your paying for. The reason for staying here isn't anything except the property is with walking or driving distance from Oceans/Worlds of Fun. I lost my key several times and the staff was very nice always giving me a replacement.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Well it aint the Marriott, and you're not going to mistake it for the Hilton. It is the Extended Stay. The rooms are clean the staff is very friendly and it is located right across the street from Worlds of Fun(right off of 435). The rooms arent the largest, but they are equiped with a kitchenette consisting of a microwave, stovetop, and a sink. The bathroom has a shower(not a tub, but who takes baths at hotels). I would reccomend this hotel to anyone passing through or to people who are from out of town working in the Kansas City area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoomCritic35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Not the best experience. I booked a non-smoking room, which had obviously been smoked in. My car was broken into (on Wednesday, 1/5/11), complete with my window being smashed (they stole my GPS....I guess it was my fault). No ice machine? Paint is coming off the walls. The TV is tiny. No bath tub?

I cancelled my last night here so I can pamper myself at a different hotel (the Comfort Inn 200 yds away) for my last night in town.

The bright side is I saved money, as I was in town for work and got paid a per diem. I used the fridge and stove/microwave to avoid eating out.

Like I said...you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElusiveVander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Northeast
Candlewood Suites Northeast
#54 of 109 in Kansas City
63 reviews
13.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Worlds of Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Best Host Inn Plaza Kansas City South
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City North Near Worlds of Fun
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
#70 of 109 in Kansas City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Northeast - Worlds of Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Northeast - Worlds of Fun

Property: Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Northeast - Worlds of Fun
Address: 4301 N Corrington Ave, Kansas City, MO 64117-1564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Northeast - Worlds of Fun 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossland Studios- Kansas City Worlds of Fun. We are located right across the street from the Worlds of Fun theme park and down the road from Interstate 435. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring kitchens or kitchenettes and plenty of work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Kansas City - Northeast - Worlds of Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing