We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Historic Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Phillips

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phillips
Ranked #42 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a night as a getaway for my thirty-fifth birthday. I'm from Kansas City and knew of the historic hotel but had never been there. I was impressed by the preservation of its historic beauty when I walked in. I was immediately greeted by the very friendly front desk staff and pointed toward the complimentary cocktail reception.

Our large room featured two queen sized beds, each with a big window above it. The beds were so comfortable, I actually slept better than at home. I don't know if the hotel has suites,, so I'm not sure how it would be for a family. However, I do think it would make a romantic getaway for a couple.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jswyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    237
    116
    73
    68
See reviews for
101
288
33
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenora,Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great location in the heart of downtown Kansas City! The hotel lobby is nice and staff are excellent. The drawback is parking is $18 per night for valet parking but there is no other alternatives that are reasonable.

The rooms are clean and a decent size ......the bathroom is right by the bed though so kind of a turnoff. We asked to be moved to a different room but would have had to pay for an upgrade so passed on that. Just didn't like sleeping right beside the bathroom. Not too romantic!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowers090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Great, friendly staff. Convenient location. We noticed little things, like rips in the elevator wallpaper. But we also noticed that the next day someone was repairing those rips. A really pleasant experience. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a vintage property with great Art Deco details throughout. It has a lovely two story foyer with instant ambiance. We selected a breakfast package that came with a dining credit, late checkout, and valet service. The staff was friendly and accommodating. 12 Baltimore Cafe in the hotel has a good breakfast selection and I highly recommend the banana stuffed French Toast (Yum!!). The hotel is within easy walking distance of several destinations including the Sprint Center and the convention center. Our room was spacious and comfortable and overall we had a great vacation experience in Kansas City.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnyhop95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent stay. Concierge (Jacquelyn) was amazing when we encountered an issue with our reservation at a local restaurant. I had confirmed the reservation with the restaurant TWICE before our stay, but the restaurant manager on duty denied us because "they don't take reservations on event nights." After Jacquelyn intervened, the restaurant manager called me back to say that she "found our reservation." The room service staff for our "birthday package" was very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is clean, and we had a very quite room on the 17th floor with beautiful views of the city from both sides. The art deco hotel is full of history and charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charis Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wonderful old world feel with new world updates. Not at all stodgy, but delightfully elegant. Most helpful staff Ive encountered in years. Due to allergies, I requested a feather free room which is usually an issue at most hotels. Prior to my arrival all feathers were removed. It was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ali188064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at this place. It's centrally located with great access to everything. It's small and intimate, but provides everything you need. Service was great, the bed was super-comfy. I'll definitely stay here again if I get the opportunity!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleKay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 113 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#46 of 113 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#23 of 113 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Property: Hotel Phillips
Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#21 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Phillips, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and Kansas City’s most historic hotel, has begun a $20 million gut renovation. The transformation includes every aspect of the building to bring the hotel back to its original 1930's elegance, while elevating the food and beverage offerings, comfort, amenities, and modern details. Our restaurant is currently closed. A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing