We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phillips

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Phillips
Ranked #28 of 112 Hotels in Kansas City
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I was a guest at the Hotel Phillps in Kansas City, Missouri in May of 2010. I returned to my room and was washing my feet in the hotel when I fractured my broke my humerus and fractured my scapulla. I went to the hotel manager and she gave me a piece of paper saying they would accept this voucher and the hotel would pay for it. I came home to Colorado and had to have surgery. The hotel has refused to pay any of this bills claiming the have no responsIbility. The support and caring of thieIr guest is not high on there priority list., so I would suggest to anyone that is considering staying there if anything out of the usual may occur do not anticipate the hotel will accept any responsiblity.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shottzy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    231
    110
    58
    53
See reviews for
94
271
32
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as a last minute addition to our trip to Chicago (we drove from Albuquerque) and were completely blown away by how beautiful the hotel was. Art deco, recently remodeled. Rooms were clean and stylish. The staff was lovely--very nice, helpful and very proud of their hotel and city. I am a photographer and was very pleased when they permitted me to take photos of the lobby area. We had were on the 17th floor and had a great view of the city. We never considered that we would want to visit Kansas City, but will certainly be returning to KC to stay at this hotel and explore the area. Wonderful surprise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beantown54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

...as a frequent traveler, I had hoped staying at a 'boutique' hotel would offer a more initmate and unique experience. Service, common areas, and room condition and cleanliness were ok, but only at the level of say a Hampton Inn ..nothing special. Also walls are VERY thin. I had the unfortunate experience of have very loud people on the other side of me (this was a 3 am no less) and front desk would not offer another room nor did anyone ask the loud party to shut up.

location is great and one can park on the street for free pretty close. No Pool either. For the money, I would recommend Hyatt regency or Westin just up the road.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My family and I stayed here and loved it. It is a lovely, restored old hotel with character. The room was very comfortable and clean. Every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant was wonderful! It can take a few minutes to retrieve your car from valet, so allow time for that, but otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelBeck03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My daughter and I took a quick trip to Kansas City recently and stayed at the Phillips. It was right after the first of the year so it was very quiet in the downtown area where the Phillip hotel is located. Though we paid only a fraction of the normal hotel rate, we received top rate service from the staff during our stay. Our upgraded room was very spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable making for a couple of great nights of sleep. There was no coffee maker in the room but there was complimentary coffee in the lobby until 10:30 so my addictive needs were satisfied. Also the hotel was in walking distance to many of the downtown area sights so we did not even use our car while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Do not let anyone steer you to another downtown hotel....this is the best. Close to the Marketplace in old down town Kansas city. Kind, friendly staff, excellent management.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenieJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed here during a business trip and got a great price through Priceline - $70/night. For $70/night, it was very good, but my review is based on normal cost.

The good: Great bed, location (near Main Street in downtown), recently remodeled (decently done), common areas were nice.

The bad: Smell of chemicals in the room that didn't go away, wi-fi didn't work, valet took forever, coffee was out in the morning, restaurant beer was flat.

The room was worth the $70. I wouldn't pay much more than $130 for standard rates given my experience. Had the small things been better (wi-fi, coffee, beer, valet), I'd say it's more of a 3.5 star place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#17 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#38 of 112 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#23 of 112 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
4.2 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Property: Hotel Phillips
Address: 106 W 12th St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1902
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#21 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing