We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at this one!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Kansas City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay at this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Alright people, if you are ever in the Kansas CIty area, you need to stay at this Holiday Inn. Your stay begins with Leahana and Kathryn greeting you with their welcoming smiles and their astute professionalism. They get you checked into your room in a timely manner and check to make sure that these rooms are just right for you. Then, off your room to get your clothes put away.
Wait, time for a cold one, head down to their in-house bar to get greated by Karen the bartender. What another fantastic person person, you can discuss any subject with her, especially about the KC Royals. Sitting at the comfortable bar, you get greated by Drew who is a manager at the facility, he is very friendly and professional and asking customers how they are doing. This always makes for a inviting feeling when the staff really cares about you.
Over to the office area and another great manager, Matt from sales. This guy can really talk to you about all kinds of sports and he is a fantastic photographer.
Well, time to run to one of the three local casino's, here comes Harold, the shuttle driver to take you to the one of your choice. He is a great person to talk with, he will even give you some advise on what games to play at the casino.
Please, with all the hotel choices in this area, you have got to choose this Holiday Inn. Great people, atmosphere, food and drink. They even have a outragous hot tub and large swimming pool for the kids!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    63
    55
    27
    24
See reviews for
74
34
6
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Let me start with the positives: The pool area and hot tub are awesome. They are crystal clean and the pool is actually heated and the hot tub is very large. Really enjoyed that.

The staff upon check-in was friendly, when finding out it was our 35th anniversary, they gave us a card for free breakfast and free drinks at the bar!!

The bad: the walls are very thin - we were on an outside wall and you could hear noise from the interstate and people outside talking. You could also hear water running next door.

We had a king size bed with four tiny little pillows on it. I asked for larger pillows and was told they didn't have any other pillows.

The breakfast was pretty good one day and poor the next day.

The Ugly
I got this room at a reduced rate on priceline. I had prepaid, and when they slip the receipt under the door the day of checkout ---- they had charged my credit card for the rooms again. I went to the front desk and a very nice girl - all alone was trying to help other people with similar problems. The lady in front of me was in tears. I was told that the manager was the only one who could take care of this and she would be in at 11:00. This was 10:00 and I'm ready to leave. We go eat breakfast and return to the room and reappear at the desk at 10:55. The manager does not appear until 11:20!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and she had been called and knew we were waiting!!!!!!!!!!!!

Also, our stool would roar if you didn't turn off the water supply. I told them upon checkout thinking we would receive some kind of stipend off of our bill but nothing. Therefore, we had to pay for the privilege of turning off the water to the stool whenever we needed to use it. the noise was so loud I'm sure the neighbors would have been disturbed.

Priceline has this listed as a three star hotel but I would really not consider it a three star. It is older and in much need of updates. I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear mrskey,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Minnesota
Level Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have stayed at this location before but it has been quite a while. They have remodeled and made some improvements. This is still an older property but it is clean. I like the large parking lot. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. They have a lounge and restaurant so you don't have to go out if you don't want to. The food was average but convenient. It's a tad on the pricey side in my opinion but the location is handy. Will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creekguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

As a lot of reviews, we choose this place for location- stayed only 2 nights but had a great stay in K C-did the WOF/OOF & took in a Royals game ( & they won )
The pool was fine for our kids 8-10 did have breakfast which was decent-beds very comfy-the room was spotless
Lil pricey for a Monday/Tuesday stay but still give it a solid 4 out of 5
Would stay again =).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodzie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I spent a night here recently and while its close proximity to I-435 is nice and convenient, there's a bit of noise from the highway when you're sleeping in an exterior room (opposite the Holidome area).

The rooms are clean but there are a few things that would make for a perfect stay if in place:

*120-Volt outlets are needed by the night stands at bedside for charging cell phones, laptop computers, and other devices.

*Refrigerators and microwaves are needed in the standard rooms- some of us are on medication that has to be refrigerated, not to mention having a place to keep our beverages cold would be a nice touch.

*Heavier, noise-insulating curtains for the exterior rooms would help reduce noise from the highway.

The staff at the front desk as well as the maid and maintenance staff are all very helpful. I will stay here again once I hear that improvements are made.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXAgitator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked the Days Inn, across the street, and stayed there for 2 nights...we were so scared for our safety and grossed out we decided to go to the Holiday Inn instead for the 3rd night!! Soooooo worth every penny! First of all kids eat free for all meals! (12 and under) and the food was great! (try to get coupons for free buffet online) the rooms were so nice and clean! The pool was awesome and nice sized, and the hot tub was huge! So when it rained the 3rd day we spent 6 hours at the pool! Happy hour was a good deal! AND they shuttle you to and from ocean/worlds of fun! They give you a card and when you call they come and get you, we waited 5 min! The staff was so kind, and they let us check in early so we could hit the park early! We WILL be staying here again!!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms come with coupons for free adult buffet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We came for World's of Fun/Ocean's of Fun (WOF/OOF). Could not find a closer Hotel than this one. Was a bit skeptic at first because of some of the comments. NO WORRIES HERE!!! What a Great Hotel! We LOVE the fact that they will drop you off-pick you up at the parks! We went to WOF first, got picked up, and ate lunch at the Hotel. We then got dropped off at OOF, spent 3 hours there, called for the ride, and were brought back to our room. After drying off, we got a lift back to WOF, where we closed it down. Once a again, we got a super-easy ride back to our room. Two parks, same day, no $20.00 parking fee :) A special Thank You to, Matt and Susie!!! They were our Awesome shuttle drivers, who offered us free ice-cold water, on a VERY HOT day, on every trip! Not only were they super-quick on picking us up/dropping us off, they were super friendly!!! Oh, by the way, the Hotel pool/whirlpool, ROCKS as well! We will definitely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Worlds of Fun
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City North Near Worlds of Fun
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Northeast
Candlewood Suites Northeast
#46 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#36 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kansas City

Property: Holiday Inn Kansas City
Address: 7333 NE Parvin Rd., I-435 and Parvin Road, Kansas City, MO 64117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kansas City 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kansas City Northeast is your Kansas City hotel! Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager to share with you why so many travelers to Kansas City choose to be our guest.In town for a business trip? We are your Kansas City hotel for corporate travel. We are centrally located near Ford, Union Pacific, Cerner, Kansas City Auto Auction, Grainger, Executive Park, and LabCorp. On a leisure trip? Spend less time in your car and more time having fun! We are the closest full service hotel in Kansas City to Worlds of Fun, Oceans of Fun, Ameristar, Harrah s, WynBrick Center, and we're just a short drive to the Kansas City Zoo, River Market, Union Station, Crown Center, Country Club Plaza, and Kansas Speedway. Prepared for your stay, we feature a business center, free wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public space, Plum s Restaurant and Lounge, room service, free shuttle service within a five mile radius, and a tropical atrium with an indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. For meetings, receptions and special events, our Kansas City hotel features 4 meeting rooms with free wireless and full service catering. Our Birthday Party Packages make planning your child's birthday celebration simple and memorable. Relax, and make our Kansas City hotel your Kansas City home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kansas City - Ne Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing