We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay at Residence Inn in Kansas City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We walked up to the lobby to check in and the young woman working at the check in counter was sitting on a counter in the back. (Looked very unprofessional).

However, she was very pleasant as we checked in and received our key cards, The room was spacious and clean and the furnishings were in good shape except for the couch which had a hole in one end.. The bed was fairly comfortable but did sag in the middle.

We were on the 4th floor with no elevator. There were stairs outside the building. We are in good shape and able to carry our luggage up the stairs but this could be a problem for some people.

The included breakfast was very good! They had eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal and and a variety of juices and coffee. Quite impressive and very good!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotraveleriowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your 4 star review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Come see us again soon so that we may strive for 5 stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 153 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent location, within walking distance of Lego museum and other things. Staff was friendly and helpful.
The only things that were somewhat disappointing:
the bed seemed a little wore out, fireplace wasn't connected for use, etc. overall not the usual excellence you might expect from staying at a Residence.
Sort of a Residence of the Hood.
But a little less expensive than other Residences.

Room Tip: Better in warm weather, no inside pool. Great location for downtown activities. Go to Oklahoma Joe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commander-Brody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We apologize that you did not care for our beds. We are in the process of replacing our top of bed package and have 50% complete. Our fireplaces are not gas, they are real fireplaces. We have fire logs in our Market. We are very glad that you enjoyed our location and especially our staff. We hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent customer service & assistance (especially Paige), GREAT housekeeping, van drivers were wonderful & courteous, the breakfast was delicious and appetizing...incredible stay (from 29 Dec 2012 til 1 Jan 2013.

Room Tip: Great location for Kansas City, MO...and the suites were large & roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide your feedback and for your excellent review. We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope that you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

upon arrival linda the manager could not find our rez, but did get us in a room that was 25 dollars less than the room i thought I had booked online...the rooms were clean and large.
we had a family check in above us before we left for supper and the small kids were running around and it sounded like they were playing hockey above us....we mentioned this to linda and told her we were hoping to sleep in the next day and concerned that maybe the kids would be up early running around...she didn't hesitate to get us another room that had a family that was attending a late concert above us...and we did not hear any noise in the new room...we used the shuttle service to go out to eat and to get back...we will stay here again as they shuttle to the plaza and you get a huge room with kitchen for about half the price as on the plaze.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit, our service and our shuttle. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hi I was there for 5 weeks for work. The staff was very accommodating to me, as well as my group. The rooms was large and I enjoyed having a fire place even thou, I did not need to use it. I enjoyed using the kitchen as it had everything, I needed to cook. The beds was nice and did a great job to sleep in.

Room Tip: try to get a room away from the street if you need quiet, it didn't bug me but bug a few of my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBonn659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

We are very glad that you enjoyed both our service and facility. Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Residence Inn Kansas City-Union Hill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Do not hesitate to stay here. Very sweet staff and management and, most importantly, very clean and comfortable. The location is central to everything. Breakfast is a pretty standard continental with nothing fancy but it will start your day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Gregory:

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit and our staff service.

Please come back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Paige Southard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

After a disappointing second stay at the Fairfield Inn, I turned to its next-door neighbor, the Residence Inn Union Hill. I arrived in the early evening and check-in was efficient. The associate relayed the breakfast hours and asked my preference for a ground floor or second floor room. The hotel layout is typical of the early Residence Inns – multiple buildings with exterior access to rooms. The studio suite was on par with other Residence Inns in terms of space and amenities. The room was starting to show wear on the carpet and tear on the door hinges. The towels were also paper thin, so it would behoove the hotel to replace them. On the positive side, the room was impeccably clean.

The breakfast was equal to other Residence Inns with a variety of hot and cold entrees. Since this was a weekend stay, I did not have an opportunity to indulge in the weekday happy hour. I also did not have a chance to visit the exercise facility nor to relax at the pool.

In summary, the hotel will not earn style points, the fundamentals are in place – clean and spacious rooms. In deciding whether to stay here or at the neighboring Fairfield Inn, I would suggest that you consider price/value and length of stay. The Residence Inn was $30 per night higher than the Fairfield Inn when I reviewed the rates. Both offer complimentary breakfast and wireless internet, so these are non-factors. The key question is whether or not the extra space and kitchen at the Residence Inn is worth the extra cost. For a short-term stay, I would opt for the Fairfield Inn. For a one-week or longer stay, the kitchen may help to offset the extra cost. Plus you’ll be more comfortable.

Pros: Spacious suites, complimentary breakfast and internet

Cons: Starting to show wear and tear

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paige S, General Manager at Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing Residence Inn. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit and that your check in was efficient and room very clean. We have a fabulous housekeeping team here, I am very fortunate. We regret your towels were thin. We just received a new shipment, come back soon and give them a try!

Best wishes for a Happy Holiday Season.

Yours in hospitality,

Paige Southard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#5 of 109 in Kansas City
2,266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill

Address: 2975 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64108-3321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $89 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing